Nix n00b, Mandrake not booting into GUI

Discussion in 'Linux/BSD/Free Systems' started by Zxcs, Jan 16, 2005.

  1. Zxcs

    Zxcs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,007
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Well, I thought I'd install mandrake linux 9.2 on my 2.4 celeron POS. The installation went successfully but when I boot the machine, all I get is the console asking for login name and pwd.

    After inputting the correct user/pass info, it goes on to the console, basically the whole screen is just a big console with the mandrake logo in the background. I can type/execute commands but I cant get the GUI (with the taskbar, windows etc).

    After getting the same distro to run on my 800 p3 lappy, I don't see why its bugged on my celeron.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks, Zxcs
     
  2. DoMeHardR

    DoMeHardR Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    227
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
  3. Zxcs

    Zxcs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,007
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Thanks for the reply, too bad it didnt work :(

    Also note starting eth0 failed on boot, could that be the problem?

    Thanks again, Z
     
  4. Zxcs

    Zxcs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,007
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    omg I r teh stoopid. After looking through the manual for about an hour I found the command WAS startx. Thanks DoMeHardR.

    However the thing still won't boot since it seems to have problems with my Geforce 4. It says failure to initiazile the NVIDIA kernel module.

    Any suggestions?

    Teh *nix noob, Zxcs
     
  5. unhappy_mage

    unhappy_mage [H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2005

    Messages:
    11,455
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    linux nvidia drivers: get the package from the first link, follow the instructions
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Zxcs

    Zxcs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,007
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Is there any way to actually download the drivers via the console or will I have to write them to CD and move them that way?

    Thanks
     
  7. draconius

    draconius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,081
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    at your command prompt, type in
    Code:
    fetch <url of file here>
     
  8. Zxcs

    Zxcs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,007
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    fetch:
    command not found :(
     
  9. Zxcs

    Zxcs [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,007
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    I also tried wget but every webpages comes up as "not found." I have DHCP enabled on my router and have my computer hooked up to it, is there any other configuration I need to do with it? And if so, how?

    Thanks for the help
     
  10. Bullitt

    Bullitt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,536
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004

    Your only option is to burn them to CD and install from command line.

    If you don't have your ethernet working, you wont be able to use any of the automated download/update methods for your distribution.....
     
  11. AdamW

    AdamW Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    468
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Before doing anything else, try just this as root:

    modprobe nvidia

    then startx as user.

    For reference, is this a purchased or free version of Mandrake?

    Other things to tinker with are XFdrake (Mandrake's graphics configuration wizard) and drakconnect (network setup wizard). They both run from console. If you have Nvidia onboard LAN (just a guess), it won't work with 9.2 until you install Nvidia's proprietary network driver. From Mandrake 10.0 onwards it works out of the box as between MDK 9.2 and 10.0 the forcedeth driver was written, that's the free software driver for nvidia onboard networking. Why not obtain and install a more recent version of Mandrake, actually? I didn't like 9.2 that much, it was a bit of a pants release. 10.0 is well-regarded, and 10.1 is doing quite well so far, although for some people it's a step back from 10.0.