OpenSolaris derived ZFS NAS/ SAN (OmniOS, OpenIndiana, Solaris and napp-it)

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by _Gea, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
  2. ChrisBenn

    ChrisBenn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Yeah, i just su'd first then installed via the wget piped to perl command, no problems. (Standard GUI mode Solaris 11 Express install)
     
  3. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,226
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    @Gea just a quick kudos once again for all the hard work here, and the tireless work on Napp-It. Lots of great information and tutorials. This thread really should have begun a lot sooner.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
  4. mikesm

    mikesm Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    178
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    +1 Gea, thanks much for the tutorials. I am going to try and make the jump soon to a new ZFS based server in an all-in-1 config with 18GB memory on my X8ST3-F and solaris express 11. I just ordered 8 of the new 5K3000's from amazon today so I can transition my windows RAID storage pretty easily.
     
  5. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Yes, I was root. This happened with openindiana and solaris express 11. I noticed scrolling by, also, several '403 forbidden' messages (one was for the smartmon tools.) When did you do your insall, dailo? If it was not as recent, I wonder if something is broken since then?
     
  6. axan

    axan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,940
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    weird, i used nappit with SE11 and nexenta. Works great with both.
     
  7. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    No idea. These were text-mode installers I downloaded and burned. I am now trying nexentastor again - I have volume-check turned off, since that seems to be a culprit in running out of RAM. I also have 2GB of RAM coming in ASAP, to go from 2GB to 4GB.
     
  8. axan

    axan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,940
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    oh that might be it, I always used the live cd versions.
     
  9. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    You may be right. I had no idea not to use the text-mode stuff, since this was going to be a headless server, and nothing in the HOWTO indicated otherwise :(
     
  10. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    It does not matter, if you use live or text/cli version.
    napp-it is a pure web-application with its own webserver

    But with OpenIndiana and SE11, i would always use the Live version
    You can remote manage it's GUI via a VNC client. It is much more
    comfortable and easy to use especially with basic settings and snap-access
    via Time-Slider.

    But you wrote something about smartmontools.
    They are installed but not yet fully supported by a web-gui menu.
    (you have to setup the config-files)

    And a 403 error indicated, that there is a permission problem.
    Please re-login to napp-it. It will restore needed permissions on each login

    Gea
     
  11. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,226
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    For the record I had no troubles with Solaris Express 11 TEXT MODE installer + Napp-It, in fact I preferred it, since I went from bare metal to finished in a few minutes.
     
  12. ChrisBenn

    ChrisBenn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    In the upgrade to 0.415g (and now to 0.415h) I lost the ability to change the compression settings under the folder dialog

    Screenshot of problem

    Specifically when the property change window comes up there is no selection for the property (there was previously) - and when I hit save it doesn't seem to toggle anything. Dedup setting through the same dialog seems to work fine, and if I change the settings at the command line the status reflects correctly in the web interface.
     
  13. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    thanks for the info.
    i can confirm the bug and will fix it with next nightly.

    Gea
     
  14. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    No, Gea, the 403 error occurred while it was trying to download and install some programs. I don't have the install now. I wish I knew why it failed for me but no one else twice on two different OS :(
     
  15. rbm

    rbm n00bie

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    I use external harddisks to make full backups of my NAS filesystem. When I migrate to ZFS from Linux md/ext4, I will be re-using the RAID drives meaning that I'm going to blow away the Linux filesystem and data currently on those disks during the migration. I need to use the external drives as my exchange media to get the important data back onto ZFS after the migration.

    What local Linux filesystem format is supported by napp-it so that I am assured of a continuous migration path (ext2 /ext3 / ext4 / xfs/ NTFS)? I guess this obviously will depend upon the OS I choose as the basis for napp-it.

    TIA,
    - Robert
     
  16. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    I"m going to try napp-it again with openindiana full-gui DVD as well as nexenta-core.
     
  17. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    the easiest way:
    plug your external backup disks to a mac or pc and copy your files to your backup disks and also back to your ZFS box via network.

    Gea
     
  18. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    if you try to download something from the internet with a 403 error, there is a problem with the remote internet-server or with a single page not with your local os.

    Gea
     
  19. rbm

    rbm n00bie

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Thanks. Network restore is always a possibilty but Gigabit throughput pales in comparison to local 300 MB/s SATA speeds. So, are you saying that Linux filesystem support is nonexistant on Solaris11/Nexenta/OpenIndiana? I've seen bug reports on Nexenta forum related to this issue.
     
