New to overclocking - i7 3770k on asrock z75 lga 1155

Mosie100

Limp Gawd
Hi everyone,
So I'm very new to overclocking -- the only experience I have is just unlocking the turbo boost on my non k CPU that I had prior to this.
I'm going to take some screenshots of what I see in my bios.
But on CPU ID it is currently reading 3.9ghz max.
If anybody can help me walk through the process that would be fantastic I really appreciate all of the help!
Thanks!

Here's what I see:
IMG_7148.jpg
IMG_7149.jpg
IMG_7150.jpg

I've set the CPU multiplier to 41 -- too high?
I also set the offset to .005v and the turbo voltage to +.004v.

I'm running a Prime95 blend test and the self-test 384K passes with a max package temp of around 87C
But then the second test the temp maxes out at 103C
I proceeded to close the test and lower the CPU multiplier.
This is clearly way too high of a temp -- even 87C is a bit much no?

I set everything back to default on my CPU and did a Prime95 blend test. The first test passed with a max temp of 68C
The second test maxes out at 80C and also passes.

What should I be doing here? Should I only move the multiplier up to 40?
It'd be nice to grab 4.0Ghz instead of 3.9... Just to have a small upgrade at least!

Also, what is holding me back from just using the Optimized CPU OC setting that preconfigures to 4.0 or 4.2...??
Wouldn't that be easier?

Last edited:
I'm not sure anyone is following me on my journey here... But I enabled the Advanced Turbo then loaded the optimized GPU OC Setting to 4.2 Ghz. The first Prime95 Test passed with a max temp of 78 and the second test maxed out at 91C
I think this is where I'm just going to keep everything, I don't care if overclock.net said that this is a lazy feature that does a sloppy job -- my temps were out of control when I was attempting to tweak the settings on my own.
If anyone has any thoughts or thinks this is a bad idea let me know! I appreciate any thoughts or comments on this.
Cheers.