new eth card wont connect to internet.. setup probs mebbe?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by kryptic, Feb 12, 2004.

  1. kryptic

    kryptic Gawd

    Messages:
    548
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    alright, i picked up a netgear fa311 ethernetcard today to put in a computer i was planning on making a fileserver. the only problem... it doesnt connect to the internet. :mad: i installed the card, formatted (which i needed to to anyway) and tried to access the internet and no luck.


    when i Rightclick >status onthe network connections screen under the activity section it says bytes sent: 0 recieved: 1101 or some number that changes (duh). is the computer recieving data and just not sending? i dont see how that would make me not able to access the internet though.

    im not really sure what to check/change so i figured id come here to hopefully get pointed in the right direction and learn a little bit :)

    i hope yall can help
     
  2. slick rick

    slick rick Very Slick

    Messages:
    4,207
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    is the computer connected to a router?

    is the computer getting an ip address?
     
  3. kryptic

    kryptic Gawd

    Messages:
    548
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    the computer is connected to a hub then to the cable modem. i dont think its getting and ip addy.
     
  4. kryptic

    kryptic Gawd

    Messages:
    548
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    this is what i get under the support tab in network connections...

    Address Type: Invalid IP Address
    IP Address: 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask: 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway: (blank)
     
  5. slick rick

    slick rick Very Slick

    Messages:
    4,207
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    does your isp only allow one ip address? if so then you'll probably going to need a router and not a hub.
     
  6. kryptic

    kryptic Gawd

    Messages:
    548
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    well im not sure... there were already two computers hooked up to the hub. there have been 3 hooked up before...

    id run this computer as the router but i cant get the damn integrated ethernet card on the asus a7n8x board to work :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: