Patriot Viper Steel 4400

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,337
I recently purchased 2 sets of this ram ( https://www.newegg.com/patriot-16gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820225144?Item=N82E16820225144 ) for my hopefully upcoming build with a z490 / 10900K obviously im just waiting for intel to release this stuff. Just wondering what timings I might be able to get using this @ like 4133MT/s and NOT 4400 (cause @ 4400 I might not get a cpu with a great mem controller to support that) so just wondering would something like CL15/15/15 31 @ 1.40v maybe possible?? obviously its b-die, and chances are it might be decent b-die, so im trying to figure out my options.. Thank you
 

dasa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
447
would something like CL15/15/15 31 @ 1.40v maybe possible?
c14-c15 may be possible @3600-3733 1.4-1.5v @4000-4133 you are looking at ~c16-c17 1.4-1.5v, but only if it's A1 as I doubt A2 would tighten up so easily.

If it is using A2 layout then it will handle high frequency fairly well but only if you pair it with a high quality MB preferably with just two RAM slots.
If the memory chips were in A1 configuration which is more common for lower frequency kits then it would tighten up better and be less sensitive to MB quality but woudnt be capable of the same frequency which is why it is mostly likely a A2 kit.

A0, A1, A2 refers to the memory placement on the PCB with the length of the traces and there layout.
 

bjtag

n00b
Joined
Oct 8, 2005
Messages
34
I have 4133 2x8gb with A2 pcb... Can run damnear any tight timings up to 4533mhz on Ryzen 3900x Asus CH8
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,482
Just ordered 2 x (2x8GB) kits for 4 sticks total. Tried to install first 2 sticks and then 4 sticks on a Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra with 9900k@5Ghz, but having problems with it not booting. Doesn't matter whether I choose XMP or manual timings. Troubleshooting begins......
 

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,337
Just ordered 2 x (2x8GB) kits for 4 sticks total. Tried to install first 2 sticks and then 4 sticks on a Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra with 9900k@5Ghz, but having problems with it not booting. Doesn't matter whether I choose XMP or manual timings. Troubleshooting begins......
SA and IO voltages are key. give both 1.3v and work up or slightly down. Vdimm @ 1.45 @ minimum. Correct me if im wrong, but gigabyte Z390 boards use T-Topology for mem traces... those sticks should FLY in that board
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,482
SA and IO voltages are key. give both 1.3v and work up or slightly down. Vdimm @ 1.45 @ minimum. Correct me if im wrong, but gigabyte Z390 boards use T-Topology for mem traces... those sticks should FLY in that board
Yessir, T-Topology. Buildzoid seems to be an authority here so I'm going through this video

 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,482
Got 32GB stable at 4533-19-19-19-39

Seems like okay ram. Probably my last set until DDR5.
 
Top