NVIDIA Announces The New Titan X

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
33,809
Ya also need to do the shunt mod or you'll be capped by the power limit.

Yeah, I figured I might be able to get a small increase without upping the power limit, but I know for any real headroom I'll need to either shunt mod or bios mod it. I'm hoping I don't have to go the shunt mod route. It just feels risky to me.
 

4RunnerTE

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
189
So...how much is one gimping one's self by just using the stock cooler if you're not looking for huge OC gains?
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
6,617
So...how much is one gimping one's self by just using the stock cooler if you're not looking for huge OC gains?

You can achieve pretty good oc's on the stock cooler, but it'll be loud and you won't *slow normal degradation. Watercooling will net you better oc's while being silent and extend the card's life. In the used market, I avoid aircooled cards and gravitate to watercooled cards. My own experience supports this.

Yeah, I figured I might be able to get a small increase without upping the power limit, but I know for any real headroom I'll need to either shunt mod or bios mod it. I'm hoping I don't have to go the shunt mod route. It just feels risky to me.

No risk no reward. ;)
 
Last edited:

Neon01

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
1,041
Yeah, I figured I might be able to get a small increase without upping the power limit, but I know for any real headroom I'll need to either shunt mod or bios mod it. I'm hoping I don't have to go the shunt mod route. It just feels risky to me.

Completely agree. I don't mind doing mods like that as long as they are "set it and forget it" (provided you do it right), but the CLU is a liquid, and I would constantly worry that it's going to drip off with any combination of my handling of the GPU putting it in the PC and thermal cycling in the case/ambient affecting viscosity of the CLU. That's one I'm just not willing to risk for the potential, what...additional 5% performance bump? And that's probably way optimistic.

Nah, I'll wait for a custom BIOS. I know things look bleak this time around with no AIB partner boards. Have faith though, it'll come. If there's one thing I've learned long ago, it's that there can be no impassable barriers to the the ingenuity of the modding/hacking crowd. :D
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
31,349
Completely agree. I don't mind doing mods like that as long as they are "set it and forget it" (provided you do it right), but the CLU is a liquid, and I would constantly worry that it's going to drip off with any combination of my handling of the GPU putting it in the PC and thermal cycling in the case/ambient affecting viscosity of the CLU. That's one I'm just not willing to risk for the potential, what...additional 5% performance bump? And that's probably way optimistic.

Nah, I'll wait for a custom BIOS. I know things look bleak this time around with no AIB partner boards. Have faith though, it'll come. If there's one thing I've learned long ago, it's that there can be no impassable barriers to the the ingenuity of the modding/hacking crowd. :D
Forget the CLU. You're not [H] unless you're soldering those shunts.
 

Slug

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 4, 2004
Messages
174
So I'm gonna go the hybrid route. Is it worth waiting for the Titan X evga cooler, or should I just buy the 1070/1080 one now? Don't care about the shroud. All the coolers look the same to me. Thanks.
 

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
33,809
Forget the CLU. You're not [H] unless you're soldering those shunts.

I would think that the compromise would be to use a trace pen.

Once it dries its not going anywhere, and there's nowhere near the risk to the board of soldering.

What I have yet to figure out is if trace pen is easily removable if you change your mind. I presume the liquid metal stuff can be wiped clean, not sure how you can do it with trace pen.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
31,349
So I'm gonna go the hybrid route. Is it worth waiting for the Titan X evga cooler, or should I just buy the 1070/1080 one now? Don't care about the shroud. All the coolers look the same to me. Thanks.
The 1080 Hybrid kit from EVGA needs some modification to fit the Titan X. The shroud needs to be cut for the extra 6-pin power and the mid-plate needs to be cut due to some extra components on the PCB that the 1080 doesn't have.

Many people around the internet have said the NZXT Kraken G10 works on the Titan X without issue, so you could get one of those and an AIO cooler if you can't wait.
 

Slug

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 4, 2004
Messages
174
Thanks for the info

The 1080 Hybrid kit from EVGA needs some modification to fit the Titan X. The shroud needs to be cut for the extra 6-pin power and the mid-plate needs to be cut due to some extra components on the PCB that the 1080 doesn't have.

Many people around the internet have said the NZXT Kraken G10 works on the Titan X without issue, so you could get one of those and an AIO cooler if you can't wait.
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
6,617
I would think that the compromise would be to use a trace pen.

Once it dries its not going anywhere, and there's nowhere near the risk to the board of soldering.

What I have yet to figure out is if trace pen is easily removable if you change your mind. I presume the liquid metal stuff can be wiped clean, not sure how you can do it with trace pen.

CLU will actually harden over time and you have to heat it up to reflow it. Ya just have to give it time to harden. You can wipe it clean when its reflowed or fresh with baby wipes. Baby wipes > CLU.

In other news got my notice on block and plate. Dammit, going to Disneyland Hotel with the fam next week. This better not get here when I'm on vacay.
 

