NVIDIA Releases Firmware Update For Displayport 1.3 and 1.4

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by rgMekanic, Jun 6, 2018.

  1. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,937
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Nvidia has released a firmware update tool to enable the latest DisplayPort 1.3 / 1.4 features. Nvidia states:

    Without the update, systems that are connected to a DisplayPort 1.3 / 1.4 monitor could experience blank screens on boot until the OS loads, or could experience a hang on boot.

    The post from Nvidia gives some workarounds for users that are experiencing a hang on boot or blank screen with a DisplayPort 1.3 or 1.4 monitor in order to be able to run the update tool. As a note, we would not suggest doing the update unless it is needed. Thanks to cageymaru for the story.
     
    CrimsonKnight13, Armenius and DejaWiz like this.
  2. Elf_Boy

    Elf_Boy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,351
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Anyone use it yet?
     
  3. KingGlade

    KingGlade [H]Lite

    Messages:
    105
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Just used it. It said that I'm already up to date and it worked just like when you're updating your GPU drivers.
     
  4. panhead

    panhead Gawd

    Messages:
    902
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Just updated my GTX 980 successfully. When you run the tool it displays if you need the update and allows you to update or exit.
     
  5. Stimpy88

    Stimpy88 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Well, just tried to update my GTX970, and the tool said that the update was required, then when I tried to perform the update, it quit with an error telling me that it could not update the card... No actual error details... Hmmmm nice

    nverror.png

    I tried updating with no drivers installed, and tried updating to the latest drivers, no change...

    I bet it's to do with the BIOS on my card being modded... Bloody nVidia.

    BTW, does anyone know what this tool is actually flashing? Is it flashing a totally new BIOS, or patching a part of the existing BIOS, or something else, another chip?
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2018
  6. blandead

    blandead Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    219
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Interesting so even though gtx 970/980 specs say dp 1.2 connectors this makes them dp 1.3/1.4 connectors?
     
  7. Shikami

    Shikami Gawd

    Messages:
    653
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    1070FE and 980 updated successfully
     
    Armenius likes this.
  8. WheresWaldo

    WheresWaldo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    upload_2018-6-7_7-21-26.png

    This is all the information you get if the update is required.

    upload_2018-6-7_7-22-50.png
    And this is what it says after an update is complete. There are a lot of screen flickers and resolution changes during the update. My monitor which was connected at the time is running off the DisplayPort. I performed the update on an Aorus 1080Ti Extreme WB Edition.
     
    heatlesssun, Armenius and Fuzzy_3D like this.
  9. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,526
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    As far as I'm aware all DisplayPort is electrically the same, and it's the endpoint devices that determine which version it operates at. So I'm assuming that, yes, this update allows the DisplayPorts on the Maxwell cards to operate with 1.3/1.4 features if it is connected to a display supporting the same version.
    It's not part of the VBIOS, but the tool is probably running a checksum against it to see if it's safe to proceed. You won't need the update if you're not connecting to a display with DisplayPort 1.3 or 1.4, anyway. This update was primarily put out to support the new G-Sync HDR displays.
     
  10. BloodyIron

    BloodyIron 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,440
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Ahhh, following the Microsoft Update methods I see, interesting...

     
    Stimpy88 and LightsOut41 like this.
  11. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,089
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    never came across this issue
     
  12. ZorinInc

    ZorinInc n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Titan X (Maxwell) updated successfully. Things seem... snappier?
     
    Armenius likes this.
  13. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,890
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I have this issue with my LG 34" and GTX960 in my Dual Xeon machine.
    I hardly ever reboot the machine and haven't needed to go into BIOS so it hasn't been a problem for me.

    The screen stays black until the Windows logon pops up on my setup.
     
    Armenius and antok86 like this.
  14. DesertCat

    DesertCat Gawd

    Messages:
    565
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Glad they finally addressed this. I have a Gigabyte 1060 6GB model hooked up to an Acer Predator 27" G-sync monitor. With my old monitor hooked up by DVI, I never had boot issues. As soon as I hooked up the Acer using Displayport, I started to run into random black screens (no signal) when booting into Windows 10. Sometimes it would work fine and then other times it would essentially be unresponsive. I would typically have to hit the reset button and reboot when that occurred (sometimes needing to scan files for corruption after doing it). I don't think it ever failed to boot properly once I hit reset. I thought it was some sort of "warm up" issue between the monitor and the vid card. I was always hoping that new display drivers would fix the problem. Guess the issue went deeper than that.
     
  15. quikt

    quikt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    I too have had this issue on my LG 34" and 970. Always thought it was my ASUS board, as the black screen issue would happen after a BIOS update. Look forward to testing after work
     
  16. Shikami

    Shikami Gawd

    Messages:
    653
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    I guess the other question(s) is what version do you have after update? If you have the latter, does it become the newer, or the newest? For example, 1.2 updated to 1.3? 1.2 to 1.4, etc. I am assuming that on the 980 it is to updated to version 1.3 and 1070 to version 1.4, but I could be absolutely incorrect in my assumption.

    Or this could be the biggest compromise scam ever made!!!
     
  17. panhead

    panhead Gawd

    Messages:
    902
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    DisplayPort cables and ports may have either a "full-size" connector or a "mini" connector. These connectors differ only in physical shape—the capabilites of DisplayPort are the same regardless of which connector is used. Using a Mini DisplayPort connector does not affect performance or feature support of the connection.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DisplayPort
     
  18. Jovian

    Jovian Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    As I expected, the tool does not apply to mobile chipsets.

    qMBU6XG.png
     
    heatlesssun likes this.
  19. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    That's what I got when I tried it on my Surface Book 2 15".
     
  20. dburgo

    dburgo n00b

    Messages:
    40
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    I updated to the firmware and now I am having issues with my Oculus connected by a passive hdmi to display port adapter. Is there any way to revert this update? I have the evga FTW 1080. Edit: It now works only with the 1st DP.
     
  21. Tekara

    Tekara [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,950
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Failed to update my 980 Ti, will keep an eye on things though.
     
  22. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,606
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    1080Ti updated. Not sure what if anything to expect.
     
  23. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,070
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    On a dual UEFI card, does this update both or do I have to update both manually?
     
  24. bboynitrous

    bboynitrous 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Wow. Every so often I get a blank screen and kept thinking it could possibly be my Ryzen system with bad ram or board combo so I would turn off the system off and on until it worked. System is completely stable otherwise so this may explain it. I run display port with an MSi 1070. Maybe it's worth upgrading the firmware.
     
  25. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,713
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    updated mine a few days ago. Really easy process.
     
  26. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,070
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    I had to update both. Just FYI for anyone that's curious.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  27. davidm71

    davidm71 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    I tried this on my Evga 980Ti Kingpins that had already modded 6 mos ago with newer Gops and altered fan profiles connected via displayport onto an Acer XB271HU and it said it was already upto date.
     
  28. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,526
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    It says as much on the download page.
    upload_2018-6-8_11-0-20.png

    Mobile chipsets always say (Notebooks).
    upload_2018-6-8_11-1-13.png
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  29. Shikami

    Shikami Gawd

    Messages:
    653
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    IdiotInCharge and Stimpy88 like this.
  30. Stimpy88

    Stimpy88 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004