Nvidia rtx 3090 discussion

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,900
He says on that page
"Note that the 74x8 strip wouldn't fit in the template, so I split it into two pieces (41x8 and 33x8)"
 

Terje_P

n00b
Joined
Jul 18, 2020
Messages
23
News drivers came out.

GeForce Hotfix display driver version 466.55 is based on our latest Game Ready Driver 466.47.
The hotfix addresses the following issues:
  • [RTX 20 series][GTX 16/10 series][HDMI] 4K @ 120Hz display mode is not available from display settings [3312401]
  • If GPU is connected to a 4K UHD TV, system may freeze when launching a VR game [3313315]
Click the appropriate link to download:
Windows 10 64-bit Standard Driver - Click Here
Windows 10 64-bit DCH Driver - Click Here

https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5196
 

oldmanbal

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
2,594
With mine, I find the coil whine is more prevalent with certain games. Some games have almost no noticeable coil whine. Some it is only noticeable at high frame rates. Then there are the few that like to whine all the time.

For me, RDR2 is the biggest offender in my library. It wants to whine all the time. Watch Dogs Legion and AC: Valhalla I haven’t really noticed it. 3DMark benchmark and Furmark I haven’t really noticed it either. There was a Resident Evil benchmark that if left frame rate uncapped would scream bloody murder but was silent when capped to my refresh rate. I also notice it would whine with some VR games too.

Having said that, I will say the whine has quieted down over the past few months as the card got broken in. It’s not completely silent in those games mentioned above, but it is a lot quieter than what it once was to where it is tolerable now.

What also helps out is to make sure your frame rate is capped to go no higher than the refresh rate of your monitor. Some game menus that would run at several hundred FPS when left uncapped or older games that are not as demanding can cause it to whine. Plus, it puts an unnecessary load on the GPU to work harder to push frames you can’t see.
try capping your framerate to 144hz, whenever there's a 2d screen in a game like the menus, the gpu ramps up to like 3000fps, and that's usually when i hear the coil whine. I use afterburner and the riva tuner utility to set my fps to match my display refresh.
 

VirtualMirage

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
470
try capping your framerate to 144hz, whenever there's a 2d screen in a game like the menus, the gpu ramps up to like 3000fps, and that's usually when i hear the coil whine. I use afterburner and the riva tuner utility to set my fps to match my display refresh.
Not sure why you are quote replying to me with this suggestion. I mentioned that I am already capping my framerates to go no higher than the refresh rate of my monitor (which is 60Hz) and still experienced coil whine with certain games (RDR2, primarily).
 

Light1984

Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
575
I feel vindicated. Grabbed a 3090 FE in January at MSRP. Curbside pickup at Best Buy. Felt like a tool at the time for spending so much but seeing what a fiasco 3080ti is, I think the early 3090 adopters made the right call.
They hate us cause the ain't us...
 

lobstar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
285
They hate us cause the ain't us...
Honestly, I'm still super happy about my FTW3U at the original MSRP. You guys got the better deal money wise with the FE but I'm enjoying tinkering with different BIOS configs. I also got the Optimus water block which was a big positive for me since they don't produce for every board out there. Between this and my 5950x this year has really resparked my love of PC tinkering all things considered.
 

philb2

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 26, 2021
Messages
386
Honestly, I'm still super happy about my FTW3U at the original MSRP. You guys got the better deal money wise with the FE but I'm enjoying tinkering with different BIOS configs. I also got the Optimus water block which was a big positive for me since they don't produce for every board out there. Between this and my 5950x this year has really resparked my love of PC tinkering all things considered.
Are you saying that FE cards don't have the same BIOS options as AIBs?
 

lobstar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
285
Are you saying that FE cards don't have the same BIOS options as AIBs?
I may be wrong but it's my understanding that FE cards don't support AIB bios options like the KPE 520w/1kw and the like. Happy to be wrong here since I don't own one and have only been reading about them in other forums. On my FTW3U I can run pretty much any bios since its a reference board and I have the dual bios switch. If something goes wrong I just flip it and reboot to stock.

Edit: This post talks about the 3080FE but I assume it applies to other FE as well. https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/jsiu0o/has_anyone_tried_flashing_to_a_different_bios_on/
 
Last edited:

supastar1568

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
453
Same. I was so fortunate to grab a 3090 FE for under MSRP back in November. Zero regrets and very grateful to be able to do so :)
 

Light1984

Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
575
In the same boat as you brother. Got the FTW3U (updated PCB from evga through the 3090OC) email. Still can't hit 500W though, but not pulling over 80 on pcie anymore so I'm happy. Putting my Optimus block on this weekend. Nervous about it though. Was it a simple install? Going to try KP520 bios after water block.
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,705
If anyone is still in queue for the 3090 hydrocopper (or any evga card for that matter) be sure to use an associate code but if you know another evga associate member, give them some support!) to save 3%. I feel like a lot of people don't know that you can save 3% that easily, and when the cards are as much as they are, every bit helps!

