Nvidia GeForce GTX TITAN X Owners Club

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,187
Same boat as you:

My GTX 680 going back in its box.
http://i.imgur.com/svpbhsx.jpg

With the backplate installed, the Titan X is quite a piece of art.
http://i.imgur.com/wZh8dU5.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/P0rWET4.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/VwtVGlv.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/ZFUT63S.jpg

841 watts of power while running Unigine Heaven Benchmark 4.0
http://i.imgur.com/yTGCejI.jpg
Using two SLI bridges? You only need one with 2-way SLI, unless you added the second so it looks symmetrical.
 

pandora's box

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
4,733
Good info. Is the install of the hybrid pretty painless? Also does it void the warranty or it fine if everything is EVGA branded?

There's a ton of screws to remove, beyond that it's pretty easy. You will need a torx screw driver with several different sized heads. I had to go out and buy a T6 torx head (very small). As far as warranty goes - it remains intact, you just have to reinstall the stock cooler before a RMA.
 

bigbeard86

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
291
has anyone used the g10 bracket on the titan x?

It is supposed to fit fine, but, what heatsinks would you use to properly cool the vrm and vram?
 

tyty123

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
184
i've noticed a few graphical glitches in my games like textures not properly loading every now and then... :/
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,187
i've noticed a few graphical glitches in my games like textures not properly loading every now and then... :/
In which games? What is the rest of your system like? Which driver version are you using?
 

Dayaks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
8,437
What is with the extremely vague posts in this thread... (Talking about the texture post and others)

Anywho if you can get a evga AIO hybrid cooler over the g10 I'd do it. I had a g10 on my 980 and it worked... Always had a fear a heatsink would come loose and no good way to monitor temps. I feel a lot better with full cover blocks on my Titan X's or I'd feel just as good with the evga AIO.
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
10,602
The NZXT G10 might already fit the Titan X.
Corsair's ripoff is crap since it's only compatible with a few specific GPU's.
 

bigbeard86

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
291
They do. Just need some heatsinks.

Yes, i already knew that. But what heatsinks would be optimal for the vrm and vrams?

I already own two g10 brackets for my watercooled 290s, with heatsinks on vrm and vram and it is utterly amazing. I just wouldn't want to toast the vrm on the titan, and would like to find out what heatsinks would be optimal for it, sicne the 290 vrm heatsinks were specifically designed to fit on my card.
 

tyty123

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
184
In which games? What is the rest of your system like? Which driver version are you using?

few games i've seen this occur are gta v, heroes of the storm, and civ 5... its not always and it seems to occur when i run some of these games in windowed or borderless mode while alt tabbing...

Im assuming the primary cause is because Im running SLI and its either sli, driver related, or game related..

driver version is 350.12

my cpu is a 5960x @ 4.6 and i have enough ram
 

The_Controller

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
122
Yes, i already knew that. But what heatsinks would be optimal for the vrm and vrams?

I already own two g10 brackets for my watercooled 290s, with heatsinks on vrm and vram and it is utterly amazing. I just wouldn't want to toast the vrm on the titan, and would like to find out what heatsinks would be optimal for it, sicne the 290 vrm heatsinks were specifically designed to fit on my card.

There's a pack of aluminum micro heatsinks you have to wait to come from China on Amazon. Someone used those for the VRMs on TX with a G10. And the same company makes copper RAM sinks with thermal adhesive on the back.

I'm without heatsinks for now. I never believed in them. Unless it is a full coverage block with direct cooling, I don't know what a little piece of copper is supposed to do unless you are rigging a fan to blow directly on the RAM or something to blow away the heat.

I mean if NV left the backside RAM chips bare, you can't tell me that plastic housing is supposed to dissipate any heat inside the stock cooler. The heat just gets spread all around and it just radiates from the back as much as out the rear of the case. Nice looking coolers but weak for $1000 bucks. AMD has it right with the watercooler / fan HSF combo standard.
 

Dayaks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
8,437
There's a pack of aluminum micro heatsinks you have to wait to come from China on Amazon. Someone used those for the VRMs on TX with a G10. And the same company makes copper RAM sinks with thermal adhesive on the back.

I'm without heatsinks for now. I never believed in them. Unless it is a full coverage block with direct cooling, I don't know what a little piece of copper is supposed to do unless you are rigging a fan to blow directly on the RAM or something to blow away the heat.

I mean if NV left the backside RAM chips bare, you can't tell me that plastic housing is supposed to dissipate any heat inside the stock cooler. The heat just gets spread all around and it just radiates from the back as much as out the rear of the case. Nice looking coolers but weak for $1000 bucks. AMD has it right with the watercooler / fan HSF combo standard.

The VRAM you're probably right about. The VRMS I like to cool with heatsinks, especially if you're overclocking.

