New Price Drop - 8TB WD External Easystore USB3 (8TB WD Red Inside)

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by klank, Apr 23, 2017.

  1. brentsg

    brentsg [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,176
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Are there any issues mixing 128 / 256 cache versions in a NAS?
     
  2. Eickst

    Eickst [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Every single one I've pulled has 'Nasware 3.0' on the actual drive label so I would assume so.
     
    SynologyGuy likes this.
  3. Eickst

    Eickst [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    No
     
  4. geekebox

    geekebox [H]Lite

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    I think id buy 8 if there wasn't a limit of 2 :) And then theres about $10 tax per drive. Great post, thanks.
     
  5. Database

    Database 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,533
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Picked up 2 of the Thailand 256 MB versions... already shucked and upgraded the drives in my Synology. Thanks!
     
  6. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,675
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    picked up two more, myself.
    first two I checked were made in Thailand.
    Got a total of 5 now.
    Should last me a good while.
     
  7. ChedWick

    ChedWick Gawd

    Messages:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Welp, deals dead until next time.
     
  8. MrMitch

    MrMitch 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    I bought 1 saturday, will get another if they go back on sale. I got mine at the local store, made in thialand, they were buried in the back of the store with no price tag on them. I asked an employee and he didn't even know, my wife found them.

    Awesome drives for an awesome price when the deal is on.
     
  9. brentsg

    brentsg [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,176
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    I'm nearly done expanding my latest drive, a 6th for my NAS. I have another sitting on my desk, and another in my Mac Pro. FWIW, the 2010 Mac Pros don't like these. They won't be available to the OS with a reboot, only from a hard power down/up.
     
  10. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,127
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    My Asus Sabertooth 990FX board in my Plex server doesn't like the 8TB either. It could see the drive but couldn't format it, kept failing, then I formatted in my other PC and put it back into the Saberooth machine and got really really slow write speeds on both onboard controllers, less than 10MB/sec.
    Ended up putting it into my Sabertooth Z97 gaming setup, which didn't really need the space, but had no other machine to use it in.
     
  11. InfeKtioN

    InfeKtioN [H]Lite

    Messages:
    102
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    What speeds are you hitting in the Z97 ? I have a 990fx as well, and am experiencing the same issue.
    Hope to upgrade soon, so not too worried.
    Anyone else experiencing any issues ?
     
  12. arnemetis

    arnemetis [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,259
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    I'm running tests with hard disk sentinel right now. I have five of them hooked up to my girlfriend's PC right now, two on the back ports, and three on the front panel connector via a cheapie rosewill 3 port usb 3.0 powered hub. I started the surface test on one disk before getting them all going. One disk was reading at 150MB/sec, but now with 5x of them running they are between 28-44MB/sec so I believe the front panel header is connected to the same controller as the two back ports. Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 6.0 is the motherboard with 780G chipset, if that helps in figuring things out.
     
  13. Eickst

    Eickst [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    I was hitting 190MB/s on USB3.0 with these on read tests. Haven't tested them directly on SATA yet.
     
  14. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,127
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Writing from the 3TB Toshiba I put into the WD case to the WD Red was 140MB/sec for pretty much all of the 7 hours or so it took to copy the 3TB of data.
     
  15. Geno750

    Geno750 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    446
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Just got a Dell Perc H710 in the mail today. It should do a good job of running 8 of these.
     
  16. SFB

    SFB n00bie

    Messages:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    PC Perspective did a write up on these drives last year. It's worth reading the 6 page review found here: Western-Digital-Red-8TB-Full-Review-Consumer-Helium-Hard-Disk.

    I also included a spec sheet attachment for the WD Red drives. According to WD, this drive should have internal transfer rates around 178 MB/S. However, more useful information can be found in the review.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. HardRoller

    HardRoller n00bie

    Messages:
    48
    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    That's silly. I'm probably laughing harder :)
     
  18. Geno750

    Geno750 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    446
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Well ran into an issue which turned out to be a batch of bad drives.

    Edit: Issue was bad China made HD's.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017
  19. HardRoller

    HardRoller n00bie

    Messages:
    48
    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Sounds like maybe the Dell Perc controller can only handle 32-bit LBAs. An 8TB drive requires 34 bits for the LBA.
     
  20. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,051
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    That sucks. Even my old a*s SuperMicro SAT2-MV8s can handle 8TB drives.
     
  21. tacos4me

    tacos4me Gawd

    Messages:
    684
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    FWIW, I'm running 12x of these drives just fine on an H700. May want to check for firmware updates.
     
