New Lian Li PC-V354 m.atx case : Specification & Feature

Morgulak

n00b
Joined
Sep 30, 2010
Messages
2
please help
can i put a noctua nh c12p se14 with this case?
maybe problems with rear or top case fans?
maybe problems with power supply? (corsair hx 650W modular)

thanks
 

CrimsonFury

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
185
Now why couldnt they have just designed the case to have a vent for for PSU like that to begin with... Seems like its just an excuse for them to sell a new side panel for 60$ down the road.

Because the PSU is meant to be mounted the other way around to aid in video card cooling (the PSU bracket fits either way up). Mounting the PSU the way techspot did means there is almost no airflow around the video cards.

please help
can i put a noctua nh c12p se14 with this case?
maybe problems with rear or top case fans?
maybe problems with power supply? (corsair hx 650W modular)

thanks

The heatsink specs says its height is 114mm, so it should fit under the PSU There is approx 130mm between the CPU and the PSU. The only thing to beware of is, if the heatsink overhangs the top of your mobo (depends on CPU placement), then it may interfere with the top case fan (you could still mount it by removing the top fan and adding a rear 120mm case fan)
 
Last edited:

KaizerDan

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
667
Because the PSU is meant to be mounted the other way around to aid in video card cooling (the PSU bracket fits either way up). Mounting the PSU the way techspot did means there is almost no airflow around the video cards.

wait wait wait... you are saying that every other case out there that doesn't have a psu sucking air from the video cards is over heating the video cards?

I declare shenanigans on that theory :p

Truly having it suck the hot air from video cards is not great for your psu. Constantly heating it up will lower the life of it, and they are only speced for 80+ efficiency at the lower temps. so that's throw that plus out the window if you are running most gaming cards. and higher temps on the psu can increase its fan speed so you have more noise coming from it.

regardless, its not the worst thing in the world and im not too worried about it. but it just would have made more sense to use it out the side. like on most of Lian Li cases where they have the psu upside down at the bottom to have its own air source.
 

bastage

Pics of your wife?
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
12,859
It's got nothing to do with the videocard. The psu turns out to keep itself or in to help the system stay cool. At least that's what Lian li says its for.
Posted via [H] Mobile Device
 

CrimsonFury

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
185
wait wait wait... you are saying that every other case out there that doesn't have a psu sucking air from the video cards is over heating the video cards?

I declare shenanigans on that theory :p

Most tower cases don't have a PSU blocking the airflow between the underside of the graphics card and the top\rear case fans (as well as radiating heat near the graphics card)

like on most of Lian Li cases where they have the psu upside down at the bottom to have its own air source.

Those are cases with compartments to seperate different heat zones, usually on much larger cases. The V354 is not seperated into different heat zones.
 

Quickstrike

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
71
Do you guys think that this case would look good in an office environment?

I always see 'HTPC' and 'Gaming' mentioned when I read up on this case - never office use.

I think if I remove the blue LED's the case would look understated, perhaps even 'professional' :confused:.
 

bastage

Pics of your wife?
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
12,859
Do you guys think that this case would look good in an office environment?

I always see 'HTPC' and 'Gaming' mentioned when I read up on this case - never office use.

I think if I remove the blue LED's the case would look understated, perhaps even 'professional' :confused:.
I think this case would look good period.
Posted via [H] Mobile Device
 

KaizerDan

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
667
Only problem i can see, is with a case looking this good people will expect you to tell them all the awesome hardware thats in it : ) So dont put in athalon x2 and 6800 gt
 

IrishJames

n00b
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
1
Thought I'd share how I mounted my H50 on the top fan spot.

I removed the top fan and used the black screws from my corsair power supply to mount the rad to the top fan spot (you can see the screw on the top of the case, but I'm OK with that).

img0381u.jpg

By irishj at 2010-10-18

I had to trim down the fan quite a bit and I had to use some shorter screws I had left over from a previous build to attach the fan to the rad because I ended up removing most of the material the long screws attached through (see photo below, long screw in picture comes with kit, short screw is from previous build).

img0380nl.jpg

By irishj at 2010-10-18

img0379pe.jpg

By irishj at 2010-10-18

Board in Rampage III Gene
Processor is i7 950
Idle temps are 35ish, high 60s under load. I was expecting better.

Downsides to this approach:
- You can see the black screws on top of the case
- DIMM slot 6 is now pretty much useless (must remain empty)
- Larger top fan is now gone (only small corsair fan now)
- Filter must be removed from top
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
626
Any one have pictures of the Corsair H50 place in other spots?

IrishJames, I like the mod a lot, but would hate to loose that top fan.
 

bracut80

n00b
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
26
i thought i read that some people have placed it where the bottom 120mm fan is at the front of the case but it is a stretch for the tubing on the h50.
 

zachol

n00b
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
3
Ok, this case looks almost perfect, but I'm worried about the graphics card overheating, especially (as someone mentioned) with the PSU sitting right there. At the moment I'm shooting for a Corsair HX520W and this GTX 460.
It seems like there'll end up being either no airflow (fans pointing straight down), or all the heat from the graphics card will get sucked into the PSU.

