NVIDIA Releases Firmware Update For Displayport 1.3 and 1.4

rgMekanic

[H]ard|News
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
4,976
Nvidia has released a firmware update tool to enable the latest DisplayPort 1.3 / 1.4 features. Nvidia states:

Without the update, systems that are connected to a DisplayPort 1.3 / 1.4 monitor could experience blank screens on boot until the OS loads, or could experience a hang on boot.

The post from Nvidia gives some workarounds for users that are experiencing a hang on boot or blank screen with a DisplayPort 1.3 or 1.4 monitor in order to be able to run the update tool. As a note, we would not suggest doing the update unless it is needed. Thanks to cageymaru for the story.
 

Stimpy88

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 18, 2004
Messages
1,271
Well, just tried to update my GTX970, and the tool said that the update was required, then when I tried to perform the update, it quit with an error telling me that it could not update the card... No actual error details... Hmmmm nice

nverror.png


I tried updating with no drivers installed, and tried updating to the latest drivers, no change...

I bet it's to do with the BIOS on my card being modded... Bloody nVidia.

BTW, does anyone know what this tool is actually flashing? Is it flashing a totally new BIOS, or patching a part of the existing BIOS, or something else, another chip?
 
Last edited:

blandead

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
280
Interesting so even though gtx 970/980 specs say dp 1.2 connectors this makes them dp 1.3/1.4 connectors?
 

WheresWaldo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
182
upload_2018-6-7_7-21-26.png


This is all the information you get if the update is required.

upload_2018-6-7_7-22-50.png

And this is what it says after an update is complete. There are a lot of screen flickers and resolution changes during the update. My monitor which was connected at the time is running off the DisplayPort. I performed the update on an Aorus 1080Ti Extreme WB Edition.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
22,819
Interesting so even though gtx 970/980 specs say dp 1.2 connectors this makes them dp 1.3/1.4 connectors?
As far as I'm aware all DisplayPort is electrically the same, and it's the endpoint devices that determine which version it operates at. So I'm assuming that, yes, this update allows the DisplayPorts on the Maxwell cards to operate with 1.3/1.4 features if it is connected to a display supporting the same version.
Well, just tried to update my GTX970, and the tool said that the update was required, then when I tried to perform the update, it quit with an error telling me that it could not update the card... No actual error details... Hmmmm nice

View attachment 79263

I tried updating with no drivers installed, and tried updating to the latest drivers, no change...

I bet it's to do with the BIOS on my card being modded... Bloody nVidia.

BTW, does anyone know what this tool is actually flashing? Is it flashing a totally new BIOS, or patching a part of the existing BIOS, or something else, another chip?
It's not part of the VBIOS, but the tool is probably running a checksum against it to see if it's safe to proceed. You won't need the update if you're not connecting to a display with DisplayPort 1.3 or 1.4, anyway. This update was primarily put out to support the new G-Sync HDR displays.
 

BloodyIron

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
3,439
Ahhh, following the Microsoft Update methods I see, interesting...

Well, just tried to update my GTX970, and the tool said that the update was required, then when I tried to perform the update, it quit with an error telling me that it could not update the card... No actual error details... Hmmmm nice

View attachment 79263

I tried updating with no drivers installed, and tried updating to the latest drivers, no change...

I bet it's to do with the BIOS on my card being modded... Bloody nVidia.

BTW, does anyone know what this tool is actually flashing? Is it flashing a totally new BIOS, or patching a part of the existing BIOS, or something else, another chip?
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,707
never came across this issue
I have this issue with my LG 34" and GTX960 in my Dual Xeon machine.
I hardly ever reboot the machine and haven't needed to go into BIOS so it hasn't been a problem for me.

The screen stays black until the Windows logon pops up on my setup.
 

