New Farm is on-line.

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Have finally got 5 of my new boxen on-line folding.

Ended up running the Q6600's at 345 x 9 for 3.1 Ghz per Core.
Had to raise the vcore by 0.10v to get them stable.
Memory is only overclocked slightly due to running on a 2.5 multi.
Each box pulls 165 Watts from the wall.
Running 2 vM's on each box and the Linux client inside each VM.
Each client is configured NOT to use the advanced methods flag so I dont get core a2 protiens.
Each client is running at just over 2,000 PpD.

Cliffs.
5 Boxen.
825 Watts.
20,000 PpD.

Luck ............. :D

 

Xilikon

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2008
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
14,847
Awesome. I might rebuild the VM instances of my Q6600 with the newest Xubuntu and reconfigure to not use advmethods soon. I need a base VM image so I can deploy on a lot of Q6600 that I'm building in the coming weeks.

 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
My base image is only 1.87 Gigs so its a little big to e-mail you ............ :p
But once a new box is setup with VMServer, it takes only 10 mins to clone it and get a new box crunching.

Luck ........... :D
 

Xilikon

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2008
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
14,847
LOL, I didn't say I need your image. I just said I need to build a base image myself :p I know it's easy to clone the image files.

 

Crazy Larry

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
1,137
Couldn't you get more ppd just running the notfred diskless client? You can set it up to run an SMP instance per 2 cores.
 

Wharf_Rat

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 15, 2000
Messages
1,151
Nice farm setup! Wish I could run something like this at home...

Hopefully they find a cure before I can though!
 

Sunin

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - August 2008
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
3,421
Grats on getting that all up and running! Woot!

 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
So how many quad boxen does that make for you?

I've only got five Quads running at the moment.
Going offline soon as I swop the next Quad into my gateway box and take the Dual Quad Xeon's out which are not on-line at the moment.
Then move both my both my Dual Quad Xeons mobo's to new homes and exchange the memory between the the two boxen.
After that it swop the last two old CPU's for new Quad CPU's.

Building my own disk image that worked was interesting, as its the first time I've worked with Linux.
But I find now that I've got my disk image made, I find that its just as simple to run the clients inside the VM's, as it is to run Notfreds.
I may loose a few PpD due to the VM's but I'm still running at just over 330 PpDpGhz, that the benchmark you want to hit with a C2D-C2Q and fast protiens.
Also there's less of a worry about about looseing work due to a power cut.
Plus its easier to delete a bad work unit after a b7 error, etc, etc.

Luck ......... :D

 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Make that 6 online now ......... :eek:

Luck ............ :D
 

BillR

Born Again Cynic
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
18,540
Make that 6 online now ......... :eek:

Luck ............ :D

Basti................er...........Wow, nice job man;)

The bad/good part is I remember well the years we ran neck and neck and I had great plans to pass you.:rolleyes:

All in good fun, all for a good cause, fold on man:D

 

digital_exhaust

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2008
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
6,903
I've only got five Quads running at the moment.


ONLY five quads? That is beautiful man.... only five quads:p

I see you added another there, but sorry, I kinda got a kick out of that.

Awesome farm man, and as I've said before... and inspiration to say the least!!

 

AMD_RULES

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
3,010
1. Hardware specs for the new boxen?
2. Pics!?!? :D If not too much of a hassle.

Thanks for your contribution Tiger. Quite a hero! :)
 

APOLLO

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2009
Joined
Sep 17, 2000
Messages
9,089
Congrats Tiger on a lot of hard work accomplishment. Good to see the new farm finally online. I would also love to see pics of your setup, providing it's not any inconvenience. :cool:

 

Axdrenalin

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - Nov. 2009
Joined
Jan 28, 2004
Messages
6,222
Nice setup Tiger, looks to be putting out some serious PPD and adding to your overall production pretty soon! ;) Great job!



 

metallicafan

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2010
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,204
Tigerbiten said:
Building my own disk image that worked was interesting, as its the first time I've worked with Linux.

