Origin too stupid to see VPN?

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by Eisenblut, Aug 27, 2011.

  1. Eisenblut

    Eisenblut [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,111
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Does anyone else have this problem?

    I use a 256-bit VPN when I am on newsgroups and wanted to play while it was downloading. Origin goes into offline mode thinking I have no internet connection whenever I am connected to the VPN.

    Steam does not have this problem nor does any other program that I use.

    Suggested are requested at a solution but it could be that Origin is just too stupid to use it.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Azureth

    Azureth Tell Me About Your Penis, Please

    Messages:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
  3. l00segravel

    l00segravel Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    492
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
  4. Sabrewulf165

    Sabrewulf165 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,070
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    ^^^ :rolleyes:

    The only thing I would know to try is to uncheck "use default gateway on remote network" under advanced IPv4 settings for your VPN connection. Complete shot in the dark though.
     
  5. l00segravel

    l00segravel Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    492
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Contrary to my sarcastic post, I was looking into the issue. This link may be of interest to you. The response in the forum is direct from Origin.

    It sounds like Origin does not support VPN yet.
     
  6. Plague_Injected

    Plague_Injected [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,625
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    How convenient that a method for getting around regional price-fixing is not "supported" by Origin :rolleyes:.
     
  7. Eisenblut

    Eisenblut [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,111
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Alright, thanks. I just wanted to play something while I was downloading (the only time the VPN is active). Grats to the first two responses that achieved being both useless and missing the point. I'll just not play something in Origin if the situation arises again.
     
  8. Sabrewulf165

    Sabrewulf165 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,070
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    I was more rolling my eyes at the other guy who said don't use VPN. I actually agree about Origin :p
     
  9. BassTek

    BassTek [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,290
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Sounds like Origin is too 'smart' and sees the VPN. Hmmmmm, OP needs to change thread title.
     
  10. krahul44

    krahul44 n00bie

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Hello Guys

    I just figured out the solution for this origin vpn issue. I had to play bf3 no matter what, but this origin issue won't letting me to play!!!
    So do what my instructions says, i am finding users to help with my solution who are still suffering from this issue.

    First open up cmd with admin rights.(make sure your vpn connection is connected)
    Then type route print -4
    now don't confuse with Interface list heading, just come to IPv4 route table heading.
    Now under Ipv4 route table look for 2nd entry under Gateway you will see your vpn gateway IP address, something like xxx.xx.x.x (x corresponds to a digit)
    Just note that IP address in some place. Now come to control panel then network and sharing center, on the left side click on change adapter settings or just directly go to network connections. Find your tap adapter which is currently your vpn using (it would be something like tap win32 and it will show unidentified network on it), right click on that tap adapter then click on properties, scroll down until you find Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) and double click on it. Now you will see Default gateway field is empty, Now type the gateway IP you noted from the cmd to this field and click ok and ok. Now open origin and wowooo its working!!!!

    This method is the only thing worked for me!!! The reason origin is not working by default settings is that it is unable to detect network connectivity on an unidentified network adapter, but after adding the default gateway to it, it become identified and Identified network is all origin need to work.
    If the above method works for you than plz share this with others too.
     
  11. slamcmy

    slamcmy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    241
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    OMFG !!! awesome it worked for me....THANKS A LOT KRAHUL44, i hate stupid origin
     
  12. Dion

    Dion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,692
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Should report that to them. App is still in beta to just an fyi.
     
  13. Tudz

    Tudz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,440
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    They could just do it the Steam way and base their regional pricing on both IP AND credit card info so even if you're travelling you have to pay your home country price :p
     
  14. theNoid

    theNoid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,437
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Sounds like Origin is working good. Running high encryption VPN tunnels to mask and hide your newsgroup downloads or to acquire regional pricing is something that most businesses frown upon and exceptions aside are usually used for pirating.
     
  15. Valshistixol

    Valshistixol [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,811
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Regional pricing on the fucking internet is retarded.
     
  16. huxley

    huxley Pleeze Maik Mee STFU!!

    Messages:
    10,083
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Uncheck the option to use default gateway on remote network, it may be that its trying to filter all your traffic through that VPN connection.

    Edit: sorry saw you already fixed it. Yeah, the tunnel probably doesnt allow internet traffic over port 80 thus the problem, we have similar issues at our office at times as we dont allow port 80 traffic over VPN. I dont know if I would say thats EA/Origins fault.
     
  17. CEpeep

    CEpeep [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,076
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    QFT