Nvidia GeForce GTX Titan 3-way/4-way SLI review incl. 5760x1080 and frametimes

Final8ty

Gawd
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
1,001
How do two, three and four GTX Titans perform?

By Koen Crijns, Saturday March 2, 2013 12:58 AM

Introduction

Yesterday we published our comprehensive review of the new Nividia GeForce GTX Titan graphics card, but it lacked one important item. How do two, three and four Titans perform together? We tested all SLI combinations, including 5760x1080 and frametime tests, and compared the results to GeForce GTX 690 Quad-SLI.

Nvidia itself only mentions SLI and 3-way SLI, and indicated that 4-way SLI would not be possible with the GTX Titan. However, the Nvidia-sponsored overclocker Kingpin has already posted 3DMark scores with four Titan cards on HWbot.org. We of course had to try our own 4-way SLI configuration, and we're happy to report that it's definitely possible.

And despite the rather steep pricetag of $1,000, Nvidia is aiming this graphics card at the type of gamers who would buy two or three of these. The similarly priced dual-GPU GeForce GTX 690 performs about the same as the GTX Titan, but is louder, uses more power and is limited to SLI (so not three or four cards). Since you can combine three or even four Titans, you're able to get more performance out of the Titans than you can with two GTX 690s.

You obviously don't need this much graphical power for most things, but we've come up with a few extreme scenarios where a second, third or even fourth Titan can be very useful. (Read: Crysis 3!)
http://us.hardware.info/reviews/403...-way-sli-review-incl-5760x1080-and-frametimes
 

Brackle

Old Timer
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
7,921
Pretty shitty on Nvidia's part about 4way SLI...You would think they would be on the ball, specially if you just spend $4000 on video cards.

but MOTHER OF GOD look at the multimonitor performance!!!!

P.S. Looks like 2xtitans cant run crysis 3 in 1080p maxed out on a 120hz monitor......bummer
 
Last edited:

hdnut

Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
829
Pretty informative benchmark results. They ran the Titans on stock clocks but the numbers still look very good.
 

Vega

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
6,708
Pretty shitty on Nvidia's part about 4way SLI...You would think they would be on the ball, specially if you just spend $4000 on video cards.

but MOTHER OF GOD look at the multimonitor performance!!!!

P.S. Looks like 2xtitans cant run crysis 3 in 1080p maxed out on a 120hz monitor......bummer

No, it's not the Titans. At 1080P maxed out the CPU becomes the limiting factor for FPS. There are a few settings in Crysis 3 that just crap all over your CPU.
 

Brackle

Old Timer
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
7,921
No, it's not the Titans. At 1080P maxed out the CPU becomes the limiting factor for FPS. There are a few settings in Crysis 3 that just crap all over your CPU.

Hmmmm, then how fast of a CPU will we need for this. I would think a 5ghz /w HT ON would be enough for a 120hz monitor.

How optimized is the game?
 

fomoz

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2012
Messages
394
Need some 11MP+ benchmarks, it looks like most of the games tested are not demanding enough at 6.2MP for 4-way Titans.
 

Lord_Exodia

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Messages
7,008
When will a reviewer test in dual, tri, quad cards and overclock the shit out of cards on a multiscreen review showing several triple screen resolutions 3x 1920x1080 and 3x 2560x1440.

I would love to see how overclocking a GPU set would help performance in multi screen one day before buying

/facepalm :(
 
Last edited:

oshia86

Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
805
I'm not real sure how a GTX680 goes from 25fps on the 3 monitor setup on Battlefield 3, to 97fps with sli. That's gotta be some kind of record for sli scaling.
 

Astrodave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
1,082
1080 and 2 titans can't max crysis 3?? Seriously on a single monitor at that low rez and they can't max crysis 3? Tells me to run fast and far away from crysis 3 as it's an unoptimized mess just like crysis was in 2007 or whenever it came out.
 

x3sphere

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
2,726
1080 and 2 titans can't max crysis 3?? Seriously on a single monitor at that low rez and they can't max crysis 3? Tells me to run fast and far away from crysis 3 as it's an unoptimized mess just like crysis was in 2007 or whenever it came out.

Sure, just because it doesn't run 60 FPS + means it's unoptimized garbage. :rolleyes: Crysis 3 looks WAY better than anything else out there. Personally I'm glad some games are pushing the latest hardware.
 

Cube

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
1,111
There is nothing to review if you have 3 titans or 4 then you have the fastest gpu set up possible by normal people that do not make super computers or workstations.
 
Top