OpenBox - 6870 power color 75.99 + FS @newegg.com - DEAD

oROEchimaru

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
4,662
maybe i'm an ass and got to test it one more time but its in my friends house at the moment.

does the 6870 use 2 pcie connectors or just 1? it has spots for 2 but i thought that was for crossfire
 

bastage

Pics of your wife?
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
12,859
maybe i'm an ass and got to test it one more time but its in my friends house at the moment.

does the 6870 use 2 pcie connectors or just 1? it has spots for 2 but i thought that was for crossfire

heh. that is a problem
 

Teenk9

Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
1,023
maybe i'm an ass and got to test it one more time but its in my friends house at the moment.

does the 6870 use 2 pcie connectors or just 1? it has spots for 2 but i thought that was for crossfire

lol, it needs two 6-pin pcie.
 

oROEchimaru

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
4,662
nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo lol. now i'll have to apologize to newegg for the nasty email if this works! found my psu that has two pcie for testing just waiting for my friend to drop the card off.
 

oROEchimaru

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
4,662
noooooooooo well actually... yay it works fine! now i have to email an apology to newegg. powercolor was actually very helpful, i had to file the rma and use their email form but they were going to rma it. so if yours is damaged, its a much better option than returning it to newegg.
 

requiem99

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
4,532
wow, flaming customer service and trying to demand an RMA because you didn't know that a 6870 requires two molex connectors. Manuals. Read them. Or Google. Or the manufacturer's website. Or ask someone. Its amazing how ignorant people remain with all the information available at their fucking fingertips 24 hours a day. Staggering thread.
 

munkle

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
11,800
wow, flaming customer service and trying to demand an RMA because you didn't know that a 6870 requires two molex connectors. Manuals. Read them. Or Google. Or the manufacturer's website. Or ask someone. Its amazing how ignorant people remain with all the information available at their fucking fingertips 24 hours a day. Staggering thread.

To play the devil's advocate, hes ONLY been here 7.5 years with 3,195 posts. :p
 

csshih

Gawd
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
554
nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo lol. now i'll have to apologize to newegg for the nasty email if this works! found my psu that has two pcie for testing just waiting for my friend to drop the card off.

this must be terribly embarrassing for you.

don't worry, I had the same thing happen to me when I got into bitcoining, though I had 4 cards to start and they couldn't all be broken, so I plugged 2 connectors in and they started working.

Craig
 

oROEchimaru

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
4,662
Not embarrassing at all, just happy it worked. It didn't come with a molex to pci-e adapter so I didn't have one to test until last night. Their instructions are generic for video cards and not specific to 6870. There was no instructions for two pci-e adapters.

Some of you guys have jealousy or nerd social issues here. Happy [H]olidays anyways.
 

requiem99

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
4,532
Not embarrassing at all, just happy it worked. It didn't come with a molex to pci-e adapter so I didn't have one to test until last night. Their instructions are generic for video cards and not specific to 6870. There was no instructions for two pci-e adapters.

Some of you guys have jealousy or nerd social issues here. Happy [H]olidays anyways.

Haha, not only an ignorant jerk, but totally unapologetic about it too. Class.
 

zyzeast

Gawd
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
939
maybe i'm an ass and got to test it one more time but its in my friends house at the moment.

does the 6870 use 2 pcie connectors or just 1? it has spots for 2 but i thought that was for crossfire

I want to make this my signature.
 

Z06

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
1,546
I want to make this my signature.

haha. Do it. I would think. ANYONE and EVERYONE on [H]ard|Forum would know how to install any and all pieces of Computer equipment. Just Sayin'
 

W.Feather

Hard DC'er for Aug 2012 / Feb 2019 / Mar 2020
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
11,591
really? You go off on Newegg/Me in a way, and Stiletto? and its a fuckin ID-10-T error ?

Atleast you figured out the card was good once you learned how to install it..
 

FireBean

Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
994
You got to be kidding me. Plugging in the power connectors is BASIC FUCKING KNOWLEDGE!
 

requiem99

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
4,532
N1bWQ.jpg
 

cheapo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 13, 2011
Messages
146
lol what a moron. "i thought the 2 pci express ports were for crossfire"
jroe do everyone a favor and dont ever try to build/upgrade a computer again...EVER.
next time go buy a DELL or a MACBOOK

thanks
-management-
 

syn0s

Gawd
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
627
Wait a sec..

tl;dr version: customer bought open box 6870 for $76, didn't work because he didn't plug in *both* PCI-E power connectors, blamed Newegg/tried to RMA to Powercolor? Am I on the right track?

lulz..

EDIT: We've all done stupid things though, so I'm sure all of us belong in some form of 'Hall of Shame' LOL
 
Last edited:

SLiGuy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
1,146
Do you leave the power connectors unplugged on your video card and then blame newegg?

Lol at you!
By "this" I meant this thread, not you LOLing at him. I actually join you in that :p

This thread delivers. This is better than Christmas.
 

likenew

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
146
haha. Do it. I would think. ANYONE and EVERYONE on [H]ard|Forum would know how to install any and all pieces of Computer equipment. Just Sayin'

I wouldn't say any and all pieces, I've never used water cooling. Even though I'm certain I could figure it out, since I've never used it I can't say that I know how to install one =-)
 

Uberbob102000

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
2,243
Not gonna lie, this happened to me for about 2 hours a couple weeks ago when I got the one for my secondary rig but the HIS one I bought had the 2nd PCI-e connector like 3" away from the first so I just didn't see it.

Did he see it and then think it was just on there for shits and giggles?
 

oROEchimaru

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
4,662
geez are you guys acting like a bunch of smug yuppies. i didn't have a second pci-e adapter, did you read all my posts? i had to wait and get a second one for my psu for further testing.
 

douglasb

Gawd
Joined
Jul 15, 2005
Messages
546
^ If your PSU only has one PCI-E power plug, you probably have no business running this card. The only thing that would make this thread more hilarious is if it ended in a cloud of smoke and sparks.
 

DuronClocker

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
1,063
geez are you guys acting like a bunch of smug yuppies. i didn't have a second pci-e adapter, did you read all my posts? i had to wait and get a second one for my psu for further testing.

^ If your PSU only has one PCI-E power plug, you probably have no business running this card. The only thing that would make this thread more hilarious is if it ended in a cloud of smoke and sparks.

Or at the very least has no business in flipping out at the seller.

Sure, we've all done some stupid things I guess, but I can't say that I've ever thrown a tantrum for something not working when I didn't have the means to test it.

Your video card has two connectors. Your power supply has one. It completely boggles the mind that you would go down the path you went before thinking to self "hm, I wonder if I need a different power supply, or at the very least an adapter to let me plug something into that second power plug.."
 

oROEchimaru

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
4,662
I had misread that two were for crossfire, and then I did more homework before RMAing. I find it odd how bitter some of the hardocp community is. oh well, got a working 6870 now and i'm happy.

as a mention to anyone that does RMA their card. Mine did not come with a static proof bag, yet if you want to return it, requires one. So if you have any spare static bags hold on to them.
 
Top