  22. Geno750

    Geno750 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    446
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    It actually might not be the card after all. Seems like half the drives I bought are DOA. That or the card just killed 3 of them.
     
  23. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,537
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    >>Seems like half the drives I bought are DOA. That or the card just killed 3 of them.

    Doubtful on both counts.

    Are you creating any RAID arrays with theses?

    .
     
  24. Geno750

    Geno750 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    446
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Moved all 6 drives to an X99 motherboard and it only sees the same three drives. Then tried all 6 in a sata USB dock and again only three were accessible.
     
  25. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    352
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Anybody know if these support UASP or any of the USB 3.0 boost technologies?
     
  26. ziddey

    ziddey [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,367
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Strangely they do not. They're old school usb mass storage.
     
  27. Geno750

    Geno750 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    446
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Just got back from BestBuy where I exchanged my three suspected bad drives (all made in China 128MB cache units) and I cherry picked 3 new ones, all made in Taiwan 256MB Cache units. Currently copying all of my media across two different systems and 5 hard drives onto my 30TB Raid 6 array without issues. So the Dell Perc 710 controller is fine, and is writing at about 478MB/s.
     
  28. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    352
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Damn! Well that sucks. Made the mistake of installing my two drives in RAID 1 (Windows mirror) and now I'm having problems with sleep mode. Often the system will not wake up properly and I have to reset which Windows goes into resync mode for hours on end (more than 12 hours). Now I need to back everything up, break the mirror set and yank one drive out, then restore everything. Was hoping to use the enclosure for backing up but if it doesn't support any boost, I might as well do it via SATA.
     
  29. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,537
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Be careful with the new ones.
    It's not likely that you bought 6 drives and 3 of them were bad.

    That would mean that every other person who buys one gets a bad drive.
    So on a pallet of drives, half the pallet is bad drives?

    Don't think so.

    .
     
  30. Geno750

    Geno750 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    446
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Thats not true. It really means that my luck sucks, and that I happened to hit a bad batch. Looking at numbers in that small of a pool and making a mass stat judgement on them is how things get blown out of proportion.
     
    GoldenTiger and Lateralus like this.
  31. Lateralus

    Lateralus More [H]uman than Human

    Messages:
    11,466
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    You're right, it's not likely. But it's not impossible, either. And to go from that, to this conclusion:

    No. That's not what it means at all. His small sample size isn't indicative of anything meaningful when applied to hundreds of thousands of identical drives.

    If I buy a dozen eggs without peeking under the lid and discover after getting home that six of them are broken, it doesn't mean that everyone who buys eggs can expect half of them to be broken or that half of the eggs in the boxes on the pallet were broken, lol. It means I was unfortunate enough that I happened to get six broken eggs that day.
     
    RMXO, Geno750 and GoldenTiger like this.
  32. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,163
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Just saying, I've seen this happen before. It was most likely an entire pallet that was bad.

    Did you power up the drive in the enclosure prior to shucking it?
     
  33. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,537
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005

    Yep, I know that's not how statistics really work.
    Having said that, if he bought 50 drives and had 3 bad ones, that would be very high.

    I see a lot of people report that they are buying 6-8 of these drives or more and are not getting bad drives.

    But sure, let's go with that..... he bought 6 drives and 3 were bad out of the box.

    .
     
  34. kingk

    kingk Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
  35. panfist

    panfist Gawd

    Messages:
    632
    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    It's showing up as $180 for me.
     
  36. Lateralus

    Lateralus More [H]uman than Human

    Messages:
    11,466
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Well, they're still technically on sale. $180 was the sale price when this thread was posted. They later appeared for $160 but $180 was the original sale price and is still a good deal IMO.
     
    brentsg, BlueFireIce and drescherjm like this.
  37. farscapesg1

    farscapesg1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,264
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Gotta say that seemed like the easiest shucking experience I can remember. Grabbed one at $160 last time and just removed it from the case last night. Will be transplanting it into an HP 800 G2 SFF to run Plex/Sonaar/Sabnzbd while we are in the process of moving and all my rackmount gear won't be easily accessible.
    Still a great deal at $180... tempted to pick up another.
     
  38. fore1337

    fore1337 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,364
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    1 of my 4 was DOA new out of the box. That's a 25% DOA Rate for me. :-\

    Other than that. I'm thrilled with em!
     
  39. Warsloth

    Warsloth Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Was the bad one from China or Taiwan?
     
  40. gimp

    gimp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,675
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    it wasn't DOA, but the China one I got I returned/replaced due to 2 bad blocks.