New to PC Gaming, need recs...

ericeash

n00b
alright, i'm really new to pc gaming as in i've only played simcity on the pc, and diablo 2, and also minesweeper. i have an xbox and was a hardcore halo2 online player, gta, racing games, and splinter cell. anyways, my computer is almost ready to handle a sweet game. i just bought a 360 controller, cause i don't think i'll do well with just a mouse and a keyboard. my current rig is a DFI expert board, opty165 @ 2.6, 2GB DDR500, 2x250gb sata2 in raid 0, and an FX5200. yes, that's right, a badass 5200. that's what i got for now, but Christmas will be bringing a friend, a new 8800gts. so i'm sure i'll have the horsepower then. i don't have an internet connection right now as i'm away from home doing flight training for the USAF for another 4mos, so i'm looking for some sweet games that work well as single player games and will work well with a 360 controller. i've heard of fear, cod2, bf2, fsx, stuff like that, but i know everyone uses a mouse and does multiplayer which i can't do right now. thanks for helping a noob out.

eric

Yea, Keyboard and mouse in a FPS game. It might take some time to get use to it but you'll be a CS God afterwards :)

You do realize that you will have no twitch ability whatsoever with a controller... If you wanna make a split second 180 degree turn with a controller, forget about it. If you wanna be so precise as to shoot a single vein in the enemies eye, please, use a mouse.

jaguax said:
You do realize that you will have no twitch ability whatsoever with a controller... If you wanna make a split second 180 degree turn with a controller, forget about it. If you wanna be so precise as to shoot a single vein in the enemies eye, please, use a mouse.
I've actually become/became (grammar ?) with a controller. I land plent of headshots, I guess its all personal preference.

Halo forced me to acquire skills w/ a controller...but they're no mousing skills. Now my Nunchucks skills... :p