Newegg has heatsinks, just try typing in "mosfet heatsink" or "ram heatsink" and you'll get little heatsinks of different sizes. I used a non-conductive, non-capacity thermal epoxy by Artic Silver to attach them since I didnt' want them to fall off... ever... if you only use a little bit I am sure you could put the reference cooler back on one day to resell it. Overall it took ~30 minutes.
 

Dawill

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
397
There's a ton of screws to remove, beyond that it's pretty easy. You will need a torx screw driver with several different sized heads. I had to go out and buy a T6 torx head (very small). As far as warranty goes - it remains intact, you just have to reinstall the stock cooler before a RMA.

Card is still in the mail but I went ahead and ordered the hybrid cooler and backplate from amazon. Looks like it's all backordered. So who knows when I'll get it. However I prefer the pre-order ability than the auto-notify of evga's site.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,187
few games i've seen this occur are gta v, heroes of the storm, and civ 5... its not always and it seems to occur when i run some of these games in windowed or borderless mode while alt tabbing...

Im assuming the primary cause is because Im running SLI and its either sli, driver related, or game related..

driver version is 350.12

my cpu is a 5960x @ 4.6 and i have enough ram
I heard that GTA V in particular has problems in general while running in any kind of windowed mode (window, borderless "fullscreen," etc.). I would first see if running fullscreen alleviates any of the problem.

Since this is [H] I'm going to assume you have a good PSU.
 

bigbeard86

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
291
The VRAM you're probably right about. The VRMS I like to cool with heatsinks, especially if you're overclocking.

Newegg has heatsinks, just try typing in "mosfet heatsink" or "ram heatsink" and you'll get little heatsinks of different sizes. I used a non-conductive, non-capacity thermal epoxy by Artic Silver to attach them since I didnt' want them to fall off... ever... if you only use a little bit I am sure you could put the reference cooler back on one day to resell it. Overall it took ~30 minutes.

thanks for the advice...would it be possible to post links, and how many vrm heatsinks and vram heatsinks you had to buy?
 

Dawill

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
397

Already gone again. I was tempted to get mine via amazon, but with taxes, newegg's markup was actually cheaper. I payed the 1090 for the sc and they had free shipping and 3% off coupon. So it was $27 markup but free shipping and no taxes.

Newegg keeps throwing the 3% up every few days it seems. As I saw it last week sometime then it disappear again.
 

x3sphere

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
2,726
I recommend signing up for NewEgg business, they give some $99 off $999 promo codes every month or so. I got my EVGA SC for a little less than MSRP thanks to that.
 

tyty123

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
184
I heard that GTA V in particular has problems in general while running in any kind of windowed mode (window, borderless "fullscreen," etc.). I would first see if running fullscreen alleviates any of the problem.

Since this is [H] I'm going to assume you have a good PSU.

Yup i have a decent psu and im running win 8.1

Running full screen and not alt tabbing may prevent the subtle texture issue I have, but its unrealistic for me to not alt tab while running games.. I can live with it and cross my fingers for sli profiles/drivers to resolve it in due time...
 

Dayaks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
8,437
thanks for the advice...would it be possible to post links, and how many vrm heatsinks and vram heatsinks you had to buy?

Ehhh for the VRMs I mainly used the LN2 heatsinks that came with my mobo.... might want to check ebay for cheap heatsinks. The cheap ones on Newegg took like two weeks to arrive, unless you're good with that. I actually retrofitted a 980 that I gifted to a relative when I bought my two Titan X's. For some really small things I actually used case screws. Screws actually make good heat sinks... might be a little Ghetto but I'm more a functionality (engineer) type of guy.

If it helps this is the non-conductive non-capacitive thermal epoxy I used:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100013
Others use double sided tape but I didn't like the idea of a heatsink potentially falling off.

The heatsinks are no longer available, so that resolves that. Don't forget the G10 bracket actually gives you a decent amount of space between the bracket and the card for heatsinks. I have 7mm's stuck in my head but it may be more. http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/86829-nzxt-kraken-g10-compatibility-questions/ That link said 5-10mm's. The VRMs stick up a little so that's likely more towards the 5mm.

Here's the manual for the EK full cover block if you want to count stuff. As others said the memory is likely not required, they don't bother on the back of the card for the ref cooler. http://www.ekwb.com/shop/EK-IM/EK-IM-3831109830550.pdf
 

Dawill

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
397
I am still trying to find a EVGA Hybrid cooler to put on my Titan X

I just ordered the hybrid cooler on amazon today. It says 1-2months backorder. However I just got an update a few minutes ago that says it's preparing for shipment and it'll be here friday. Additionally the backplates are in stock at evga and I ordered that and I already have tracking # and it will be here on friday as well.

Long story short, order the hybrid from amazon, ignore the 1-2month date and the backplate (if you want it) is in stock at evga.com now.
 

phorkz

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 5, 2012
Messages
368
I just ordered the hybrid cooler on amazon today. It says 1-2months backorder. However I just got an update a few minutes ago that says it's preparing for shipment and it'll be here friday. Additionally the backplates are in stock at evga and I ordered that and I already have tracking # and it will be here on friday as well.