DesertCat

Gawd
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
565
Glad they finally addressed this. I have a Gigabyte 1060 6GB model hooked up to an Acer Predator 27" G-sync monitor. With my old monitor hooked up by DVI, I never had boot issues. As soon as I hooked up the Acer using Displayport, I started to run into random black screens (no signal) when booting into Windows 10. Sometimes it would work fine and then other times it would essentially be unresponsive. I would typically have to hit the reset button and reboot when that occurred (sometimes needing to scan files for corruption after doing it). I don't think it ever failed to boot properly once I hit reset. I thought it was some sort of "warm up" issue between the monitor and the vid card. I was always hoping that new display drivers would fix the problem. Guess the issue went deeper than that.
 

quikt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
173
I have this issue with my LG 34" and GTX960 in my Dual Xeon machine.
I hardly ever reboot the machine and haven't needed to go into BIOS so it hasn't been a problem for me.

The screen stays black until the Windows logon pops up on my setup.

I too have had this issue on my LG 34" and 970. Always thought it was my ASUS board, as the black screen issue would happen after a BIOS update. Look forward to testing after work
 

Shikami

Gawd
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
727
Interesting so even though gtx 970/980 specs say dp 1.2 connectors this makes them dp 1.3/1.4 connectors?

I guess the other question(s) is what version do you have after update? If you have the latter, does it become the newer, or the newest? For example, 1.2 updated to 1.3? 1.2 to 1.4, etc. I am assuming that on the 980 it is to updated to version 1.3 and 1070 to version 1.4, but I could be absolutely incorrect in my assumption.

Or this could be the biggest compromise scam ever made!!!
 

panhead

Gawd
Joined
Dec 19, 2003
Messages
902
I guess the other question(s) is what version do you have after update? If you have the latter, does it become the newer, or the newest? For example, 1.2 updated to 1.3? 1.2 to 1.4, etc. I am assuming that on the 980 it is to updated to version 1.3 and 1070 to version 1.4, but I could be absolutely incorrect in my assumption.

Or this could be the biggest compromise scam ever made!!!

DisplayPort cables and ports may have either a "full-size" connector or a "mini" connector. These connectors differ only in physical shape—the capabilites of DisplayPort are the same regardless of which connector is used. Using a Mini DisplayPort connector does not affect performance or feature support of the connection.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DisplayPort
 

dburgo

n00b
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
48
I updated to the firmware and now I am having issues with my Oculus connected by a passive hdmi to display port adapter. Is there any way to revert this update? I have the evga FTW 1080. Edit: It now works only with the 1st DP.
 

Tekara

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
1,962
Failed to update my 980 Ti, will keep an eye on things though.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
7,350
On a dual UEFI card, does this update both or do I have to update both manually?
 

bboynitrous

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
2,512
Wow. Every so often I get a blank screen and kept thinking it could possibly be my Ryzen system with bad ram or board combo so I would turn off the system off and on until it worked. System is completely stable otherwise so this may explain it. I run display port with an MSi 1070. Maybe it's worth upgrading the firmware.
 

NKD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
8,163
updated mine a few days ago. Really easy process.
 

davidm71

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 11, 2004
Messages
1,516
I tried this on my Evga 980Ti Kingpins that had already modded 6 mos ago with newer Gops and altered fan profiles connected via displayport onto an Acer XB271HU and it said it was already upto date.
 

sphinx99

Gawd
Joined
Dec 23, 2006
Messages
828
Sorry to resurrect an old thread but this fix solved a lot of glitchy behavior (blank screens, VGA adapter errors in POST, multi display sync issues) on my TR3 system with a 1080 ever since I added a high refresh rate Asus display. I had not even been aware of this and stumbled across it accidentally, so I wanted to bump this in case others are in the same boat as I.
 

Burticus

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
4,339
Sorry to resurrect an old thread but this fix solved a lot of glitchy behavior (blank screens, VGA adapter errors in POST, multi display sync issues) on my TR3 system with a 1080 ever since I added a high refresh rate Asus display. I had not even been aware of this and stumbled across it accidentally, so I wanted to bump this in case others are in the same boat as I.
Hey I am glad you did otherwise I would not have known about it. The link is broken but I just googled 1080ti displayport firmware update and it found it. Hopefully this fixes some of random black screens on my monitor.
 
Top