Official Lian Li PC-V300 Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by MrSlacker, Jun 11, 2006.

  1. aburgard

    aburgard Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    I'd use notebook harddrives if you're worried about noise from them. www.silentpcreview.com had an article on an HTPC motherboard. Which one are you using?
     
  2. Outrigger

    Outrigger Gawd

    Messages:
    530
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    notebook harddrives are a lot more expensive and limited in storage space. and the noise is negligible.
     
  3. andyatkinson

    andyatkinson n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    I actually returned the PC-V300 in the end. I decided it was too noisy on my desk, and while stylish, did not look as nice as what I replaced it with (for my intended purpose of living room receiver complement). I replaced it with an Antec NSK2400. I've had it for a month now and have been very happy with it. Very easy to build with, much easier than the PC-V300.

    http://paininthetech.com/antec_nsk2400_home_theater_pc_case_reviewed
     
  4. Outrigger

    Outrigger Gawd

    Messages:
    530
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    very good choice. glad you're happy with it.
     
  5. Myrandex

    Myrandex Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    439
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Does anyone know a list of cards that fit? I have a 7900GT and I am thinking about trying to just upgrade to a similar card performance wise that will fit. Nvidia or ATI is both fine for me. Thanks in advance,
    Jason
     
  6. Myrandex

    Myrandex Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    439
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Or can anyone at least list their cards that fit? I know for one the BFG 7800GT doesn't :-/
     
  7. Kid8

    Kid8 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    my 6800gt wouldnt but my x850xt does w/o any mods
     
  8. gr!m

    gr!m Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    333
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Most if not all cards measuring 8" or less should fit in the Lian-Li. I am waiting for my black one in the mail! Mod time :D
     
  9. xkon

    xkon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    i've got a modded v300 i bought on the forums not too long ago... it rox. just that i havent been able to put anything in because i keep thinking i can squeeze stuff in that wont really fit. ;p so some modding might be in order. it's been modded already to fit sli, but i'm an ati fan (too bad no xfire matx mobos out there). it's also been modded to fit the longer cards.

    i decided on bein a dumbass and sprung for a pc power & cooling silencer even though i knew it was 1" longer than most atx psu's. obviously it didnt fit. i have no modding equipment (ie. rivet popper, dremel, or any kind of electric equipment that cuts metal). i've got a handsaw. you know the kind they had in saw. ;p but if anything in real life is like the movie i'm sure i cant cut through the case with it. so i'm wondering if i should just spring for a dremel, and other modding equipment (become a hardcore modder), or if i should just sell the psu, and get a smaller one. i'm kind of strapped for cash so i'm not sure if springing for the modding equipment is a good idea, as i'm still a novice. If i do sell my psu, I'd like to get a Seasonic m12 600, Enermax Liberty 620, or a Corsair 620, but am not sure about how well they'll fit in the case (i might even get an mge magnum). any info or recommendation would be appreciated.

    build:
    e6300
    asrock conroe945g-dvi
    2x512mb STT 5300 maybe 2x1gb corsair 6400 pro
    x1800xt 512mb PE bios /w zalman vf900 (might run an hr-03 if i can afford it)
    250gb seagate 7200.10
    NEC DVD-R/RW
    Mitsumi Floppy drive
    Logitech STX webcam
    cheap bluetooth adapter
    Audigy 2 ZS or Audigy4 or Audigy
    3 x 60mm fans
    2 x 92mm fans

    would a 500-550 watt psu be sufficient or is the original idea for a 600 watt a good decision?
    i'd like to OC like crazy, but i know that the core2duo uatx mobos are very limited.
     
  10. jeff00z28

    jeff00z28 n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    I had to dremel my 5.25 bays for the psu cables to run thru, and I had to dremel one of the 3.5 inch bays for my 7950gt to fit.
     
  11. SneakyOCF

    SneakyOCF n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    does anyone have an exact measurement on the maximum allowable CPU Cooler height, that still allows you to slide the mobo tray in and out?



    and also... is there anyone here with a silver PC-V300 with a black center accent strip who would be interested in trading the black accent strip for my silver accent strip off of a black PC-V300? (newegg just shipped my case today :))




    -Justin
     
  12. Steeeeve

    Steeeeve 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,596
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    4" from the PCB to the top of the mobo tray
     
  13. SneakyOCF

    SneakyOCF n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
  14. xkon

    xkon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    yah i dont know the exact dimensions, but the silverstone nitrogen nt06 looks almost the same. dimensions are:
    Net weight 570 g
    Dimension

    125.4mm (W) x 78mm (H) x 148mm (D)
    Dimension w/ fan

    125.4mm (W) x 111mm (H) x 148mm (D)
    a post here shows that it does fit, but dont know about a 120mm fan, maybe a slim one, if your psu has a nice 120mm fan on it, that'd be darn good enough.
    http://www.hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1029599763&postcount=100

    disregard this post. ;p
     
  15. Kid8

    Kid8 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    ^^thats a pic of the sg01 which that heatsink was designed for, not of the pc-v300
     
  16. xkon

    xkon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    oops. haha. i stoopid. haha. didnt look real well at it. ;p
     
  17. xkon

    xkon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    i've heard of people modding these things to fit atx mobos. anyone have any pics or links or anything with info on that? i'm looking at the case and my biostar tforce mobo right now, and it does fit inside the case, but i'd have to make some adjustments, make some cuts, perhaps even design a new sidepanel...
    i'm gonna get down to it this weekend. take some measurements, draw up some plans, buy some tools, etc.
     
  18. Steeeeve

    Steeeeve 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,596
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    If you want to use an ATX mobo get a full size case. It isn't worth it to do that great of a mod.
     
  19. SneakyOCF

    SneakyOCF n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
  20. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Can anybody find the length for a 7900GS. I think it uses a 7900GT pbc, but I am not sure. I am looking into getting this case with DC AM2 Opteron.
     
  21. xkon

    xkon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    hmm... i'm done with my v300. it's good and all, but lack of mATX core2duo boards killed my interest in mATX stuff. I'm goin back to ATX. just got myself a biostar 965pt so this case is no use to me anymore. i'm lucky i got a modded v300 though... fit my x1900xt, 7900gtx, and x1900 all in wonder just fine. so byebye v300 folks. :D
     
  22. SignalSoldier

    SignalSoldier Gawd

    Messages:
    900
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
  23. xkon

    xkon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
  24. Nixeh

    Nixeh n00b

    Messages:
    53
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Hey guys, just a question.

    With the v300 is anyone else getting a slow pulsating sound from vibrations through the case.
    Im not sure if its the case, though im betting money that its my Maxtor drive ive got inside.

    It drives me nuts, i wouldnt mind if it was constantly loud as id get used to it but cause it pulsates its really noticable.
     
  25. Myrandex

    Myrandex Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    439
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    not happening here. I have heard hard drives make a noise like that though.
     
  26. andy

    andy n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    I had my suspicions about the CD bezel, even though it says everywhere that it'll work with all Lian Li cases. Thank you for confirming this!

    As to the solution: did you find it yet? ;) Judging from the way it looks on photo, I would say you'll have a hard time. My DVD burner (Samsung SH-S183A) takes up so much space on the rack, I'm not even sure that the bezel would fit if I did mod it...

    Alas, some silver spray paint will have to do. Thinking of using black for the bezel on the CD tray, to match up with the black stripe on the front of the case. :D

    Good luck, anyhow / Andy