Anyway, I'm planning to do a video on thermal pad replacement soon on my 3090. I will drop a link once it is on youtube if anyone wants to check it out. There is some contradicting info about thermal pad thicknesses so I am hoping to resolve that by measuring the originals.
 
Last edited:

lobstar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
285
In the same boat as you brother. Got the FTW3U (updated PCB from evga through the 3090OC) email. Still can't hit 500W though, but not pulling over 80 on pcie anymore so I'm happy. Putting my Optimus block on this weekend. Nervous about it though. Was it a simple install? Going to try KP520 bios after water block.

The hardest part was getting the old cooler off. Use a toothbrush and 90% or higher iso to clean off all the old thermal pad and TIM. I used a piece of plastic from my motherboard packaging to spread a very thin layer of thermal paste across the die and the cold plate. Torque the screws as tight as you can since that back plate thermal pad has a lot of squish to it. The screws will bottom out so no need to worry about over-torque (just don't go stupid and strip stuff out). I would suggest applying the thermal pads to the card and not the block. When I torqued the screws I used a book to compress the card and block together to get the tightest fit possible but I'm not sure that is necessary. It's a very heavy block so if you plan on the card being horizontal in your case definitely get a brace to hold it up.

I'm running the KPE520w bios daily with +100 available voltage, +105/+1448 and rarely notice issues in games. When I do I just back off the core in increments of 15 until its stable. The memory will go as high as 1648 but it brings the core clocks down in quite a few games so I don't bother. Good luck!
 

supastar1568

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
453
For sure I'm preaching to the choir here, but this whole thing is irritating me, actually mostly because it's keeping people out of the hobby. I remember as a "kid" coughing up $339.99 at the Egg in 2006 for an X1900XT. $339.99 in 2006 is equivalent to $450 in today's money...for a just about high-end card. Try to get that tier of card today for $450...
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,705
For sure I'm preaching to the choir here, but this whole thing is irritating me, actually mostly because it's keeping people out of the hobby. I remember as a "kid" coughing up $339.99 at the Egg in 2006 for an X1900XT. $339.99 in 2006 is equivalent to $450 in today's money...for a just about high-end card. Try to get that tier of card today for $450...
in fairness, the GPU has become a much more powerful and important component in a PC, for gaming as well as everything else. Flagship CPUs were $1000 but weren't that much faster than lower end stuff (unlike today were expensive cpus are loaded with cores, and don't really affect gaming past a certain point)

all that being said, in a perfect world, a 3060 Ti for $399 is an amazing value to gamers. If it were available, the higher end stuff wouldn't be selling as much.
 

philb2

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 26, 2021
Messages
386
[ ...]

all that being said, in a perfect world, a 3060 Ti for $399 is an amazing value to gamers. If it were available, the higher end stuff wouldn't be selling as much.
I know, I know. I'm on the EVGA notify list for this board. It's all I need and frankly, all that I can justify spending.
 

oldmanbal

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
2,594
https://www.evga.com/EVGA/GeneralDownloading.aspx?file=EVGA_Precision_X1_1.1.8.0.zip

The new Precision X1 enables Resizable BAR support for their 3-series cards. Saw this link in their forums (it doesn't seem to have been officially announced yet), and it does appear to work. Performance is no different on my end after enabling it, though.

I wouldn't expect it to on high-end systems.
So Resizable Bar performance can only be measured on a per game basis. There will be different performance in every title and you would have to benchmark with and without to see what kind of benefit (or loss) you see with it enabled. I benchmarked a few different titles just to test is out and this is a sample of what I experienced:

Most games were maxed out settings at 1440p, on a 5600x running at 4.3ghz all cores at the lowest voltage I could push without crashing my pc. It's summer and these 5xxx chips already idle way too hot.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider: no difference - maybe less than 1% lower if not a run to run variance.

Heaven Benchmark: no difference - maybe .05% lower but again could be run variances.

Forza Horizon 4: This is a title where I saw a noticeable improvement:
AVG: FROM 188.0 to 200.5
MIN: FROM 160.8 to 168.4
MAX: FROM 228.6 to 242.7
LAT: FROM 16.9 to 15.8

So you can see it will really come down to what games can benefit from it. It's possible that in the future developers will be able to leverage this for some performance boost, but I'd really be more interested in there being the nvme memory tech integrated into games first, similar to PS5. That would be more game changing than a few more % here and there on an already smokin fast machine.
 

GoodBoy

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
2,183
Is this the exact Micro fit 3.0 receptacle that you need to build your own 12 pin PCIE cable for FE cards?

https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Molex/43025-1208?qs=rg3U/5nEhHdiW0ROllnE5g==

( )

I bought mine from Amazon, had the plugs on the PSU side to fit my seasonic PSU. For awhile seasonic was giving them away if you owned one of their PSU's but that has ended and back when I was looking, you couldn't even order it.

But to answer your question, yes that is the correct one, a molex microfit 3.0, 12 circuit.
 
Last edited:
Top