NVIDIA EDID fix for "bugged" Westinghouse LVM-37w3se

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Blahman, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. Odin75

    Odin75 Gawd

    Messages:
    739
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    No way, it actually works! I love you man!!!:)

    I never tried the previews method because I found it too complicated, so I decided to try the Regedit method instead. Before that, I was getting 1080p using a custom timing, and it worked great except that my screen was shifter 5 pixels to the left. I solved the issue by making sure my mouse was at the left edge of the screen, and then switching inputs.

    I just did it with a GeForce 285 GTX, driver 186.18, Westinghouse LVM-37w3se, and Windows XP 32-bit. It works like a charm. No more 5 pixel shifting, games play in 1080p as well, and HDCP shows as working fine under the nVidia Control Panel.

    However, I might warn you guys about something. The tutorial says there are several folders called "0000", and under one of them there is 4 subfolders with some specific names, one of them being "VolatileSettings". Well, for my particular situation, there was only 1 "0000" folder that had subfolders on it, and that only subfolder was called "VolatileSettings". I went ahead anyways, and did the remaining steps of the tutorial using that "0000" folder. I restarted, and there it was all working perfect. My computer finally sees the correct model, instead of W4207.

    Oh Blahman, I can't thank you enough.

    PS:Why does this thread keeps popping a box asking me for a username and password for some weird website. Is it just me?
     
  2. KoSMoKeNNy

    KoSMoKeNNy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Ive been using this EDID fix for about two years now without any problems. Left my computer on while watching football today, and I came back to it to find it running in 1080i and IDing the monitor as the 42incher. Reran the regedit to no effect, and I reinstalled the drivers and did it again to no effect. What the hell in a handbasket is going on here?
     
  3. 3xternal

    3xternal n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Win 7 is out and I have tried about 10 fixes. I used the reg hack for vista without problems but the same fix does not work for Win 7. I cannot access anything EDID related using Powerstrip or Pheonix EDID Designer due to multiple errors. I have tried the command line hack (API not supported on this version of windows) and the INF file hack (with driver sweeper, safe mode, etc) to no effect.

    I get full screen 1080i all the time. I really need help.
     
  4. Odin75

    Odin75 Gawd

    Messages:
    739
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    That's weird, because I'm using Windows 7 RC1 64-bit (7100), and it actually works in 1080p without me messing with anything, unlike XP. I just went into the place to choose the resolution, picked 1920x1080, and click Apply. That left me with 1080i. Then went into Advanced, and from the drop down menu changed it from 29Hz to 60hz. Done, works perfect, 1080p goodness.
     
  5. 3xternal

    3xternal n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    That worked for me too...until I plugged in a second monitor or tried playing a game. Sure I got 1080p on my desktop, but as soon as I fired up left4dead, it went back to 30fps.

    I ended up hooking the TV up to the VGA port and everything works fine now. I don't know if there is a quality loss.
     
  6. Blazestorm

    Blazestorm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,940
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    I also had to run my SE with a VGA cable... it looked fine but it was a PITA.

    That's why when a non-SE popped up on craigslist I ran over to get it (cheap too... $400) which had 2 DVI ports, 1 HDMI, and 1 VGA... all 4 worked perfect @ 1080p with Vista/XP or 7... No messing with anything.

    There were a few marks on the screen but for games / desktop usage it was perfect. Movies it wasn't the best...
     
  7. Odin75

    Odin75 Gawd

    Messages:
    739
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Ok guys, I finally have Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit installed, the real version. However, I experiences the same problem as 3xternal, where the resolution would switch to 1080i after launching a game. Thankfully, using the registry method took care of the problem right away, and now I have 1080p in both desktop and full-screen gaming. I'm running driver 191.07, and my pc specs in my signature.
     
  8. 3xternal

    3xternal n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Lucky you, I had no luck at all with registry hack. I tried it multiple times.
     
  9. 3xternal

    3xternal n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Hooked it up via HDMI with a DVI adaptor to the card and it solved all problems.
     
  10. strife1013

    strife1013 n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    I am having the same issue and I can't get it fixed using the Reg Edit 4 trick.
    My monitor is a Westinghouse L2410NM

    Can anyone help or create the reg file for me??
     
  11. markm75

    markm75 Gawd

    Messages:
    683
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    I too have the l2410NM westinghouse.. did you ever find the right edid values? My hdmi is washed out, compared to dvi and i need hdmi for audio passing.
     
  12. thylow

    thylow n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Hi I need help with my IBM kiosk. I think I need to change my EDID too. I've followed alot of forums and blogs to fix this problem but doesn't seem to be working.

    I've tried it and it doesn't seem to be working for me.

    Here are some videos of my problem

    Startup
    http://youtu.be/XhM6xQcq3ss

    Bios Update with EDID Error Message
    http://youtu.be/7SJGm6OoncE

    Touch Screen Firmware update
    http://youtu.be/0yIt4AJv4UI
    http://youtu.be/lUhu1k1E0F8

    I've tried the instructions from
    http://www.voetsjoeba.com/misc/edid/
    and
    http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=48946

    I don't have an Nvidia and its a VIA Chrome9 HC IGP Family
    I get my drivers from this site
    http://www-01.ibm.com/support/dlsearch.wss?rs=219&q=DWN4838-579

    I've talked with IBM and the setup they put me through doesn't help.

    Any help is much appreciated.

    Thanks
    Should I start a brand new discussion?
     
  13. markm75

    markm75 Gawd

    Messages:
    683
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008

    Old thread but looking for this fix now with an nvidia gtx 670.. same lcd the L2410NM.. i'm on dvi but to hdmi (dvi to hdmi cable).. the screen is a washed out mess.. i know its the nvidia driver, because on a fresh win 8 the standard driver at same resolution has no issue.. once you install nvidia its a mess (it was also fine with an ati card before).