NVIDIA 3000-series Resizable BAR support is out.

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
19,881
Only way I know of. I don't like the software. Just installed it, updated vbios, checked to make sure it was enabled, uninstall.

I'm guessing they want to make the vBIOS update as idiot proof as possible to prevent any borked cards so they decided that EVGA Precision was the simplest way
 

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,765
Evga precision was pretty straightforward to use. I also used evga vbios updates for beta bios and they were easy to use as well.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
19,881
do MSI X570 boards support Resizable BAR?...I'm confused...the January BIOS from MSI states: 'Support S.A.M technology (Re-size BAR function) to enhance GPU performance for AMD Radeon RX 6000 series'

the fact that they only mentioned AMD made me think another BIOS update would be required for Nvidia cards...so I'm confused as to whether the January update added support for Resizable BAR across both AMD and Nvidia or if that only applied to AMD cards and another BIOS would be required for Nvidia cards
 

Geezus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
427
do MSI X570 boards support Resizable BAR?...I'm confused...the January BIOS from MSI states: 'Support S.A.M technology (Re-size BAR function) to enhance GPU performance for AMD Radeon RX 6000 series'

the fact that they only mentioned AMD made me think another BIOS update would be required for Nvidia cards...so I'm confused as to whether the January update added support for Resizable BAR across both AMD and Nvidia or if that only applied to AMD cards and another BIOS would be required for Nvidia cards
I'm guessing its only for AMD right now. Could try it using precision and see if you get a green checkmark for your BIOS

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/MAG-X570-TOMAHAWK-WIFI

1617208581905.png
 

Rizen

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 16, 2000
Messages
9,464
do MSI X570 boards support Resizable BAR?...I'm confused...the January BIOS from MSI states: 'Support S.A.M technology (Re-size BAR function) to enhance GPU performance for AMD Radeon RX 6000 series'

the fact that they only mentioned AMD made me think another BIOS update would be required for Nvidia cards...so I'm confused as to whether the January update added support for Resizable BAR across both AMD and Nvidia or if that only applied to AMD cards and another BIOS would be required for Nvidia cards

Yes, they do. I have an MSI MEG X570 Ace and ReBAR Support is enabled.

I'm guessing its only for AMD right now. Could try it using precision and see if you get a green checkmark for your BIOS

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/MAG-X570-TOMAHAWK-WIFI

View attachment 343900
Nope, works for NVIDIA too, the BIOS option is simply "Enable ReBAR Support", it's not AMD specific.
 

x509

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
2,593
So if I'm NOT a gamer, but a "creative" who does photo editing with Adobe programs, is there any benefit to BAR? Or should I say, "would be," because right now I can't seem to find any 3060s or 3070s, except on EvilBay., at legalized theft pricing.
 

Rizen

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 16, 2000
Messages
9,464
So if I'm NOT a gamer, but a "creative" who does photo editing with Adobe programs, is there any benefit to BAR? Or should I say, "would be," because right now I can't seem to find any 3060s or 3070s, except on EvilBay., at legalized theft pricing.
At this time no. I'm not sure if it's important for those use cases, but in any case, it's only enabled on a game by game basis at the moment, and I don't think it's enabled for Adobe products.
 

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,765
adobe does not use it. It's limited cases and game engine or program dependent on how gpu memory is managed
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
4,208
so the only way to update my EVGA 3080 is by using the Precision software?

still no BIOS update for my MSI X570 Tomahawk...
Someone will save the bios and post it to Techpowerup's bios database (but you may have to wait a bit for that to happen, who knows). Then you can use NVflash.
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
4,208
do MSI X570 boards support Resizable BAR?...I'm confused...the January BIOS from MSI states: 'Support S.A.M technology (Re-size BAR function) to enhance GPU performance for AMD Radeon RX 6000 series'

the fact that they only mentioned AMD made me think another BIOS update would be required for Nvidia cards...so I'm confused as to whether the January update added support for Resizable BAR across both AMD and Nvidia or if that only applied to AMD cards and another BIOS would be required for Nvidia cards
Back in January, AMD was the only option for resizable BAR.
 

evhvis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2021
Messages
128
so the only way to update my EVGA 3080 is by using the Precision software?

still no BIOS update for my MSI X570 Tomahawk...
They should be out soon though as the USB fix in AGESA 1.2.0.1 patch A and AGESA 1.2.0.2 is something they must push out. Afaik anything with AGESA 1.2.0.0 or higher should work fine with Nvidia cards.
 

Canon

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
2,578
I just enabled resizable bar in my BIOS, updated EVGA Precision X1 to the latest version, updated the VBIOS on my EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra gaming via Precision X1, restarted and resizable bar is now enabled.

I loaded up CyberPunk, seems fine. I think unless it causes an issue, it makes sense to have this enabled. The idea of being able to address Vram more directly seems like it should mostly be beneficial.

Just figured I'd chime in. I would say I don't have any particular complaints with how EVGA rolled this out. Seemed like a smooth experience to me.
 

SPARTAN VI

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
8,025
Took me a moment to figure it out for my ASRock motherboard.

Resizable BAR is located under Advanced Onboard Device Settings, but you cant enable it if CSM is enabled. To do that, you have to hop over to the Boot tab, but CSM is hidden here if you're set to fast boot. Have to disable fast boot for the CSM option to re-appear, disable CSM, then re-enable fast boot. THEN hop back over to the Advanced Onboard Device Settings and enable Resizable BAR. Kinda silly.

1617225882226.png
 

Kerby1280

n00b
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
23
Confirmed working on Gigabyte Z390 Xtreme (latest F9j bios) with 9900K and RTX 3080. Nvidia is adding confusion to this by stating only 11th and 10th gen Intel CPU's are supported. But I can confirm it's working with 9th gen Intel CPU's.

