Open Source Router/Firewall Distros

nomar

[H]ard|Gawd
I've been using ClarkConnect for over 2 years now and have been trying out a few other gateway/router/firewall distros lately so I thought I'd post info on them.

Here is what I have come across so far (not in any particular order).

Router Projects:

LEAF: "A secure, feature-rich, customizable embedded Linux network appliance for use in a variety of network topologies. Although it can be used in other ways; it's primarily used as a Internet gateway, router, firewall, and wireless access point."

SmoothWall: "SmoothWall Express is an open source firewall distribution based on the GNU/Linux operating system. Linux is the ideal choice for security systems; it is well proven, secure, highly configurable and freely available as open source code. SmoothWall includes a hardened subset of the GNU/Linux operating system, so there is no separate OS to install. Designed for ease of use, SmoothWall is configured via a web-based GUI, and requires absolutely no knowledge of Linux to install or use."

Freesco:"FREESCO (stands for FREE ciSCO) is a free replacement for commercial routers supporting up to 10 ethernet/arcnet/token_ring/arlan network cards and up to 10 modems.
Like most players in this field, it runs off one floppy
FREESCO runs in as little as 8 Mb RAM."

ClarkConnect: "ClarkConnect transforms standard PC hardware into a dedicated broadband gateway and easy-to-use server. The award-winning Linux-based solution includes firewall and security tools, along with file, print, web, e-mail, proxy, antivirus, antispam, content filtering and VPN servers.