Official ID Software RAGE thread

DeathPrincess

Fully [H]
Joined
May 15, 2010
Messages
18,205
I jumped on the Newegg deal when it was $42 as well. I hope it shows up early so I can get it installed and just wait for Steam to unlock it, though I've never gone this route before. Will I be able to install it before it's fully active on Steam?

Either way, it should be a fun way to pass the weeks until BF3 is in my mailbox.

Steam have added this new stupid thing where you can preload the game when it appears on their servers, but then it waits for the games release date then unlocks it slightly after... So no early unlocks like the old days :(
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,138
It's amazing how many around here either don't know this or have simply forgotten...and it is pointed out in nearly every Rage thread so far because someone says something about liking/hating Quake IV and attributing it to Id.

For a while, Raven was seen as an excellent dev but they've fallen harder than id in many ways. Wolfenstein was a blast but Singularity was horrid.
 

Plague_Injected

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
6,621
For a while, Raven was seen as an excellent dev but they've fallen harder than id in many ways. Wolfenstein was a blast but Singularity was horrid.

Yep, RTCW and the two Soldier of Fortune games Raven made were brilliant, and Quake 4 itself was decent. The Marvel-themed games Raven made for the consoles were good for what they were as well.

Looking forward to Rage though, and considering pre-ordering Anarchy Edition. Rage doesn't have anything original about it in terms of setting or gameplay, but Id games always play well and I do love the whole post-apocalyptica thing.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,138
I went with the $43 pre-order special on Newegg a while back. I'm looking forward to getting it next week. =)
 

Nahawand

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
213
why is there no deal for preordering rage on steam, for some reason 60$ seems alot to me i always thought steam gives 10% discount on preorders, and i would really like the double barrel shotgun.
 

fps4ever

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
1,310
Clearly piracy is non-existent on consoles. :rolleyes:

I'm still on the fence about RAGE, the only thing really keeping me away is the price.

Agreed, I really want it but not at the retail price...I'll wait for it to come down a bit and get a patch or two first.
 

SIRTIM3

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
203
Just found out no multi monitor support on release, won't be a day one purchase for me. But will definately get when patch or tweak comes out.
 

DeathPrincess

Fully [H]
Joined
May 15, 2010
Messages
18,205
At 21gbs it's not as big as I thought it would be :D (which is good...still to buy some more HDDs...)
 

Krieger91

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 6, 2007
Messages
1,879
Didn't pay to much attention to this one.... can someone give me a rundown of why I would want to play it?

Is it a pc game or a console port?
 

Mortuus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2007
Messages
1,279
What are you trying to be funny or something? This game will run good on pc and consoles and i think this engine is very well optimized for both formats.
 

brennok

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
1,339
Yep, RTCW and the two Soldier of Fortune games Raven made were brilliant, and Quake 4 itself was decent. The Marvel-themed games Raven made for the consoles were good for what they were as well.

Man I miss the Soldier of Fortune games. I loved the multiplayer in them also. Then a company released the crappy third one and it killed the series. I don't even think it had the damage models from the first two.

I keep hoping someone will make a real sequel that brings back some of the great features of that game.
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,438
Man I miss the Soldier of Fortune games. I loved the multiplayer in them also. Then a company released the crappy third one and it killed the series. I don't even think it had the damage models from the first two.

I keep hoping someone will make a real sequel that brings back some of the great features of that game.

Amen brother. Co-signed with you all the way.
 

ShuttleLuv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Messages
7,225
Man I miss the Soldier of Fortune games. I loved the multiplayer in them also. Then a company released the crappy third one and it killed the series. I don't even think it had the damage models from the first two.

I keep hoping someone will make a real sequel that brings back some of the great features of that game.


+11111111
 

lobski2

Gawd
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
969
http://www.idgames.de/showthread.php/12896-idGames-Exclusive-Interview-with-Tim-Willits

RAGE: I took the opportunity and looked at the options menu. There were no graphic options beside resolution, brightness, anti-aliasing and GPU transcoding. Is this a limitation of the test version?