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
33,809
CLU will actually harden over time and you have to heat it up to reflow it. Ya just have to give it time to harden. You can wipe it clean when its reflowed or fresh with baby wipes. Baby wipes > CLU.

In other news got my notice on block and plate. Dammit, going to Disneyland Hotel with the fam next week. This better not get here when I'm on vacay.

Maybe you can contact DHL with your tracking number and see if they can do anything to hold it for you?
 

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
33,809
Maybe you can contact DHL with your tracking number and see if they can do anything to hold it for you?

Actually yes.

If you chose the DHL shipment option like I did (it made the most sense price/time wise for me)

Several hours after shipment you will receive an email containing a token link to your DHL shipment which you can use to set the following delivery options:

dhl.jpg


So you can:
  • Schedule your delivery
  • leave with neighbot
  • Service point or Parcel locker
  • Alternate Address
  • Vacation Hold

The only option EK disables is leaving your signature.
 

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
33,809
Luckily the tracking just went active. Last night it was not active. Looks like it will be here on Friday, woot.

Yeah, as opposed to my eBay orders from china, which seem to take the slow boat over here, my orders from EK in Slovenia always arrive to the US surprisingly fast. I've been pretty impressed.

I've wanted to use my "Slowvenia" joke for some time now, but they've never given the the opportunity to do so :p
 

4RunnerTE

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
189
So I'm up and running, card completely at stock .

Right after install I went ahead and ran Firestrike...and on the loading screen for one of the tests I got some garbled/corrupted artifacts on the screen. The test loaded and looked fine, and the rest of the tests finished flawlessly. I ran it about 5 more times and it never happened again, and I also put it through a good 2-3 hours of gaming without a hitch.

One time flukey thing...or something bigger to worry about you think? The card was not overclocked, and I just reinstalled the nvidia drivers from my 980ti using the "clean install" option. I have a 1000w platinum rated EVGA PSU without much else running so power shouldn't be an issue.
 

Neon01

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
1,041
So I'm up and running, card completely at stock .

Right after install I went ahead and ran Firestrike...and on the loading screen for one of the tests I got some garbled/corrupted artifacts on the screen. The test loaded and looked fine, and the rest of the tests finished flawlessly. I ran it about 5 more times and it never happened again, and I also put it through a good 2-3 hours of gaming without a hitch.

One time flukey thing...or something bigger to worry about you think? The card was not overclocked, and I just reinstalled the nvidia drivers from my 980ti using the "clean install" option. I have a 1000w platinum rated EVGA PSU without much else running so power shouldn't be an issue.

One other thing I should mention (besides the PM) - I would advise you to look into a program called DDU. It's a great tool that helps you to make sure you have all the old and busted bits of your previous driver/install/config deleted so it's fresh and clean for your new setup. To run properly it requires a reboot into safe mode, but it's extremely easy to use. If the problem persists, you could always try uninstalling drivers, running DDU and rebooting into safe mode, then doing a TRUE clean install of the latest drivers.
 

5150Joker

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 1, 2005
Messages
4,569
You know, I really hate myself, I do. I swore to myself this time, "don't fall for NVIDIAs shit, you can resist the temptation of Titan X". So I held out, bought a 1080 thinking "ok I got this!". What helped even more was it was constantly out of stock on their website. So tonight I just check it for shits and giggles and what do you know, it's in stock. My finger starts twitching and I'm thinking, "oh fuck no you aren't!" and the next thing I know, I'm at the checkout process w/next day shipping. God damn you NVIDIA! I know in a few months I'll look back on this post and think, "damn I'm an idiot" but what the hell.

TitanXOrder.JPG
 
Last edited:

spine

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
2,679
Just noticed that the 1080 volt modding guide at xdev has been updated regarding the shunt mod:

xDevs.com | Extreme OC modifications for EVGA GeForce GTX 1080/1070 FE

They now say NOT to shunt the 5M ohm resistors directly, but to add 10 ohm resistors to a corresponding set of 3 capacitors located nearby:

pwrmod.jpg


Which seems to me to be the better method. I didn't realise the power goes through those 5M shunts, so with the CLU mod you're making your card's power go through a sloppy line of grease not designed to be used in this way! I wonder how that affects stability, if at all?

I'm definitely power limited now, so when I get round to putting my EK block on, I'll do this method and report back...
 
Last edited:

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
33,809
Just noticed that the 1080 volt modding guide at xdev has been updated regarding the shunt mod:

xDevs.com | Extreme OC modifications for EVGA GeForce GTX 1080/1070 FE

They now say NOT to shunt the 5M ohm resistors directly, but to add 10 ohm resistors to a corresponding set of 3 capacitors located nearby:

pwrmod.jpg


Which seems to me to be the better method. I didn't realise the power goes through those 5M shunts, so with the CLU mod you're making your card's power go through a sloppy line of grease not designed to be used in this way! I wonder how that affects stability, if at all?

I'm definitely power limited now, so when I get round to putting my EK block on, I'll do this method and report back...