  20. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    it is not supported out of the box.
    if you are try to go the hard way, google about fuse on Solaris

    about Sata and 300 MB
    You will hardly find a consumer disk, especially from the green and high
    capacity ones and a NAS with a single disk, that can outperform GigaBit Ethernet
    with its 125 MB data rate - even Raids are often not as fast.

    i would always avoid unneeded problems and use ftp/SMB/NFS/AFP

    Gea
     
  21. ChrisBenn

    ChrisBenn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Ext4 is probably going to be a no-go.

    There are some read-only solaris drivers for ntfs/ext2/3 available here:
    http://blogs.sun.com/pradhap/entry/mount_ntfs_ext2_ext3_in
    but not sure if what version of solaris that works for.

    I think solaris can mount FAT32 natively, but haven't verified this. (And you would have to keep all your files < 4GB).
     
  22. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    I wasn't downloading anything - the napp-it installer was, and got a couple of 403 errors. I will see how things go with the next go around...
     
  23. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    napp-it installer tries to download and install some tools like midnight commander, netcat, bonnie or smartmontools.
    if one of the sites is offline or changed something, you get such a message.

    but i am not aware of a general problem or a generally not working link.
    which tool is missing?

    Gea
     
  24. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Unfortunately, it was all scrolling by. I am now installing OI from the live-cd (GUI available.) If it happens again, I will see if there is a logfile I can get. I think midnight commander might have been one. I think the smartmontools was another.
     
  25. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    there is a napp-it logfile within your $HOME directory

    and
    try a ping to any site to check if you have a working network and dns

    Gea
     
  26. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Okay, thanks! I will update with results...
     
  27. rbm

    rbm n00bie

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Gea and ChrisBenn,

    Thanks for the enlightenment guys. For sure I'll take the easy route by using the network backup/restore option since Linux filesystem support is problematic. I don't want complications or headaches, potentially going down a path from which there is no return.

    Cheers,
    Robert
     
  28. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Gea, the errors don't seem to go into the logfile :( I am pasting them here before rebooting:

    ### oi/se 1.10 install smartmontools and gcc
    ---------------------------------
    Packages to install: 19
    Create boot environment: No
    Download: developer/parser/bison ... Done
    Download: developer/versioning/subversion ... Done
    Download: developer/debug/gdb ...
    Errors were encountered while attempting to retrieve package or file data for
    the requested operation.
    Details follow:

    http protocol error: code: 403 reason: Forbidden
    URL: 'http://pkg.openindiana.org/dev/file/1/d8e1c98cb98c3f6a6c70c02fd2ece01959a91eb6'.

    and:

    checking for xlC_r... no
    checking for xlC... no
    checking whether the C++ compiler works... no
    configure: error: in `/root/smartmontools-5.40':
    configure: error: C++ compiler cannot create executables
    See `config.log' for more details
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
    setup/ update napp-it

    the latter is I think because the compiler could not be installed. Starting things up now...
     
  29. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Oh, and this I guess explains why I am unable later to build smartmontools; the compiler is missing in action, and I have no idea how to install it...
     
  30. Emulsifide

    Emulsifide n00bie

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    _Gea,

    I've got another request. I currently have another Solaris 11 Express with Napp-It server set up that's going to live in my detached garage as a disaster recovery server. I would like to replicate to the server on a scheduled basis. This functionality is already built into Napp-It, but I'd like to take it a step further.

    It would be awesome if you could add a wake on lan function to the replication options as well as some sort of built-in delay (either manual or something icmp based that checks for a live server). The final piece of the puzzle would be to add a shutdown function. This is all needed for the following process:

    The main server initiates a wake on lan magic packet to the DR server.
    While the DR server boots, the main server pings it to see when it's alive and responding.
    Once the DR server is up and running, replication starts.
    When replication completes, the main server initiates a graceful shutdown sequence on the DR server to turn it off.
    An email is then sent to me to notify of a successful replication.

    This would absolutely ROCK to have in my situation. I understand this is something I can set up with a cron job, but I'd love to have it built into Napp-It's interface.

    Now that I think of it, the wake on lan function should be built into the scheduler for any task and should be associated with group members in general. That way, you can run scrubs and snaps of powered off servers based on the schedule implemented on the main server.
     
  31. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    i checked it with a fresh setup of se11 but i could not reproduce the error.
    maybee its a temporary problem


    Gea
     
  32. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    this could only be done by Oracle or OpenIndiana.

    a possible workaround:
    use a power timer together with a napp-it shut down autojob.