This is a feature of the id Tech 5. The Engine automatically adjusts to your hardware to ensure the best performance and graphics the hardware can provide.

For example: You have a video card with 512MB VRAM, 4GB of normal RAM and a decent processor. Now the id Tech 5 adjusts the quality of the Level of Detail to the available resources. If you have twice the RAM the engine scales dynamically up to it, improves the textures and objects in the far look sharper and more detailed. At the same time the engines tries to keep running at 60 FPS even though this is not also possible – dependent on the situation.



What.


WHAT
 

ShuttleLuv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Messages
7,225
RAGE: While playing I noticed that a quick turnaround shows very unsharp textures even though this is only for a few miliseconds. What’s the reason?
The id Tech 5 dynamically adjusts the quality of the shown scene. Everything that is not visible to the viewpoint will scaled down to a minimum of details. So if you quickly turnaround the engine first must scale them up to a proper quality. This is currently much more visible than it will be in the final version. The console versions on the other side will take longer to scale up because of the limited RAM.

Not liking that either.

Reeks of crap like Turok 64 on the Nintendo 64. I thought we were long past that 1996 bullshit?
 

limitedaccess

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
7,594
I thought this was always the plan for id tech 5? One of the technology highlights of the engine was that it can scale dynamically to hardware.
 

ShuttleLuv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Messages
7,225
Yes we're aware of that, but ID has always had extreme levels of tweaking / customization and I'm not likling that texture popping bullshit at all. Sounds like kinda a cross between Tresspasser and Turok 64 imo. As long as I get a good view distance on the computer and can move around without seeing blurry textures become sharp it sounds good to me.

I want a timedemo and some tweaking options!
 

SicKlown42012

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 6, 2008
Messages
3,319
Looking at id's past engines, I would be shocked if they didn't allow power users access to advanced engine tweaking through a configuration file.
 

drako

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
2,071
60fps is a higher requirement than I need. 30fps is perfectly fine for me as a baseline value. Let me increase my graphics id!!
 

ShuttleLuv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Messages
7,225
Dude from what that says Drako, you're gonna struggle with 4 gigs or have alot of details missing. I think Rage is one game thats going to benefit more from tons of memory and SSD.
 

krameriffic

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Messages
3,214
60fps is a higher requirement than I need. 30fps is perfectly fine for me as a baseline value. Let me increase my graphics id!!

And 90 is a baseline for me on all previous idtech engines, hence why this system is fucking stupid.
 

drako

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
2,071
Dude from what that says Drako, you're gonna struggle with 4 gigs or have alot of details missing. I think Rage is one game thats going to benefit more from tons of memory and SSD.
Perhaps. All the more reason I'd like to have more graphics options so I can maximize what I can get.
 

ShuttleLuv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Messages
7,225
I'm wondering if someone will mod it for the multi racing elements and make it sorta like twisted metal.
 

TheBuzzer

HACK THE WORLD!
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
12,877
id software said they are going to try to allow for mod tools for it in the future.

but not right away though
 

ScYcS

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
3,960
And I wonder how much carry-on you would do if somebody posted this in your precious BF3 thread, especially when anti-BF3 sentiment is now based on experience whereas your view on Rage is not? Hmmm.


I'd say his statement is just as valid as most of the statements i've read from a certain person who makes thread after thread about Rage and how good it's gonna be.....nevermind the fact that Valshistixol only uses ONE post to say it and that he never even mentioned BF3 just now.
 

Plague_Injected

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
6,621
I'd say his statement is just as valid as most of the statements i've read from a certain person who makes thread after thread about Rage and how good it's gonna be.....nevermind the fact that Valshistixol only uses ONE post to say it and that he never even mentioned BF3 just now.

True..."just as invalid" would be more accurate, since neither person has played Rage yet.
 
Top