Newbie needs help to check whether calibration done correctly

Hi, i need some help to figure out whether i did my calibration correctly seeing as i am a newbie :D

The results

I reset to factory settings which were all 50 before i ran the calibration process. I followed the software instructions and set the following below to meet the target.

red 18

green 23

blue 50

brightness 22

Did i do this correctly :confused: I was using the X-rite Eye one display 2 calibrator on a Dell 2405 FPW lcd monitor with the Basic Color software instead of the Eye Match software.

Is it correct that blue is showing high in the charts ? When i was calibrating i left the blue as the default 50 as this was what someone suggested i do, and i only adjusted red and green to meet the target as follows.

6500 lumi

2.2 gamma

;) Any thoughts ? Yes i made just my monitor was warmed up for an hour or more. Also background lighting was turned off. I also set to factory before i started to calibrate.

First:

Same as before. Is RGB 50 the max?? I thought it was 100 (I owned a 2405).

If so start by setting them all to about 85 or 90 before and then adjust your white balance. I can't imaging the result actually looks good with that much panel blocking. (ie red at 18) I also don't get how your colors can be that far off to need that much blue.

NEVER, NEVER, NEVER use panel blocking to lower brightness except as a last resort. Use the brightness control that is what it is there for.

Second:
If there is a manual target for luminance, use that, don't provide a set target value. You should be able to select manual in a decent package, then actually adjust the brightness where you like it. Then calibration will be more involved in curve matching, and less in panel blocking to reach an irrelevant target.

What does it actually look like with this calibration, what does a gray gradient look like. I imagine it is a mess as your proably have about 40 shades of gray left to work with.