Once you go Linux you wont want to go back!:D:)

Nice job on the new boxen!
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Running Mentest on the first on my rebuilt Xeon's.
Fitting the Thremalright HR-01X heatsink onto the mobo was a swine of a job.
Because the CPU backplate gets fixed to the cases mobo tray first, you cannot fit the heatsink to the mobo out of the case.
Also the heatsinks are so big I cannot use my first PCI-E slot with my X1950xtx vidio card.
I'm having to use my second PCI-E slot which I think is only 4X not 16X.

Once it tests out then all I need to do is finish fixing up the case fans, re-install XP64 and that another 2.66 x 4 x 2 = 21.28 Ghz back in the farm.

Edit. Sorry no pictures, no camara here.

Luck ............ :D
 

Celerator

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
1,935
Tigerbiten, I love the way that you build, tweak, and describe your farm.
Although pictures would be nice! If we have to choose, I'd rather
Tigerbiten spends his money on quads than a digital camera, however...

Fold on!

 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
I got an old 2mp camera... what's your addy I'll mail it :p

I'm in the UK.

I've just started to stress test the X5535's.
One cpu is running 12c warmer than the other on all 4 cores.
I think I'm going to shroud the heats together first so the fans work in a push-pull config.
If that does not work, its remove both heat sinks and try and get a better fit.

Luck ............ :D
 

schenks

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
1,642
Now this setup is just wrong man, why not send some my way :D

Anyhoo, definitely loving my 6600 @ 3.1 (same thing ~2000 PPD/Client), so having 5 of them would be godly.

 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,058
Edit. Sorry no pictures, no camara here.

Luck ............ :D

My mom is going to be heading to your area of the woods on Friday (Saturday, once the flight actually arrives and taking into account the time difference). Should I send her by with her camera to snap a couple of pics? :D

 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Now this setup is just wrong man, why not send some my way :D

Anyhoo, definitely loving my 6600 @ 3.1 (same thing ~2000 PPD/Client), so having 5 of them would be godly.

You're behind on the count.
It now 6x Q6600's, 1x Dual X5535's and my last running E6600.
100 Ghz = ~33,000 PpD.

I found I needed stronger heatsink fans to keep up with the heat put out by the X5535's.
Done that and they are now all running sub 60C, temps from Core Temp.

Ps. The E6600 will be swopped out for a Q6600 very soon.

Luck ............ :D
 

BillR

Born Again Cynic
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
18,540
You're behind on the count.
It now 6x Q6600's, 1x Dual X5535's and my last running E6600.
100 Ghz = ~33,000 PpD.

I found I needed stronger heatsink fans to keep up with the heat put out by the X5535's.
Done that and they are now all running sub 60C, temps from Core Temp.

Ps. The E6600 will be swopped out for a Q6600 very soon.

Luck ............ :D

You are just a one man folding fool. You just may be the if not one of the biggest home farmers on record. I can't recall the whole content of the book, but you have to be running short on charactors as machine names;):)



 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Next ones up and running.

Thats 7x Q6600's @ 3.1 ghz good for 1,000 PpD per Core and 2x X5535's @2.66 Ghz good for 800 PpD per Core.

Day off tomorrow so I should be able to get my second Xeon box built.

I think I'm going to pull the X1950xtx vid card out of my first Xeon box and drop a 6600 in it.
The PCI-E slot I can fit a Vid card in is only 4x so the X1950xtx is a bit powerfull for the slot.
Plus it will save me ~40 watts ......... :cool:

After that its shutdown my E6600 and build the last Q6600 box.

Luck ................... :D
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
My second Xeon box has passed Memtest.
So I should hopefully have another 20 Ghz online tonight.

Luck .......... :D
 

Xilikon

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2008
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
14,847
If i understand, you have 7 Q6600 boxens and 2 dual Xeon boxens ?

That's a impressive farm you have there ! I cannot see having more than 5 Q6600 boxens myself without touching the CC that I had paid off painfully...

 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,058
Next ones up and running.

Thats 7x Q6600's @ 3.1 ghz good for 1,000 PpD per Core and 2x X5535's @2.66 Ghz good for 800 PpD per Core.

