New WD SN850 M.2, why?

Nasgul

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
123
Interesting. Did not know that, since I cloned my Crucial P1 (NVMe) to my SN850 over a USB-to-M.2 adapter.
Sadly, I tried and tried and tried but the WD never worked but I did from WD to.

And yes, I did try the Corsair MP510 to a WD and it worked but not the other way around.

I bought WD because of its higher W speeds but their software sucks for cloning, so I dumped the WD for C drive and bought Corsair. Maybe if WD would come up with their own software that could perfectly work regardless of the interface you use, I'd be happy to give WD another chance..............despite them using Sandisk ICs.
And WD uses Acronis.......but it's the vanilla garbage edition. And why spend $40 or $60 for a full version when Corsair offers it for free?

I didn't return the 500GB WD SN750 though, I'm gonna use it in my ASUS STRIX ARION USB 3.2 adapter for extra storage.
 

Nebulous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,623
Yeah I tried;

Macrium Reflect
Acronis
EaseUS

And none of these worked. How can you fuck-up a clone? I follow instructions to the letter, and when I try and boot from the drive I cloned to, I'm rewarded with a fucking Bloo-screen. Fuck that. From now on I'll do it the old fashioned fucking old way and just do a clean OS/driver install. I have to take a few xtra few minutes, but I know for a fact it won't fuck up. Seriously un-fucking real.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
2,318
Yeah I tried;

Macrium Reflect
Acronis
EaseUS

And none of these worked. How can you fuck-up a clone? I follow instructions to the letter, and when I try and boot from the drive I cloned to, I'm rewarded with a fucking Bloo-screen. Fuck that. From now on I'll do it the old fashioned fucking old way and just do a clean OS/driver install. I have to take a few xtra few minutes, but I know for a fact it won't fuck up. Seriously un-fucking real.
Odd, I used macrium on a test bench ssd and had no problems. Used acronis on my main PC without issue as well. It only gets tricky when you are using a bootloader for 2+ windows installs.
 

Nebulous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,623
Odd, I used macrium on a test bench ssd and had no problems. Used acronis on my main PC without issue as well. It only gets tricky when you are using a bootloader for 2+ windows installs.
Nope, only one. I then swap drives so windows doesn't get all bill-bowie confused as to which C- drive it's going to boot from. No joy.
 

hititnquitit

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
1,027
Theres a 7 page thread about the sn850 not living up to its r/w speeds for some reason on some people's rigs at tpu. It may be something worth checking out.
 

Nebulous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,623
Theres a 7 page thread about the sn850 not living up to its r/w speeds for some reason on some people's rigs at tpu. It may be something worth checking out.
Yeah I checked that out. Sadly it still doesn't fix the issue. A new firmware update is not available.
 

sk3tch

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
1,844
Yeah I tried;

Macrium Reflect
Acronis
EaseUS

And none of these worked. How can you fuck-up a clone? I follow instructions to the letter, and when I try and boot from the drive I cloned to, I'm rewarded with a fucking Bloo-screen. Fuck that. From now on I'll do it the old fashioned fucking old way and just do a clean OS/driver install. I have to take a few xtra few minutes, but I know for a fact it won't fuck up. Seriously un-fucking real.
Were they free editions or licensed? I’m sure it’s Bitlocker and I think most don’t deal with it unless you have the paid version. Macrium paid version worked great for me.
 

Nebulous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,623
Were they free editions or licensed? I’m sure it’s Bitlocker and I think most don’t deal with it unless you have the paid version. Macrium paid version worked great for me.
These are paid versions. Bitlocker is disabled.
 

sk3tch

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
1,844
These are paid versions. Bitlocker is disabled.
Huh. Contact their support asking for a refund, they'll ask what is up - and they will help you and if things don't get better, offer you an insane discount. That's how I got Minitool Partition Wizard Pro Ultimate for 75% off. That is, assuming you're under the initial 30 days from purchase.
 
Top