Long story short, order the hybrid from amazon, ignore the 1-2month date and the backplate (if you want it) is in stock at evga.com now.

thanks, backplate worth getting for temps?
 

lee0539

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
1,804
I think everyone who bought a titan x will say it was totally worth it when they play witcher 3. And everyone who is waiting for 980 ti or 390X will be crying that the game isn't as beautiful and smooth for them. Although anyone who bought titan x probably had the extra funds regardless.
 

Dayaks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
8,437
I've been running SLI at 1366/7800 for about a week and a had no problems. Stock voltage. I was bench marking at 1502/8000. Dialed it way back so I don't have to worry about the kids games crashing. The weather's been so nice we've barely been inside to use it. I also don't have a game I can't lock at 60 FPS maxed out w/ current clocks.
 
Last edited:

Dawill

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
397
thanks, backplate worth getting for temps?

It supposedly lowers it a tiny bit. They advertise up to 3c. It's $20 and makes the card more stable/rigid and protects the back of the card from misc cables coming in contact. So I got one. It also makes the card look a lot higher end. I don't have a window, but it's good to know that my card looks fancy inside a closed black box :).

If I have the time I might do some quick benchmarking of memory temp differences, but no promises.
 

usihb

n00b
Joined
Mar 24, 2006
Messages
30
I got two from Nvidia.com, and have them 'under water' with the EK blocks.
They don't O/C too well - best I can do (stock voltage) is 210/300 O/C vith the MSI afterburner.

ASIC quality is a little uneven - 70% on one, 80% on the other.
No idea if that makes any difference for O/C though.
 

Shogon

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
374
thanks, backplate worth getting for temps?
It's lower temps a bit, and for $20 or so it's isn't a complete waste and makes the card look a bit nicer. The memory chips do get hot though and I'd spring for the slightly lower temps. When I bought my block I bought the backplate (EK) as well. Just wish I had more high quality Fuji pads for it.
so what's everyone's highest stable core clock?
I'm netting 1513-1531 MHz core and 8 GHz memory on mine. I am using an aftermarket bios that raises the core voltage to 1.255v. I may flash it back to the stock bios BUT with the increased power target so I don't run into power throttling issues. It doesn't happen so much on games but it fluctuates sometimes and that's why I've been using an aftermarket bios with increased power target. Plus I'm on water so I can do this, on air I'd be very hesitant.
I would advise people to wait until EVGA Titan X's come into stock. ASUS warranty is pretty unreliable so if you're spending that kind of cash on a video card, go with a brand you can depend on.
Well thing is I think Asus has a sticker on the screws that if it's punctured it voids your warranty. I may be mistaken of course but I agree EVGA is a little nicer in that regard so long as you don't damage the card.
I got two from Nvidia.com, and have them 'under water' with the EK blocks.
They don't O/C too well - best I can do (stock voltage) is 210/300 O/C vith the MSI afterburner.

ASIC quality is a little uneven - 70% on one, 80% on the other.
No idea if that makes any difference for O/C though.
You're probably north of 1400 MHz or so with those speeds which isn't half bad. The difference between somewhere in the 1400 MHz and 1500 MHz isn't much at all, maybe another frame or 2. If your memory can handle more I'd try for +400-+450 MHz or so but I'd say those are good cards.

My card is Nvidia also and it boosted to 1215 MHz or so at stock speeds. And I don't think ASIC quality means anything in reality. I've seen Titans (the old original Titan from 2 years ago) with low ASIC's overclock better than some of the higher % ASIC's I had. It really depends on the core and memory more than the ASIC.
 

Dayaks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
8,437
I'm netting 1513-1531 MHz core and 8 GHz memory on mine. I am using an aftermarket bios that raises the core voltage to 1.255v. I may flash it back to the stock bios BUT with the increased power target so I don't run into power throttling issues. It doesn't happen so much on games but it fluctuates sometimes and that's why I've been using an aftermarket bios with increased power target. Plus I'm on water so I can do this, on air I'd be very hesitant.


Yeah on air upping voltage it gets loud pretty quick. The increased power target is especially useful on SLI. Before I flashed my cards I hit TDP limit and in SLI they went absolutely ape shit from a frame time perspective. That's an awesome stable OC. I'm hoping to get above 1500 Mhz stable but I don't have time to tweak right now & I want to make my own BIOs again... need some time.
 

NotJay

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
2,662
I'm netting 1513-1531 MHz core and 8 GHz memory on mine. I am using an aftermarket bios that raises the core voltage to 1.255v.

.

mine goes up to 1391 hmz core clock with stock voltage of 1.168v and i can do +500 on memory but i have it set @ +494 to make it exactly 8 ghz :p
highest i could get it stable was like 1460 with 1.23v or so but i saw pretty much no difference in my gaming experience compared to 1391
 

BusyBeaverHP

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
432
Another shot of my tower of power :)

SIb3Ya3.jpg
 
Top