PC wont start with GPU but starts without GPU

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Swagata, Apr 27, 2017.

  1. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    The pc was working just fine. I turned off one night and next morning it's not starting. If I press the power button of the case; nothing happens; not light anything. I opened the case and removed my Graphics card and put the dvi cable in board graphics and pc is working just fine. For a test purpose; I again put the gpu but same as before. Not starting.
    My config is i5 4570, 8 GB DDR3, Asrock b85 fatality, sapphire r9 290, coolermaster 700w bronze. Pc is about 3 years old.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun Gawd

    Messages:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Either a weak or bad PSU or a dead GPU. DO you have another rig to try the card it or another PSU to test with?
     
  3. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,537
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    What does it do if graphics card is in but uou don't plug in the power connector to the card?
     
  4. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun Gawd

    Messages:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    This isn't always the best idea if the card is already (possibly) demonstrating instability. If for example it tries to pull all that start power from the PCIe bus only it can fry something... there's a thread here on that.
     
  5. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    unfortunately no. can i test the psu myself with any software ? its a 700w psu. more than enough for a r9 290 to load, right ?
     
  6. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    i didn't try that but as Simplyfun mentioned, i dont want to risk frying anything.
     
  7. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun Gawd

    Messages:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    No matter how big and high quality your PSU is, it's still the second highest failure point after spinning hard drives.

    Having said that, I'm leaning more to video card here than PSU at the moment. Get it in another rig and see if it fires up... if you have nothing, try a local computer shop and ask them pleasantly to see if it works. They will often help.
     
  8. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    local computer shop can't handle this r9 290 because they use shitty 300/400w psu and also their case is so small for this card. you see; this is not an area for high end computer parts. i will have to travel to capital city to test this which unfortunately wont be happening soon, is my graphics card 'short' ?
     
  9. Bandalo

    Bandalo 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,660
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Without other parts to swap, there's no real way to tell if it's a problem with the PSU or a problem with the video card. There's only so much troubleshooting that can be done with the parts and tools you have available.
     
  10. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun Gawd

    Messages:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    A 400 watt PSU will absolutely fire up that video card... just won't do any gaming at high loads, but at this point you just want to see if it works. Almost anything will do, CPU doesn't matter, PSU barely matters.
     
  11. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    even so; the card wont fit in their case; they will have to separate the board from the case which they will be pretty reluctant to do. also some servicing shop will say that its not bought from them and so they wont test it. some might ask for money. also; not sure if their 400 watt psu has 8+6 pin power connector. but i'll try in some shop.
     
  12. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    should i try this card in the other pcie slot ?
     
  13. Bandalo

    Bandalo 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,660
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Sure, if you're willing to potentially damage those other slots due to a bad video card. It's not super likely, but it's possible.
     
  14. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun Gawd

    Messages:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016

    You are going to have to find a way. Telling me why you can't doesn't have any bearing on the matter. The card and PSU require some type of diagnosis to begin this process. That is all there is to it.
     
  15. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    21,716
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    you don't have anyone locally you could ask to test the card in their system or borrow another card to test with instead of using the IGP?
     
  16. Gasaraki_

    Gasaraki_ Gawd

    Messages:
    617
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Doesn't work that way. Just because you don't plug in the 6pin or 8 pin doesn't mean it's going to try to pull that power through the slot. There's a limit of 75W. The card just won't power up.
     
  17. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun Gawd

    Messages:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    That's how it's supposed to work. But it doesn't always.

    The power control can develop a short to ground and draw enough through a slot to melt it. Abuse enough cards with LN2 and you too will discover other spectacular ways video card power circuitry can half fail.
     
  18. Bandalo

    Bandalo 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,660
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    There's a 75W limit IN THE SPEC. There's not necessarily a limiter provided by either the motherboard or the graphics card's hardware. There SHOULD be. A well-designed motherboard would have onboard fuses or OL devices to prevent damage. A well-designed graphics card would also try to draw more than the max from the slot. But the card also expects to have that 6 and/or 8 pin power available too.

    My point is don't rely on a requirement on paper to prevent damage. Do you look for cars before crossing the street? Or just trust that the law says pedestrians have the right-of-way, so you just go?
     
    Algrim likes this.