NVIDIA quietly introduces the GeForce GT 1010 — A Pascal GP108 GPU with 256 CUDA cores, 2 GB GDDR5 VRAM, and 55 W TDP

At work I do, on breaks. Why, thinking of using one of these to power a TV in card like back in the day?

they still exist, they're just usb now. I've been using mine mostly for nfl for six years now, and never once thought about going back to paid tv..

Or you could just buy a shield tv or atv4k. Who uses HTPC's any longer?

Why do I need a specialized device to do the job of a computer that I already have when the computer is already more flexible and not tied to any specific platform? Then again I guess if you just watch streaming services maybe it's different. I mainly access my very large offline collection of x264/x265 movies.

Do they do a much better jobs than the plex app and co. of a regular smart tv ? I could imagine them being much faster considering the price point and the shield TV more able to not need the server to ever do any work ?

Do they do a much better jobs than the plex app and co. of a regular smart tv ? I could imagine them being much faster considering the price point and the shield TV more able to not need the server to ever do any work ?