No video signal until I get to Windows

Nebell

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 20, 2015
Messages
2,124
I'm having this issue where my monitor (Asus Rog Strix XG438Q) doesn't show anything until I get into Windows. Which means I can't see BIOS when I want to enter it.

This is while it's connected with HDMI to MSI 2080Ti.
I think I have to use DisplayPort cable but I have no idea where it is. Or maybe it was when I used the integrated HDMI port.
Besides my monitor only supports 4k/120hz through HDMI so I'd rather not switch cables around.

Does anyone know what's causing this issue and how to fix it?
 

LurkerLito

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
2,475
Are you using multiple monitors? I know in my setup if I swap my monitor wires (DP cables connected to the DP ports on my video card) then my main monitor has no signal till I get into Windows, all the bios stuff, windows loading screen all show up on my secondary monitor. If I have my monitor cables inserted into my video card in the wrong order, even if my secondary monitor is off, there will be no signal sent to my main monitor till windows is booted up. My "fix" was to just swap the cables.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
20,134
I'm having this issue where my monitor (Asus Rog Strix XG438Q) doesn't show anything until I get into Windows. Which means I can't see BIOS when I want to enter it.

This is while it's connected with HDMI to MSI 2080Ti.
I think I have to use DisplayPort cable but I have no idea where it is. Or maybe it was when I used the integrated HDMI port.
Besides my monitor only supports 4k/120hz through HDMI so I'd rather not switch cables around.

Does anyone know what's causing this issue and how to fix it?

I have the same issue on my 3090 gfx card when more than one display is attached, it only displays post on one of them, even when not in use. It insists on using HDMI if a monitor is connected, post will no longer appear on DP if a monitor is connected to HDMI.
I've also had it on previous cards where it wont show the post part of booting unless I use a specific port. ie even when only one display is connected. My 1080ti for example does this.

That is simply all this is, display output during post is fed out through one display connection.
It can change if you disable UEFI boot, but its wise not to mess with that unless you know what you are doing.

Its possible the mfr can change which port is used for boot after a bios update. I would hope this change is included in the bios notes, but much doesnt get said in bios notes.
 
Last edited:

les_garten

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
496
I kind of have this problem as well. Here's how I deal with it.

I have 2 Monitors hooked up "Kinda"

I have HDMI going to my Samsung 32" 850 Monitor, I have DP going to a AV Receiver, which is never really active and not sure how much it affects this issue.

If I want to get into the BIOS, it takes my monitor a bit after a restart to re-find the active signal. Usually I get the Flying Window logo.

So, I just start tapping the DEL button as soon as the restart happens, just keep tapping. I usually then see the boot screen and then the BIOS opens. I don't see the boot and post boot screen if I don't start tapping DEL
 

grifter_66

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
1,140
I kind of have this problem as well. Here's how I deal with it.

I have 2 Monitors hooked up "Kinda"

I have HDMI going to my Samsung 32" 850 Monitor, I have DP going to a AV Receiver, which is never really active and not sure how much it affects this issue.

If I want to get into the BIOS, it takes my monitor a bit after a restart to re-find the active signal. Usually I get the Flying Window logo.

So, I just start tapping the DEL button as soon as the restart happens, just keep tapping. I usually then see the boot screen and then the BIOS opens. I don't see the boot and post boot screen if I don't start tapping DEL
You have a receiver with a Display Port? What kind of receiver do you have?
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
41,296
its either posting too fast for the screen to switch res or the low post/bios res isnt supported. as suggested, try jamming on your bios button as soon as it reboots.
 

Nebell

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 20, 2015
Messages
2,124
Hahaha you guys are right.
I forgot that I have a second monitor hooked up to the video card!
The reason behind that is the second monitor is some 20m away in my paint room, which I use when painting miniatures.
I haven't done that in over a year and completely forgot about it.
 
Top