No Audio thru HDMI - PC 2 TV

Discussion in 'Computer Audio' started by UncleMeat, May 2, 2012.

  1. UncleMeat

    UncleMeat [H]Lite

    Messages:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Hi,

    I have my PC - ( Nvidia 680i / GTX285 / Win XP64 ) primarily hooked up to an Asus 23" monitor via DVI. I'm now trying to hook up my TV (Bravia 32V4000) via HDMI - to watch films on. Video is fine, but i get no audio whatsoever through the TV's internal speakers.

    I cannot find any reference to HDMI in xp's control panel>audio properties. Only see my SB Audigy 2 in the list ( Realtek onboard sound is disabled in bios), and i can't see anything in the TV menus that seems of any use. I did a fresh install of my video drivers, (275.33 - x64) ...which do contain the audio drivers needed, yeh?

    Any help would be very gratefully appreciated ;)
     
  2. Forceman

    Forceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,243
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Does the GTX285 even support audio through HDMI? You'd need to install the Nvidia Audio driver for it to work, but I'm not sure that card supports it.

    Edit: Looks like the GTX285 does not have built-in HDMI audio, so you'd need to attach the jumper cable from the sound card to the video card to get it to work. Also, are you using a DVI-HDMI adapter, or does the card have an HDMI port on it? If adapter, you might need a special one to send the audio to HDMI.
     
  3. UncleMeat

    UncleMeat [H]Lite

    Messages:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Biggest Thanks Forceman. Glad news this will be if all i need is an internal jumper cable, will have to google that ...and yeh, my gfx card does have a HDMI port. ;)

    Edit: one of these ?
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2Pin-nVIDIA-Video-Graphics-Card-HDMI-SPDIF-Audio-Cable-Motherboard-Sound-Connect-/170754699389?pt=UK_Computing_CablesConnectors_RL&hash=item27c1c5f07d
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2012
  4. dustNbone

    dustNbone [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Yes that is the correct cable. Then you'll set your software to output to your onboard audios digital output.
     
  5. UncleMeat

    UncleMeat [H]Lite

    Messages:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    can't i just hook the cable up to my Audigy 2 ? ...as i 'm pretty sure it has the spdif header
     
  6. UncleMeat

    UncleMeat [H]Lite

    Messages:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Ok ...Im prob about 2 steps away from finding a dark corner to rock in. I cannot get it to work - so frustrating :mad:

    I purchased the 2pin spdif cable and have tried it with both the Evga 680i Realtek onboard spdif & my Creative Audigy's 2 zs spdif out. Either way, i cannot see any option in xp sound properties to select "HDMI" as my default playback device. :confused:
     
  7. Xeth

    Xeth [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,624
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    I believe you need to select "SPDIF out" or "Digital out" as the output device.
     
  8. UncleMeat

    UncleMeat [H]Lite

    Messages:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Why can't i see that option in my sound properties? :confused::confused::confused:
     
  9. Johnx64

    Johnx64 My poof SuX

    Messages:
    7,170
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    I can't remember exactly. Try right clicking the volume icon in taskbar and select playback devices and mess with that. Set output to hdmi instead of speakers or something.
     
  10. Forceman

    Forceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,243
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    It should be this. You may need to set it in the sound card properties (or enable it) not just in the XP control panel. XP doesn't know anything about the HDMI, it just thinks the sound is going to the sound card - the sound card is going to have to send it to the SPDIF.
     
  11. UncleMeat

    UncleMeat [H]Lite

    Messages:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Thanks for the ongoing help, it is idd much appreciated :)

    I have uninstalled / reinstalled my creative drivers ( SBAX_PCDRV_LB_2_18_0017.exe ) which are 64Bit drivers but still my xp audio properties looks like this:

    [​IMG]



    I do see references to spdif in the Creative Audio Console shown here:

    [​IMG][​IMG]


    I have the cable connected to pins 7 (GND) and 9 (SPDIF 0 OUT) ...i have also tried reversing them as the cable connectors are not marked

    [​IMG]


    Not too sure if it's relevant but one thing i have noticed when looking in windows media player 11 > options > devices > speakers ...is that when i select the advanced button i get the following corrupt / missing driver error :confused:

    [​IMG]


    I do apologize for overdoing it with the pics a bit, but this is so dam frustrating :mad:
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2012
  12. Forceman

    Forceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,243
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Have you tried setting it to SPDIF Passthrough in the Creative drivers? I'm not sure it'll be able to send a decoded signal over the internal header.
     
  13. UncleMeat

    UncleMeat [H]Lite

    Messages:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Sorry for the delay in replying - been testing a few ideas. Setting the SPDIF Passthrough didnt make any difference :( I have also unstalled all nividia display / chipset drivers and installed latest versions.

    I did see a HDMI audio driver available for my motherboard, and thought that's got to be it:

    [​IMG]



    ...but it will not install:

    [​IMG]


    This is driving me mad, I think i've kinda given up on the Audigy, thinking it might be easier to implement this passthrough via the onboard audio.

    Would it be worth seeing if the realtek chip has any updated drivers?
    Could it be something to do with xp64?