OK at a chance of getting laughed at, what do you use your "Retro PC" for?

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,590
I finally got my "Retro' PC done as I got the proper stand-offs for the newer CoolerMaster N400.
The Specs are as follows "and I quite stink stank stunk" LoL (Lets see who can tell me what that quote is from!

Anyway
MSI Nforce 2 Motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2000+
2.5GB of DDR 333 (2 x 1 + a 512MB stick)
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO 128MB
Sound Blaster LIVE! (Unfortunately I don't have the LIVE Drive it was supposed to come with)
160GB ** + 120GB Western Digital 7200 RPM IDE drives
Some Lite-On External CD-RW drive *
1.44MB floppy drive Mitsumi brand!
D-Link DGE-530T 10/100/1000 PCI Ethernet card
Hauppauge PVR-350

**= I got this in an external WD Media Center case for $8 at a thrift store brand new! I only wanted the drive I don't know if the act of drive "Shucking" was even a think in 2003 when this was made but I removed the case and made it internal anyway!
*= Also got this in an external case but just wanted the IDE CD-RW inside plus it need a special 5V/12V 4 pin power supply that I did not get when I got this for $0.50 at another thrift store

OK anyway what do you actually use your "Retro' PC build for and what is a good OS for this?
It has XP on it but it wants me to reactivate it as I guess I changed too much hardware I called the number but it said my "Installation ID" was invalid check it again with 6 or 7 numbers in each box!
I guess I can make a new ISO of it plus I can slipstream the needed drivers as well, but is there a better OS for this any [H] Members use another OS then Windows XP for a PC of this time period?
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,798
I use mine for capturing video from VHS and miniDV snice the capture devices I have, a Matrox RT.X100 and Dazzle DC150 only work in Windows XP.
The Specs on mine are AMD 9550 quadcore, 4GB Ram, EVGA GTX 285, Windows XP SP3.
IMG_3480.JPG


IMG_3479.JPG


IMG_3489.JPG


I moved the system out of the cube case into a normal case as I want to use the cube for something else,
IMG_3971.JPG
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,590
I use mine for capturing video from VHS and miniDV snice the capture devices I have, a Matrox RT.X100 and Dazzle DC150 only work in Windows XP.

Well I still have quite a few Video-8 (8MM) cassettes that I recorded back when I was a teenager!

I got a make shift Time Base Corrector which is just an AV2HDMI and the HDMI2AV (they connect to each other via an HDMI cable) it somehow works to prevent the picture from jumping up and down and was cheaper then buying an actual one!

I got the Hauppauge PVR-350 and I also got a Hauppauge PVR-500 in a lot of computer parts I got.

I also still have the PVR-150 I bought new when I was working at CompUSA (How I miss working there and the store in general)

I moved the system out of the cube case into a normal case as I want to use the cube for something else,
What is the make model of that cube case?
I remember wanting one back in the day
YY Cube or something I forget I would love to find one!
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,798
Well I still have quite a few Video-8 (8MM) cassettes that I recorded back when I was a teenager!

I got a make shift Time Base Corrector which is just an AV2HDMI and the HDMI2AV (they connect to each other via an HDMI cable) it somehow works to prevent the picture from jumping up and down and was cheaper then buying an actual one!

I got the Hauppauge PVR-350 and I also got a Hauppauge PVR-500 in a lot of computer parts I got.

I also still have the PVR-150 I bought new when I was working at CompUSA (How I miss working there and the store in general)


What is the make model of that cube case?
I remember wanting one back in the day
YY Cube or something I forget I would love to find one!
Ya, it's the YY-0221. I bought mine back in 2003, was around $250 shipped. It was the most expensive case I ever bought until a few weeks ago when I bought a Corsair 680X for almost $300.
 

Danny Dawg

Gawd
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
809
When I had mine setup, I used it as a training machine. I had to teach the older folks in my family how to use a computer and do computer basics from square one. I would leave it with them to practice on and if they blew it up, it was no big loss.
I remember teaching them how to use a floppy disk . . ..damn I am old.
 

slavie

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
138
I'm collecting parts to build my retro-rig with no plans on what to do with it upon completion other than to see if it will run Crysis. That is, as of now, the only objective of the several hundred $ build. Yeah... :)
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
7
I use mine for capturing video from VHS and miniDV snice the capture devices I have, a Matrox RT.X100 and Dazzle DC150 only work in Windows XP.
The Specs on mine are AMD 9550 quadcore, 4GB Ram, EVGA GTX 285, Windows XP SP3.
View attachment 395057