Yeah, I'm not taking a soldering iron to my Titan.

Manual PCB soldering is extremely difficult, and the chances of permanent damage are great.
 

Damar

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
4,605
You know, I really hate myself, I do. I swore to myself this time, "don't fall for NVIDIAs shit, you can resist the temptation of Titan X". So I held out, bought a 1080 thinking "ok I got this!". What helped even more was it was constantly out of stock on their website. So tonight I just check it for shits and giggles and what do you know, it's in stock. My finger starts twitching and I'm thinking, "oh fuck no you aren't!" and the next thing I know, I'm at the checkout process w/next day shipping. God damn you NVIDIA! I know in a few months I'll look back on this post and think, "damn I'm an idiot" but what the hell.

View attachment 7048

I just did that very same thing.... x2.... :eek:

Should be interesting to mess with these and see how much improvement I get across the board. I'm expecting a good jump from the 970's.
 

Damar

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
4,605
Understatement of the century, right here.

I've been buying one step down from the top end for a while now... and overall been happy with it. Sometimes a title would come along that would be a bit more than they could handle, but it wasn't too bad.

Right now, I've got the cash, and the lack of common sense to avoid blowing it on these. Playing some of my older titles that I had to play on Medium on Ultra now should be a treat.

And even if there's a Ti in the near future, I don't see me needing to replace the Titans anytime soon. Not until my next full new PC build which is 2 years off atm I'd wager.
 

Damar

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
4,605
Was reading the thread and decided to check Nvidia's site, and lo and behold, they had them in stock ... 1 on the way next week. Impulse purchase FTW!

They've been in stock all afternoon now... which is surprising.

Grats on the purchase!
 

Burzum

n00b
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
33
You know, I really hate myself, I do. I swore to myself this time, "don't fall for NVIDIAs shit, you can resist the temptation of Titan X". So I held out, bought a 1080 thinking "ok I got this!". What helped even more was it was constantly out of stock on their website. So tonight I just check it for shits and giggles and what do you know, it's in stock. My finger starts twitching and I'm thinking, "oh fuck no you aren't!" and the next thing I know, I'm at the checkout process w/next day shipping. God damn you NVIDIA! I know in a few months I'll look back on this post and think, "damn I'm an idiot" but what the hell.

View attachment 7048

Same thing here, bought a 1070 and thought I would be able to resist any more hardware purchases until I replace my entire system next year. The Titan X release being so soon surprised me and I ended up impulse buying one a day after it released.
 

Creepin_D

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
1,218
After a week of some heavy gaming I think I found the sweet spot in which my card does not throttle on TDP. 2075Mhz on the core and +500 on the ram, with temps around 35-38C depending on the room temp. I know I could get 2100Mhz if I had voltage control and someway to lower my TDP without any soldering or whatnot to my card. Guess I will have to wait for someone to come out with a modded BIOS.

I will say this, after using AMD cards for the past 2-3 years, it was fun overclocking a card that can actually overclock lol
 

spine

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
2,679
I've got mixed feelings about the overclocking here. On one hand it's great we're ALL getting 2000-2100mhz very easily.

However, I can't remember a time when overclocking of a graphics card was so consistent across all use cases, and where watercooling provided so little compared not just to air, but the stock cooler. :cautious:

Seems clear to me that we are all being held back by 'something', and that something is not directly the quality of the silicon...
 

Tyns

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
313
Seems clear to me that we are all being held back by 'something', and that something is not directly the quality of the silicon...

It's throttling due to capped power, thus all the talk on power shunts/mods.
 

spine

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
2,679
It's throttling due to capped power, thus all the talk on power shunts/mods.

I'm inclined to think it's more than just power here. The shunt mod is not improving max clocks, only consistency. So it is not lack of power that holding back higher clock frequencies.

I'd argue it's necessarily voltage, pure and simple, and until we get proper control of this, I think this will be the bottle neck for anyone who's modded the cooling and done a power mod.

I said 'something' earlier because I'm sure it won't ever be 'just one thing' when overclocking with Boost 3.0. But I'd say it's voltage that all need the most right now.
 
Last edited:

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
33,809
The shunt mod is not improving max clocks, only consistency.

That's because the shunt mod only impacts the power setting, not the voltage setting. An increased power setting will really only impact consistency.

With the voltage slider enabled by editing the appropriate file in MSI After Burner, you can slide it up to +100% which results in a theoretical max of 1.0925V

This is what determines your max clocks. The shunt mod won't let you go above that voltage. All the shunt mod does is tricks the card into thinking it's using less power than it actually is, so it doesn't hit the power limiter.
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
6,617
Seems clear to me that we are all being held back by 'something', and that something is not directly the quality of the silicon...

Where's the conspiracy? We've always been locked down by power limits and voltage. If you want to go higher than 2100mhz ish then your card needs to go under the soldering gun if you have the cohones to volt mod it and add trim pots for core/memory/pll/aux voltages.
 
Top