GPU-Z.gif
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
19,881
Took me a moment to figure it out for my ASRock motherboard.

Resizable BAR is located under Advanced Onboard Device Settings, but you cant enable it if CSM is enabled. To do that, you have to hop over to the Boot tab, but CSM is hidden here if you're set to fast boot. Have to disable fast boot for the CSM option to re-appear, disable CSM, then re-enable fast boot. THEN hop back over to the Advanced Onboard Device Settings and enable Resizable BAR. Kinda silly.

I wonder why CSM needs to be disabled...when using one of my older mechanical WD hard drives I need to enable CSM in order for it to be recognized
 

Rizen

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 16, 2000
Messages
9,464
I wonder why CSM needs to be disabled...when using one of my older mechanical WD hard drives I need to enable CSM in order for it to be recognized
CSM is a legacy feature, but not sure why it specifically needs to be disabled.

Ideally, everyone should be using UEFI.
 

Rizen

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 16, 2000
Messages
9,464
I agree about UEFI for the security features but I need to use CSM in order for one of my older WD mechanical drives to be recognized as a boot drive
Which is why I said ideally, totally understand why some people might have other uses.

I have to say though, it pains me to think about using a mechanical drive as a boot drive, lol.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
19,881
Which is why I said ideally, totally understand why some people might have other uses.

I have to say though, it pains me to think about using a mechanical drive as a boot drive, lol.

technically it's a boot drive but in reality I like to have additional drives installed with each one having a complete Windows install on it so I can just unplug a SATA cable and plug in another...my NVMe is my main drive
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rizen
like this

SPARTAN VI

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
8,025
Yeah, I'm not sure why it was required to disable GSM either. All my drives are GPT partitioned so I don't need CSM / legacy enabled anyway. I figured CSM was automatically disabled because I was using fast boot, and it's hidden in the UEFI when you do so.... NOPE! Just a silly way Asrock coded it to hide the setting but not actually disable it.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,339
no change in my hashrate on EVGA 3080 FTW3
What I am wondering is if this is gonna speed up any of the distributed computing work i do.... wasn't this an enterprise feature before it became a gaming thing?
This would have no impact on hashrate, because the gains come from the ease at which the rest of the system can cram new textures into VRAM. This is why you see the biggest gains with this feature in more open world style games where massive amounts of textures are being swapped into VRAM.
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x3
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,045
This would have no impact on hashrate, because the gains come from the ease at which the rest of the system can cram new textures into VRAM. This is why you see the biggest gains with this feature in more open world style games where massive amounts of textures are being swapped into VRAM.

My response on the hash rate was in reference to the baseless online rumor that nvidia was going to hardware lock mining in the bios update.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,159
MSI is supporting Rebar on their Threadripper motherboards as a note, here it is a 6900XT but notes says Nvidia support as well.

Rebar3960x.png
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
28
Seems the consensus is that the newest driver and rebar doesn't affect mining in a negative way?
 

TheSlySyl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
1,211
Well, glad to see there's measurable, if usually small, performance enhancements for this.

Whenever I get a 3000(lol) or 4000(lololol) series card, I'll be ready for it!
 

thecold

Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
642
Seems the consensus is that the newest driver and rebar doesn't affect mining in a negative way?

As far as I am aware, it makes no difference. On the flip side, it makes no positive difference, if the game is unsupported.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
25,326
Confirmed working on Gigabyte Z390 Xtreme (latest F9j bios) with 9900K and RTX 3080. Nvidia is adding confusion to this by stating only 11th and 10th gen Intel CPU's are supported. But I can confirm it's working with 9th gen Intel CPU's.

View attachment 344012
F12k is the version on the AORUS PRO Wifi and it's also working for me with a 9900K.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
19,302
Hmmmmm. A new Precision X came out today that removed support for Resizable BAR on my motherboard (MSI X570 Tomahawk). It worked fine with the last version, but now it says "Please check with your motherboard vendor." It rolled out a new firmware so I can't exactly go back, either. Luckily I noticed absolutely 0 difference in performance with it on.

EDIT: Actually, looks like installing the previous version of the PX1 app on top of it fixes things. Oh well!
 
Last edited:

sphinx99

Gawd
Joined
Dec 23, 2006
Messages
925
This was a very smooth update for me on a 3960X, Strix TRX40 and a 3080 XC3 Ultra. A lot of updates... driver, motherboard, chipset, VBIOS then a second VBIOS through PrecisionX but now it appears enabled. No weird issues or glitches though I can’t say I’ve noticed a tremendous speed up anywhere.

I was happy to see Threadripper + nVidia getting to join the party.
 

zandor

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
3,563
I was happy to see Threadripper + nVidia getting to join the party.
Anything that's new enough to still get BIOS updates ought to be able to join. My X299/Socket 2066 board got support too. I haven't gotten around to doing all the updates though. Hell, I wouldn't be surprised if NV could make it work on the old GTX 680s I have sitting on a shelf. Mapping all the video memory into the CPU address space is just shit simple and the PCI-e spec has allowed it for a long time. At first I didn't understand why they didn't do it years ago, but after thinking about it some more I figured it out -- 32-bit apps wouldn't be able to take advantage of it, and games going 64-bit is much more recent. What you want for performance is an app being able to write directly to video memory. There isn't room to map nearly all the video memory into a 32-bit address space, so instead they use a little window into video memory and move it around.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
19,302
...and my 3090 seemingly died yesterday. Probably unrelated, but I'm looking for any coincidences at this point.
 
Top