no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH

SpoogeMonkey

2[H]4U
I'm trying to install ktorrent, and after running ./configure, I get the error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH. I've put the folder in root, /bin, /usr.....all to no luck. I'm using linspire 5.0 if that gives any needed info.

You might not have gcc installed; I'd suggest you see if you can find a package for it and install that, first.

Yeh I've got the same problem with Linspire. It doesn't come with the GCC Compiler. I need it to compile the ALSA drivers for my AV-710. You can get it through the CNR service, but I haven't signed up for the membership as you have to pay and I'm not quite sold on Linspire just yet. If you're trying to get a torrent program, Linspire comes with one IIRC. Under the Internet menu theres one called LTorrent. I'm not sure if this is the same thing you're trying to get to work as i'm a complete Linux noob as Linspire is my first time using Linux :)

Yeah, I tried ltorrent, but no matter what torrent link I put in, it does nothing. I really like Azureus torrent, but when I try that, it can't find jre 1.5 that I installed for Firefox.

I'm also having issues with no kernel source installed, when trying to install nvidia nf2 drivers so I can have sound while playing ut2004.

I'll try the suse 10 rc1 distro w/yast this week. At least yast is free :D

Shadow27 said:
Yeh I've got the same problem with Linspire. It doesn't come with the GCC Compiler. I need it to compile the ALSA drivers for my AV-710. You can get it through the CNR service, but I haven't signed up for the membership as you have to pay and I'm not quite sold on Linspire just yet. If you're trying to get a torrent program, Linspire comes with one IIRC. Under the Internet menu theres one called LTorrent. I'm not sure if this is the same thing you're trying to get to work as i'm a complete Linux noob as Linspire is my first time using Linux :)

This is why I keep telling people to pick a real distro.