View attachment 395058

View attachment 395056

I moved the system out of the cube case into a normal case as I want to use the cube for something else,
View attachment 395059
I do this same thing but I use a capture card and OBS to save the file Digitally without needing to have editing software.
 

travm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
1,386
I'm collecting parts to build my retro-rig with no plans on what to do with it upon completion other than to see if it will run Crysis. That is, as of now, the only objective of the several hundred $ build. Yeah... :)
Flight Sims. There's a ton of old beauties.
If your not interested in flight sims, get interested.
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,590
Play retro games of course! Tribes, Q3A, Unreal

Not really much of a gamer I out grew it in my late 20's
Mostly into GTA style games though

I do this same thing but I use a capture card and OBS to save the file Digitally without needing to have editing software.

OBS?
The only OBS I know is the in the truck world Old Body Style

Flight Sims. There's a ton of old beauties.
If your not interested in flight sims, get interested.

Any specific ones come to mind?
 

ZodaEX

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
4,098
Just to look at porn since Windows 95 is immune to modern viruses.
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,590
The old Janes series was good.
F15 was a favorite. There was an f15 vs mig29 as well That i never tried but was told it was good.

I remember wanting Microsoft Flight Simulator X back in the day (LoL I Love saying or writing that)
anyway more information or links to these?

Just to look at porn since Windows 95 is immune to modern viruses.

No thanks I don't want to wait an hour for one glimpse of a boob to appear while the rest is still in the blurry loading phase! That is the one thing I don't miss dial-up!
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
7
OBS?
The only OBS I know is the in the truck world Old Body Style

Open Broadcast Software. The thing most streamers use to stream. You can use it to simply record and save in a chosen video format. (.mkv, .mp4, etc)

I just hook my VCR to my RBG to HDMI converter and plug the HDMI into the 'IN' on my capture card. Add the capture card as a source in OBS and the preview should show you whatever the VCR is showing.

From there you just need to set you save destination and format in the settings. Then you are ready to hit record and play on the VCR.

Presto, 1 VHS converted to Digital.
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,590
Open Broadcast Software. The thing most streamers use to stream. You can use it to simply record and save in a chosen video format. (.mkv, .mp4, etc)

I just hook my VCR to my RBG to HDMI converter and plug the HDMI into the 'IN' on my capture card. Add the capture card as a source in OBS and the preview should show you whatever the VCR is showing.

From there you just need to set you save destination and format in the settings. Then you are ready to hit record and play on the VCR.

Presto, 1 VHS converted to Digital.
A VCR with RGB? Or Component video (RGB RCA plugs)? Never seen one before.
Will this work with 8MM video cassettes (AKA Video 8) I have quite a few of those that I need to digitize before they become unplayable!
I made an cheap TBC with an AV2HDMI and an HDMI2AV adapters works too just used a 3' HDMI cable to connect the 2 adapters together much cheaper then a real TBC and I'm not sure how it does but it works!
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
7
A VCR with RGB? Or Component video (RGB RCA plugs)? Never seen one before.
Will this work with 8MM video cassettes (AKA Video 8) I have quite a few of those that I need to digitize before they become unplayable!
I made an cheap TBC with an AV2HDMI and an HDMI2AV adapters works too just used a 3' HDMI cable to connect the 2 adapters together much cheaper then a real TBC and I'm not sure how it does but it works!
Sorry, VCR with Red, White, and Yellow plugs.

This method will work with almost anything that can be plugged into the capture card. This is the capture card I have, but there are other brands and cheaper models https://www.elgato.com/en/game-capture-4k60-pro.

Here is the component to HDMI converter I use as well. I have only used with so far with my N64 (Star Fox on a 50" is sweet) and my VCR. https://www.amazon.com/Lhcsi-Conver...cphy=1021696&hvtargid=pla-1019683717918&psc=1

Honestly, the most difficult part about setting this whole thing up was finding the VCR lol.
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,590
Sorry, VCR with Red, White, and Yellow plugs.

Ah the standard Left (White) Right (Red) Video (Yellow) composite connectors on all (if not all most) VCRs

This method will work with almost anything that can be plugged into the capture card.

I'm planing to do this with my 8MM tapes I'm just going to play the tapes and edit them later.

