Noob overclocking i9 and Gigabyte Aorus EasyTune

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by soupcxan, Jan 3, 2020.

  1. soupcxan

    soupcxan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    256
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Just built an i9-9900k on a Gigabyte Aorus Z390i Pro Wifi cooled by a Noctuna NH-D15. There's some EasyTune software from Gigbayte which has a button that says it runs all cores at 5.0Ghz or I can manually set the multiplier for all the cores to 50 (5.0Ghz). I'm using this rig for handbrake encoding.

    Monitoring the system while encoding - Task Manager reports both ways at 5.0Ghz. However, Core Temp reports much higher temps topping out at 100 degrees when I use the EasyTune 5.0ghz setting versus just changing the multiplier - also the encoding seems to be a few % faster with EasyTune. So why is 5.0Ghz not the same as 5.0Ghz? And is EasyTune bad (I assume it's thermal throttling when the cores hit 100 degrees)?

    I have not touched voltage settings - I can see they're fluctuating quite a bit based on Core Temp reporting. I guess they're on some kind of auto?
     
  2. Mega6

    Mega6 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,712
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Avoid EasyTune and get a grip on your overclocking. CPUZ will give you the proper core speed, multiplier and core voltage. I would trust Core Temp over EasyTune all day. Set windows power plan to high performance to lock your multiplier for testing. Once satisfied, you can go back to the balanced plan and let the OS take over. Test again.
     
    FrgMstr and soupcxan like this.
  3. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,853
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Easy Tune is horrible. Do not use it on that CPU.
     
    soupcxan likes this.
  4. soupcxan

    soupcxan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    256
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Got it, don’t use the software. Is it as simple as changing the multiplier in the bios to 50 and leaving everything else on auto?
     
  5. Mega6

    Mega6 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,712
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Start with auto, see how far you get. If you don't boot at 50, drop the multiplier. OR start at stock multiplier and increase. Lock your memory to XMP.