One of three screens goes black momentarily

Headcase_Fargone

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
284
My setup until recently:

2x 6950s
3x Qnix displays. One DVDI, two with active DP adapters to mini DP ports.

I just swapped out the 6950s for a PNY GTX 970 and everything works fine... most of the time. Every hour or so one of the two DP screens will black out for a few seconds. It doesn't have time to go into standby mode, but it's like they just lose the signal for three to five seconds then come back. No errors or anything, it's just super annoying.

Doesn't seem to matter what I'm doing at the time. Gaming, browsing, or idle it still happens.

Is there some issue with 970s and DisplayPort adapters?
 

MikeRotch

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
415
I get that too with my r9 290.

I have 2 x Asus Panels at 1920x1200 one on DVI and one on HDMI and one QNIX at 2560x1440 on DP (straight cable, no adapters).

Randomly one of the Asus on DVI or HDMI will momentarily show a black screen and like you, gaming, browsing, video watching or idle.
 

xorbe

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
6,029
If you swap screens around, does the black-out stay with the gfx port, or with the screen that moved?
 

Headcase_Fargone

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
284
It only happens on whichever panels are plugged into the DisplayPorts. It seems completely random which of the two blanks out and when. The panel plugged into the DVDI port (with no adapter) never blanks out. None of the three blank out when plugged into the 6950s.
 

MikeRotch

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
415
Never happened on the 6950s. Not sure I made that clear. Only happens on the GTX 970.

I know, I was just suggesting that it isn't limited to Nvidia, that it happens on AMD as well.

I also noticed that it happened specifically after I upgraded the drivers about 7 months ago, but I can't remember the version I upgraded from and to.
 

JL6speed

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
340
Happened to me as well. I am running 3 1440p Samsung S32D850T monitors powered by 1 GTX 770 4GB. I think my solution was to change the connections around. I originally was using like 1 DVI, HDMI, DP. I've now swapped over to not using any DisplayPort.
 

rtangwai

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
1,369
You are using active adapters - I thought the GTX970 only needs passive adapters?
 

mr_zen256

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
2,509
I get a similar momentary black screen (less than a second) over HDMI on a Titan X and my previous card the GTX 980.

I'm guessing it's either the display (Sony Bravia TV), HDMI cable or nVidias drivers.

The black screen flicker is random and happens while gaming, browsing, watching movies etc but seems to happen most when the display is first turned on then gets less and less frequent over time.
 
Last edited:

Headcase_Fargone

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
284
You are using active adapters - I thought the GTX970 only needs passive adapters?

I wasn't aware of that, but I'll do some checking. They're just what I happened to have already since the 6950s require them. I was really hoping someone would reply with "Oh yeah, that's a known issue with Nvidia and active DP adapters. You just have to do X to fix it." Doesn't look like this is an overly common issue though.

I'm guessing it's either the display (Sony Bravia TV), HDMI cable or nVidias drivers.

In my case I can be 100% certain that it's not the cables, adapters, or displays. They work perfectly on another card.
 
Top