New Silverstone FT02

Discussion in 'Cases & Case Modding' started by Blackstone, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. exilelrrp

    exilelrrp Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    283
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    I do hate going into my rig just to clean it,
    can we all see pictures of this custom filter on your rig & the measurements? that will help much in making the decision.
     
  2. FaRKle0079

    FaRKle0079 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,613
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    You could also take the "cheap" route like I did and slap some magnets on the stock filters then put them on the bottom :). After having a noise issue with demciflex in the past I'm hesitant to use them (not to mention they REALLY kill your airflow).
     
  3. Galvin

    Galvin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,695
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2013
  4. Galvin

    Galvin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,695
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Has anyone heard of using an electrostatic filter on the bottom of the ft02. I figure this would work better than any dust filter. Would have maximum air flow, but would collect more dust than any regular air filter.

    Got the magnetic air filter, it fits perfectly on the bottom outside of the ft02. The air filter looks a lot finer than the ones that come with the ft02. But now I don't have to open the case anymore to clean the filter.
    After its on just push it up to the front otherwise a row of holes will be exposed.
     
  5. Toec04

    Toec04 n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Just an update on my build.

    Build is an FT02B-W case of course with an ASROCK z77 extreme 4 mobo, i5 3570k cpu co'd to 4.5, MSI N660 TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 660 2GB, Coolmaster 212 hyper evo, and arctic silver thermal paste used, 8 gigs of corsair DDR3 ram, 120gig SSD, 1t HDD, DVD rom and a 750w HFX corsair PSU to power it all.

    My heatsink does not have any fan on it and temps are 30 or less on idle. Temps never go over 65 while heavy gaming use, that's all 4 cores on the cpu and the gpu core. Just amazing how the 3 bottom fans and the one top fan have enough push/pull to not even have a fan on the heatsink. Computer is so quite my wife who is highly sensitive to sounds can't even tell when it's on.
     
  6. exilelrrp

    exilelrrp Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    283
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Show your Rig would be better to see, share?:cool:
     
  7. exilelrrp

    exilelrrp Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    283
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
  8. ShaithEatery

    ShaithEatery n00b

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    First time posting on [H], figured I would use the opportunity to show my humble FT02 build. I've found pretty good luck using the Zalman CNPS9900MAX-B aircooler with this build, don't have exact temps in front of me at the moment but it stays quite cool and with very little noise.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. exilelrrp

    exilelrrp Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    283
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Thank you for sharing, I love seeing pix of the FT02:D
     
  10. haze_1986

    haze_1986 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Hi all, after using my arc midi outfitted even with a demciflex filter, my inlet fans are still very dusty. Read that the FT-02 filters works a lot better as it is dust proof. Would that be the case? I am not sure why you guys use demciflex on the FT-02 instead.
     
  11. Compddd

    Compddd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,568
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Does the FT02 handle non-blower type graphics cards ok? Such as the EVGA GTX 780 ACX card?
     
  12. FaRKle0079

    FaRKle0079 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,613
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    I didn't have a problem with non-blower type cards before I started water cooling everything.
     
  13. danxi

    danxi n00b

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
  14. FaRKle0079

    FaRKle0079 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,613
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    I asked Tony this question late last year. Here's the transcript:

     
  15. exilelrrp

    exilelrrp Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    283
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    [​IMG]
    I be chillin' all day @ my command center! :D
     
  16. Terpfen

    Terpfen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Not bad. Do you have a link to that wallpaper?
     
  17. theirlaw

    theirlaw n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    I feel almost bad having to ask this, but how the hell do the plastic fan mounts come out of the case? I'm trying to remove the one underneath the hot swap bays and I can only manage to release three of the plastic clips. The fourth one (closest to the motherboard) seems to have an extra plastic piece that won't release unless I break it off???
     
  18. exilelrrp

    exilelrrp Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    283
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
  19. kickmic

    kickmic [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Despite the AP181 fans being connected to a fan controller, I wasn't happy with the volume of the fans and the sound characteristic. My FT02 sits on my desk within arms reach.
    After picking up just one AP182, to compare to the AP181 fans - the AP182's are clearly superior... they cool more efficiently, are quieter than the AP181's at same/slightly faster RPM and importantly (to me) the sound characteristic is less obtrusive. Not only is the sound more pleasant, its also more uniform.
    Having swapped out all three 181's for 182's I'm happy with the "investment".
    I have the PC running all day along with 4 x 24" monitors. In addition to silence, I want to reduce PC heat output, otherwise I'm running and air conditioner almost year round. The cost of the silencing and cooling mods to the rig are easily justified when compared with the alternative cost of electricity to run an air conditioner.
    Temps during normal operation (see below) are very low considering the speed of the CPU cooler and GPU-rad fans are running at under 500RPM. (All are PWM speed controlled by the CPU fan header, and are powered using a Swiftech 8 way PWM block.)
    other points - those shorting plugs on the 182's did nothing?? Using a Lamptron CW611, the only way I could get the fans to operate was by using the controller to provide voltage, the analogue control included with the fan to adjust the speed, and then make any fine tuning adjustments via small increments on the CW611.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2013
  20. Galvin

    Galvin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,695
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    I tried 182s their sound was a little more annoying than the 181s.
     
  21. kickmic

    kickmic [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    curious as to what speeds you were running either fan? Might have been at faster RPM than my comparisons?