Day off tomorrow so I should be able to get my second Xeon box built.

I think I'm going to pull the X1950xtx vid card out of my first Xeon box and drop a 6600 in it.
The PCI-E slot I can fit a Vid card in is only 4x so the X1950xtx is a bit powerfull for the slot.
Plus it will save me ~40 watts ......... :cool:

After that its shutdown my E6600 and build the last Q6600 box.

Luck ................... :D

By the way, my mom will be by to take some of that "old" hardware off your hands so you will no longer be burdened by it anymore. :p:D

 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
Got my second Xenon system back online.
Only got one Q6600 boxen left to build.

Looks like I'm going to hit my PpD target.
FahMon is only reading 41,600 PpD and add the 4,000 PpD of the last quad = +45,000 PpD.

Luck ............ :D
 

ICE_9

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
3,459
Figuring 1KW used per hour, that would be $58.46 per month. Your using close to 2KW/h aren't you?
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,155
Running Mentest on the first on my rebuilt Xeon's.
Fitting the Thremalright HR-01X heatsink onto the mobo was a swine of a job.
Because the CPU backplate gets fixed to the cases mobo tray first, you cannot fit the heatsink to the mobo out of the case.
Also the heatsinks are so big I cannot use my first PCI-E slot with my X1950xtx vidio card.
I'm having to use my second PCI-E slot which I think is only 4X not 16X.

Once it tests out then all I need to do is finish fixing up the case fans, re-install XP64 and that another 2.66 x 4 x 2 = 21.28 Ghz back in the farm.

Edit. Sorry no pictures, no camara here.

Luck ............ :D

How are you liking the HR-01X's? I was thinking of picking up a pair for my quads. How do you have the fans oriented, pull through or pushing through and out the top of the case?

Are you running 4 clients and affinity changer on it?
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
How are you liking the HR-01X's? I was thinking of picking up a pair for my quads. How do you have the fans oriented, pull through or pushing through and out the top of the case?

Are you running 4 clients and affinity changer on it?

Now I've modded them slightly, I like them.

The gap between the heatsinks is only ~23mm so a standard 25mm fan wont quite fit.

Started with only two fans, tried both push-pull and twin push.
The top CPU was always 10C warmer under load then the bottom one.
Reset them to push-pull and added two more fans either side in push mode.
Now running with 3x 120mm fans blowing in and 1x pulling out on the top.
Temp difference across the cores is only 4-5C now, maxing 50-52C running 4 VM's.
Running Quad Orthos Gromacs stress tests heats up the core around 5C more.

My electric bill is around £110 per month to run the farm.
My gas bill is only around £2 per month .......... :p

Luck ........... :D
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,155
Now I've modded them slightly, I like them.

The gap between the heatsinks is only ~23mm so a standard 25mm fan wont quite fit.

Started with only two fans, tried both push-pull and twin push.
The top CPU was always 10C warmer under load then the bottom one.
Reset them to push-pull and added two more fans either side in push mode.
Now running with 3x 120mm fans blowing in and 1x pulling out on the top.
Temp difference across the cores is only 4-5C now, maxing 50-52C running 4 VM's.
Running Quad Orthos Gromacs stress tests heats up the core around 5C more.

My electric bill is around £110 per month to run the farm.
My gas bill is only around £2 per month .......... :p

Luck ........... :D

Nice temps, I'm constantly sitting at 65-69 across my cores. I'm just running the stock heatsinks in a TJ09 with all the case fans pulling out. How hot are your FB-Dimms getting, I'm seeing anywhere from 66 to 83 C on mine? Amazing how much heat these boxes can put out...

I'd love to see pics if you ever get a camera :)
 

jws2346

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2007
Messages
1,768
Wow Tigerbiten, your farm sounds fantastic. :eek:

I like how "humble" you sounded when I began reading this thread "only 5 Q6600's". Then at the end of the thread it was 7x Q6600's @ 3.1 ghz and 2x X5535's @2.66 Ghz. That's what I call really "humble" and one hell of a folder.

Thanks for foldin' :D


 
Top