Is this silly, or is there some solution involving an easy way to get a lot of moving down there?
I don't intend to have any other PCI cards or a second graphics card.
 

Bradmax57

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
243
Anyone any idea if a H70 would fit? (in the front) I know the tubes are shorter which is why i ask :)
 

djstarfox

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
413
Someone earlier in this thread said the H70 won't fit anywhere. You'd have to put it outside the case or use the H50 instead.
 

Bradmax57

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
243
Someone earlier in this thread said the H70 won't fit anywhere. You'd have to put it outside the case or use the H50 instead.

from what I can see that was only using the rear fan mount? Which I know it wont fit, but im not 100% on the front
 

KaizerDan

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
667
as long as you arent rocking a 5970, you should be able to get any thing up there, just use a fan/shroud/h70 combo, and thatll give you a good 3 inches of slack on the hoses.
 

KaizerDan

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
667
Well.. as the term budget can mean many things... it can also translate to future proof.... so im throwing in a 6870 instead of 460's... should look pretty and red on the inside, glowing blue on the out.
 
Last edited:

KaizerDan

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
667
Any owner know how to remove front fan filters to clean them?

You dont really need to remove the filter... you can, they just screw on. but the whole fan slides side ways 1/4" and then just pops out, you can then vacuum off the filter. goes back on same way.
 

KaizerDan

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
667
Well, this is what i got so far, just waiting on the video card.. Got home early today, so spent a few hours putting everything together. Going for max air flow, not keeping wires out of sight.


IMG_0841 by blargargarg, on Flickr


IMG_0840 by blargargarg, on Flickr


IMG_0845 by blargargarg, on Flickr


IMG_0843 by blargargarg, on Flickr

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/53531071@N07/5106073620/" title="IMG_0842 by blargargarg, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1054/5106073620_c36f330f00_z.jpg" width="640" height="480" alt="IMG_0842" /></a>
 

Bradmax57

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
243
Very nice KaizerDan, i thought mine was tidy until i saw yours :) tbh its the pci-e leads to my two gtx460's that are the main problem, im gonna try and contact corsair and see if I can get another set of leads to mod

P1030097.jpg
 

KaizerDan

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
667
oh man.. love the blue theme... thata what my SG07 is. And yea, im worried about what to do with the the video card cables once its installed. if it ever gets xfire... theres no chance of it looking neat with this psu, will have to use all the molex adapters to get it to work.
 

Bradmax57

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
243
hehe, there actually white but for some reason when i take a picture they come out blue.........
 

Bradmax57

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
243
Little update, had a play around with the 4 pci-e leads this morning and managed to route them infront of the psu and also under it, much better :)

P1030102.jpg
 

KaizerDan

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
667
keep the pictures coming, would love to see someone put a double rad in the front

Though this build isnt meant for that, im sure it can be done, some nice dremel work on the lower portion of the dvd holder could make the rad clear. and being cleaver with the smaller hdd cage turning it side ways on top of the psu and mounting it to the top of the case. it could be done :)
 
Last edited:

monst0r

n00b
Joined
Sep 24, 2010
Messages
51
Though this built isnt meant for that, im sure it can be done, some nice dremel work on the lower portion of the dvd holder could make the res clear. and being cleaver with the smaller hdd cage turning it side ways on top of the psu and mounting it to the top of the case. it could be done :)

This is exactly what I was thinking, I would really like to try it out (need to get some money together first for a new system, it's about that time.) I was thinking of putting a 120.2 in the front in a push configuration and maybe drill holes to mount another 120.2 on the ceiling if possible, otherwise I would stick either a 140 or 120 rad up there. I really want to make a clean, fast, compact system.
 

kasius

n00b
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
5
What would be the benefit? The PSU would still overhang the CPU too much to a allow taller HSF, The PSU isn't in the way of anything else.

I think, PSU take aire from inside and outside, this keep the PSU more cool. Less rpm for the psu fan
My PSU (Liberty 500W) it´s only 140mm large, with the PE-01 should keep 8cm inside case, I don´t know if should do more space to the CPU cooler.

PD: My english seems orthopedic, isn´t it?
 
Last edited:

monst0r

n00b
Joined
Sep 24, 2010
Messages
51
I think, PSU take aire from inside and outside, this keep the PSU more cool. Less rpm for the psu fan
My PSU (Liberty 500W) it´s only 140mm large, with the PE-01 should keep 8cm inside case, I don´t know if should do more space to the CPU cooler.

PD: My english seems orthopedic, isn´t it?

I really don't think you'll have a problem with PSU temperatures. That add on will really look awkward too IMO.
 
Top