I have many tapes back then I was worried about missing something so I just used another tape as they were cheap and easy to find then! each tape can hold 2 hours but each tape probably only has like 45 - 90 minutes used!

Honestly, the most difficult part about setting this whole thing up was finding the VCR lol.

I hear you easy to find yes but finding a working one not so easy!
I had my old camcorder my father borrowed it and I never got it back but I found one at Goodwill (of all places) for $10 my camcorder was a standard video 8 mono unit (this is all 14 year old Peter could afford then! LoL) so finding one is still hard but not as hard as a Hi-8 or digital-8 unit!
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,798
I also bought some Apple dongles to capture DV to Thunderbolt enabled devices.
I am using a Thunderbolt 2 to Firewire dongle in this image, and the other dongle is a Thunderbolt 2 to Thunderbolt 3 USB-C to capture on a PC/Mac with a USB-C Thunderbolt connector.

IMG_0489.JPEG
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,590
A friend of mine gave me these earlier this year,
View attachment 405272
View attachment 405271
Damn nice friend (Did he/she work for a TV studio or school or other?)
I thought my friend was nice when he gifted me an old Asus PC with an i7-2600 (Back in 2014)
Can I be your friend and get gifted one?
I want a AG-1980 but one of these would be a nice gift (Hint LoL)
Why do they say commercial use only? Just like my older HID Metal Halide lights say "Not for use in dwellings" not like that stopped me!
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,798
Damn nice friend (Did he/she work for a TV studio or school or other?)
I thought my friend was nice when he gifted me an old Asus PC with an i7-2600 (Back in 2014)
Can I be your friend and get gifted one?
I want a AG-1980 but one of these would be a nice gift (Hint LoL)
Why do they say commercial use only? Just like my older HID Metal Halide lights say "Not for use in dwellings" not like that stopped me!
My friend was dabbling in video production back in the day. wasn't very good/successful at at. He's the kind of guy where you give him good advice and he does the opposite, lol.
I too want an AG-1970 or 1980 since I have some S-VHS tapes I'd like to digitize and my old JVC S-VHS deck has alignment and transport issues.
The reason it says Commercial Use Only I think is because they aren't guaranteed to not interfere with normal consumer things in the home.

This is my JVC I bought back in 1991, used the heck out of it for the 10 or so years I was actively using it and had it serviced 2-3 times.
IMG_2762.JPG
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,590
The reason it says Commercial Use Only I think is because they aren't guaranteed to not interfere with normal consumer things in the home.
I think the same is true for my old fluorescent lights as the ballast say FCC non consumer or some stuff like that
I like the old heavy metal lights
LED = JUNK
So the 1950 is not S-VHS then?
Also what is all of you cool tech stuff with those lights?
I love the old gear with the the VFD's also my favorite display type

The only new tech I like is HD Radio
See here

The GM is not and HD Radio (but it does have a VFD) the Bose has a VFD but the Directed Electronics DMHD-1000 has a yucky LCD!
The middle one is an Denon S-301 (Top) the tuner is a Integra TUN-3.7 with the HD Radio card
PS the Denon is open for repair I needed to change the fan and the CD/DVD loading belt that is why the cover is off here! But I can't live without my PC audio system LoL!

MAXFM.jpg
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,798
I think the same is true for my old fluorescent lights as the ballast say FCC non consumer or some stuff like that
I like the old heavy metal lights
LED = JUNK
So the 1950 is not S-VHS then?
Also what is all of you cool tech stuff with those lights?
I love the old gear with the the VFD's also my favorite display type

The only new tech I like is HD Radio
See here

The GM is not and HD Radio (but it does have a VFD) the Bose has a VFD but the Directed Electronics DMHD-1000 has a yucky LCD!
The middle one is an Denon S-301 (Top) the tuner is a Integra TUN-3.7 with the HD Radio card
PS the Denon is open for repair I needed to change the fan and the CD/DVD loading belt that is why the cover is off here! But I can't live without my PC audio system LoL!

View attachment 405329
Ya, the 1950 is VHS only, the 1960 that replaced it was the S-VHS model.

not sure what lights you are asking about? If it's the computers, my gaming PC has Corsair HD120 and 140 fans in it and my Plex server just has an RGB strip hardwired as blue.
IMG_2079.JPEG


And this is one of the 1950's when I was testing it,
IMG_9422.JPEG
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,590
Nice VFD on that machine! I see it has 2 of them
What is the cube case as well as the tower next to it?
Want to send me one of those machines? LoL
 
Top