    Gea
     
  33. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,576
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    happens everytime for me. have you tried with openindiana?
     
  34. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    no problem here.
    maybee you may try another dns (like Google 8.8.8.8)
    in /etc/resolv.conf:

    nameserver 8.8.8.8

    or try from another location.
    (there is no error report like this from others)


    Gea
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2011
  35. stevefer

    stevefer n00bie

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    napp-it .415h
    netatalk 2.1.5
    Solaris Express 11

    First, thank you for napp-it because with out it I would not have made it this far!

    I am having a terrible time with file permissions and would appreciate some help.

    I have created a pool, and a folder within it. I have set it up for AFP.
    /pool1/TheRest and the folder is MoneyDance. I can save items to TheRest, but not to MoneyDance. I am a member of staff (stevefer)

    Code:
    stevefer@solaris1:/pool1$ ls -l
    total 9
    -rw-r--r--   1 root root 776 2011-02-25 23:02 Bonnie.log
    drwxrwxrwx+ 13 root root  13 2011-03-06 12:13 itunes
    drwxrwxrwx+  9 root root  10 2011-03-06 10:30 Photographs
    drwxrwxrwx+ 10 root root  10 2011-03-06 16:31 TheRest
    
    Here are the permissions to MoneyDance:
    Code:
    stevefer@solaris1:/pool1/TheRest$ ls -l
    total 5
    drwxrws---  3 lisa     staff 9 2011-03-06 16:31 MoneyDance
    
    I can ssh in create a file in MoneyDance and remove it fine. I can't do it through my mac in finder though. So, I think this is something with netatalk, or just permissions.
    Here is an example of me creating and removing a file named test (extra files deleted):

    Code:
    stevefer@solaris1:/pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance$ touch test
    stevefer@solaris1:/pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance$ ls -l
    total 83264
    -rw-r--r--  1 stevefer staff        0 2011-03-06 16:42 test
    stevefer@solaris1:/pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance$ rm test
    stevefer@solaris1:/pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance$ ls -l
    total 83263
    stevefer@solaris1:/pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance$ 
    
    If I try to save a simple test file to MoneyDance, is says I do not have permission.

    I have spent hours on this and I'm getting marks on my forehead from banging it into the keyboard.

    Thanks for any suggestions.
    Steve
     
  36. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    @stevefer

    check folder settings:
    nbmand: off
    perm: 777
    acl: @everyone: modify or full


    you may also try next nightly 0.415i with improved perm/acl settings
    and a bugfix about folder compression, not settable via GUI.

    Gra
     
  37. stevefer

    stevefer n00bie

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Thanks for the suggestions, Gea.

    I checked the folder settings from the browser:
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    I will try the new build tonight. Do I run the same install procedure (wget -O - www.napp-it.org/nappit04 | perl)

    I also tried connecting to the folder from a Windows PC and it seemed to work fine. I'm going to check my steps tonight to make sure, but it seems to be Apple related. That is what I get for playing outside the garden walls.

    Steve
     
  38. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Yes.

    announcement:
    --> From next nightly, there will be a new menue item napp-it-update
    You can then not only update but also downgrade versions via browser.

    Gea
     
  39. Emulsifide

    Emulsifide n00bie

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Sweeet!!!
     
  40. apnar

    apnar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    106
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Steve,

    Here are a few things you can try. First the version of ls that your path likely defaults to is the gnu version and isn't too ACL friendly. You may have better luck understanding what's going on by using "/usr/bin/ls -lv". Also you can try rewriting all your ACLs with something like this (noting full paths for chown and chmod):

    Code:
    # set owner and group
    /usr/bin/chown -R stevefer:staff /pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance
    
    # wipe ACL and give owner full rights
    /usr/bin/chmod -R A=owner@:full_set:file_inherit/dir_inherit:allow /pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance
    
    # add to ACL to give group full rights
    /usr/bin/chmod -R A+group@:full_set:file_inherit/dir_inherit:allow /pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance
    
    # add to ACL to give everyone read and execute
    /usr/bin/chmod -R A+everyone@:read_set/execute:file_inherit/dir_inherit:allow /pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance
    
    # add to ACL to give root full rights
    /usr/bin/chmod -R A+user:root:full_set:file_inherit/dir_inherit:allow /pool1/TheRest/MoneyDance
    
    There are sometimes some odd interactions between AFP and ACLs so just something else to check.