noob question.... how do I remove tubing from rad?

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,654
well I picked up a used water cooling kit, and the previous owner cut off the tubing at the rad and water block as shown here:

WP_000318_zps9ebc7396.jpg


both the block and the rad have the same type of fittings. HOW do I get them off? I dont want to use brute force and break anything, but am I missing a technique to do this easily? thanks a lot in advance!!
 

jamsomito

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
3,203
Weird. I've never seen fittings like that before (but I haven't been in the water cooling scene that long either so...). Looks to me like some kind of compression fitting. Can you unscrew the purple plastic part from the brass fittings?

Otherwise I would just unscrew the brass fittings all together and get some cheap barbs. Those things look non standard anyway.
 

W.Feather

Hard DC'er for Aug 2012 / Feb 2019 / Mar 2020
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
11,553
Same, never seen those (Only been WCing for a couple years now), id just remove the fittings (Twist them off like you would unscrew a screw)and either mess with them not attached to the rad / block, or as suggested above buy new fittings.
 

hdfreedom

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
169
Those were fairly popular long ago. I think Asetek used them in some of their kits. Simply unscrew the nut and pull the tubing off. If the nut doesn't come off fairly easy, use some lubricant on it and let it stand overnight, then try to take it off.

Good luck
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,654
its a swiftech rad. Looks like I'll be getting new fittings tomorrow lol, broke one in the process. theyre a horrible design IMO and require a lot of force. i had one in a vice and was pulling with pliers and it didnt give in.

edit: youre right though asetek also used them. and theyre GARBAGE. compression fittings to come.
 
Last edited:

DraginDime

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
1,437
those kind of look like press in air fittings I've seen.
If you still have one, try to push the hose in the fitting, then hold the blue ring down and pull out on the hose. If you don't hold the blue ring down, it will never let loose.
The push in air fittings are pretty tough, and people like them, cause you just push the line in, give a tug, and if it sticks, it's air tight and you're done.
 

darme

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
120
never seen these types of fittings though it sounds like dragindime might have the right of it. At least what he says makes sense.
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,654
nah, I know the air fittings discussed, similar to pressure washer jets too. this isnt like that. with these, theres a plastic insert that passes through a ring, that requires force to go in or out. So once its past the ring, its locked in. I guess 10 years of it being in there was enough to make it pretty snug.
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,654
little rtv sealant means a fitting that holds water! :-p got it all hooked up. for a 10 year old kit designed for socket A athlons, this is doing a pretty good job on my phenom ii x6. im not that worried about temps as I only have a 10% OC. I bought it so I could get a little peace and quiet! which so far it is.
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,654
had to mod the bracket. When this kit was designed, socket 939 was NEW!

WP_000317_zps3ad12f49.jpg


almost ready to go, external rad for now

WP_000321_zpsbcf80241.jpg


WP_000323_zpsdddf80b6.jpg


antique case by todays standards, some of you may remember it

WP_000324_zps91e7013d.jpg
 

DWolvin

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Messages
2,755
Awesome reuse of parts! And, pretty decent build- but the mismatched tubing would drive me OCD crazy. ;) What's the pump, and do you have it decoupled (sitting on something to prevent vibration noise).
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,654
Awesome reuse of parts! And, pretty decent build- but the mismatched tubing would drive me OCD crazy. ;) What's the pump, and do you have it decoupled (sitting on something to prevent vibration noise).

thanks lol, pump is a swiftech mcp350. its bolted to side of the hard drive cage. it has neoprene on the bottom but it still vibrates a good deal. the tubes are the same, just some have the anti kink coils. and in the pic the loop wasnt 100% full so one looks clear and one looks green. its all good now :)
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,654
well, this is how its going to stay for a little while. I'm happy enough with temps and noise. I suspended the pump with zip ties to eliminate vibration there. Here are some final shots

WP_000331_zpse16861f0.jpg

WP_000332_zps1606eaff.jpg

WP_000333_zps376010c9.jpg
 

Erasmus354

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
9,450
Holy crap! That is the most ancient Swiftech block I have seen in years! Swiftech MCW6000 if I am correct, absolutely ancient (circa 2004). Performance is pretty shit compared to todays waterblocks. That thing is a really primitive pin grid array.
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,654
Holy crap! That is the most ancient Swiftech block I have seen in years! Swiftech MCW6000 if I am correct, absolutely ancient (circa 2004). Performance is pretty shit compared to todays waterblocks. That thing is a really primitive pin grid array.

yes to everything you said :D performance is better than the air cooler I had but the two big reasons I bought this stuff are:

1. NOISE. this case is a classic and its beautiful, but it only has 80mm fans. 2 intake, 1 exhaust. and they mightve been quiet, for 80mm fans, but compared to modern cases with 120s theyre still jet engines.

2. heat. goes hand in hand with noise. The cpu was making so much heat in the case that I had to run the fans pretty high to keep everything else cool so the case temps werent through the roof. Hence the external rad, keeps the cpu heat out of the case in the first place.

if anything its a kit I can build on. I also have a circa 2004 gpu block, but I didnt want to add gpu to the loop for fear of overloading the rad (and the fact I dont want to run the rad fan at anything except low)
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,654
prime_zpsd7a8508a.png


theres an hour of prime95 to test load temps. not sure if I want to look at CPUTIN or the core temps, but CPUTIN maxed at 53C, cores maxed at 35C. this is with the rad fan at 5v, and a room temp of 25C. I'm happy enough with that since its almost silent! Oh, and this is at 3.08ghz (10% OC) and 1.32v vcore. (amd phenom ii x6 1050t)
 

DWolvin

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Messages
2,755
Good stuff, and a good reminder that even old blocks / systems can cool the heck out of a lower wattage processor!
 
Top