    With just one AP182 in the rig (as per below) I ran the PC with either just 1 x 181 at lowest speed possible (via fan controller) or just the AP182 at the same RPM. At low speed, the AP182 was quieter and smoother sounding, with enough of a difference for me to justify buying two more 182's at $39AUD each

    [​IMG]
     
  22. aerial-

    aerial- Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    192
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    That seems like slightly too many fans to me. Pretty much 5 fans one after another blowing air in same directrion.
     
  23. kickmic

    kickmic [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    there are plenty you're right... they are all running under 500RPM, not sure if that validates having so many? Anyway, cant hear them, and the temps are very low
     
  24. Galvin

    Galvin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,695
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    I tried them at all different speeds using a fan controller. The faster the fan the more annoying the sound was.
     
  25. kickmic

    kickmic [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Perhaps it was your fan controller - I tried a Sentry touchscreen and it played havoc with the AP181 (original fans), and the AP182 fans result in noise when matched with a number of the Lamptron controllers - I have a Lamptron CW611 - basically have to run the fan controller at max and then dial down the fans via the included analogue controller - no other combo would work quietly. I couldn't get the fans to do jack when disconnecting the analogue controller

    Here is an A/B comparison for noise/static pressure between the two - the review findings are consistent with my own experience

    http://dvtests.com/?p=13850
     
  26. Galvin

    Galvin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,695
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    It was the controller that came with the fan.
     
  27. cp_kirkley

    cp_kirkley Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    [​IMG]

    This is my humble FT02...

    I'll be adding a second 680, and replacing the PSU with an AX850 sometime in the near future. I hate the fustercluck of cables behind the tray, the Seasonic cables are SORELY lacking in length - but this bitch is the seksi.
     
  28. sky21net

    sky21net n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Hi!

    I got mine, and it looks amazing!

    I have a question for you guys.

    I notice that middle fan stops working. When I start my comp, that fan is running, but after few mins, it just stops. I found a way to fix it by switching from low to high with its fan controller (on the top). It is running, but not on low mode. Is it normal? defective?

    Thank you for your time,

    sky21net


    PS: Other 2 fans are fine - able to run on low mode. One fan on the top works too. FYI
     
  29. Terpfen

    Terpfen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Sounds defective to me. Open an RMA with Silverstone.
     
  30. sky21net

    sky21net n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Alright, I requested RMA to Newegg, and they will send me a new one as replacement. Awesome! It is PITA to disassemble hardware. Oh well, I have no choice.

    Thanks for a fast response.
     
  31. Tony Ou

    Tony Ou SilverStone Tech Representative

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    If your middle fan is connected to your motherboard, then you should check to make sure the automatic fan control (or smart fan) settings are disabled in the BIOS. As stated in our Q&A page for AP181, the minimum voltage required for it to run when you have the manual speed switch set to "low" is 10.8V while at "high" the minimum required is "5V." This probably explains why your fan spins when system first start up and stops afterwards.
     
  32. frankiee

    frankiee n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    I'd also like to use the FT02 for an air cooling setup. Since I have a loaded X79 board, I like to avoid coolers that block my RAM. The CPU will be a 4930K, mildly(!) OCed.

    My favorite cooler would be the Noctua NH-U14S, but: it is 165mm high, and the clearance due to Silverstone specs is .... 165mm.

    Woa, now that seems to be tight! Does it work anyway, or will that give me problems (with the doorless version)?
     
  33. Tony Ou

    Tony Ou SilverStone Tech Representative

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    The 165mm limit we quoted is not the absolute maximum clearance for the FT02. It is our recommended height limit for CPU coolers, meaning that you can fit CPU coolers up to that size without any problems in the FT02.

    There should still be a gap from the top of a 165mm CPU cooler to the side panel (or at worse barely touching the soft foam padding on the side panel if you opt for the window-less version).
     
  34. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,257
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Is there any chance of a smaller version of the FT02 - one without the 5.25" and 3.5" drive bays and a set of 2.5" drive bays underneath the PSU?
     
  35. frankiee

    frankiee n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Thanks a lot Tony, now that is good news!
     
  36. FaRKle0079

    FaRKle0079 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,613
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Kind of like the rumored RV05?
     
  37. dboythagr8

    dboythagr8 n00b

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Can the FT02 accommodate a mother board that is 12"x 10.7"?
    Listed as EATX on newegg site.. And I've read that it should fit but.. I don't want to get it and then find out the routing holes are covered or something like that.

    Thanks
     
  38. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,257
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Oh yes! Squee!!
     
  39. Tony Ou

    Tony Ou SilverStone Tech Representative

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    The FT02 was designed to accommodate motherboards up to 11" wide so anything smaller than that would fit perfectly.

    A 12" x 10.7" motherboard you mentioned is technically closer to"SSI-CEB" form factor as opposed to EATX or Extended ATX, which is "SSI-EEB" form factor (12" x 13"). If you haven't seen it already, please check out the motherboard form factor guide we created on our website.
     
  40. kickmic

    kickmic [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Decided to try my hand at water cooling without having to mod the case (bar removing stock fans and fan mounting)
    pleasantly surprised how quiet the pump (D5 with speed dial) is
    180MM fan brackets have provision for 120mm fans which worked perfectly for matching a Noctua 140mm fan (with 120mm hole spacing)
    used the 360mm rad brackets that come with the case to fasten the rad to the case floor. Existing case holes lined up with three of the four brackets' mounting holes
    The brackets also served to clear the rasied sections of the case floor
    included a pic of the DemciFlex filter for the FT02

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]