New build, Ryzen 3600 getting 95.5c max temps

Verado

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
251
You are not allowing the chip to breathe with the stock cooler. It can't even come close to its performance potential. the 3600 is absolutely far far more powerful than the old Intel you referenced. The 3600 has 32MB of l3 Cache and nothing in Intel's desktop lineup even comes within a mile of that.

The 3600 should easily pound your old Intel into dust. either its your cancerous cooling solution (hah I know, not yours, its AMD pathetic stock cooler) or your GPU is just outdated and is the bottleneck.

Also your ram, which I have no idea what you're running, is a MAJOR factor in Zen2 performance. You get the absolute top tier performance with Zen2, all of the chips, even Threadripper 3000 series all the same, when your ram is @ 3600 MT/s and your infinity fabric is set to 1800mhz. It turns out at that point the only thing that can improve performance past that point is running more aggressive timings to lower natural latency. We have threads floating around all over the forums about this. Also I just posted this thread which might help you achieve even faster performance once your cooling is figured out.

Link: Ryzen DRAM Calculator 1.7.0

Let the forum know if you need help using that app or understanding how to apply the settings. Again, I have no idea of your level of expertiese Verado, so forgive me if I seem to be holding your hand - not my intention. I also post responses to people in such a way that is informative for anyone to use as a point of reference. Not all but sometimes I try too.
Yeah, I know is the short answer to everyting. But OP was slow and I was bored and just went out and bought the stuff to try for myself and experiment a little.
After doing all the shit my wife wanted me to do today I went ahead and set all the fans to 100% and set the memory/IF to 3600/1800 and the timings to 16, 16, 16, 36. and performance was vastly improved. The cpu still gets hot as hell. It hit 81C and all cores got stuck at 3.9ghz, and thats just after ~10 minutes gaming. Stock cooler is just as crappy as an Intel cooler.
Arma 3 KOTH also has like 60% higher minimum fps and that is actually quite a big deal to me, as we're talking from ~30 fps to ~50, so I guess I wont be selling this off again.
Nothing left to to but wait for that cooler bracket to arrive..

Update: Lots of replies to keep up with but there was a basic issue and still possibly more.

Bottom line I am an idiot and the bracket fell off the back of mobo during install and I didnt realize. This cooler was not mounted at all.

Easy fix but a pain, I reseated but even then 1 of the 4 screws didnt catch until the first 3 were 100% tight which is probably another issue. I am not super experienced but this setup has been a big hassle. I plan to get another cooler as I am still getting 80 degrees in Pub G. Much better than 95 but still a bit warm to me.

My BIOS says E7C02AMS.350 11/07/2019
VCore 1.462V
DDR Voltage 1.380V

My friend also said the voltage is too high. I have never underclocked and do not particularly like playing around in there but if this is definitely wrong and needs to be fixed i will do it. I just don't understand why it happens. Why not just do it right the first time? lol. Never had this issues with my very old cpu.
Yeah thats an agressive vcore. Mine's never passed 1.369V. It's a known thing that motherboards for ryzen vary wildly in what voltage they will apply.
 

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
291
Yeah, I know is the short answer to everyting. But OP was slow and I was bored and just went out and bought the stuff to try for myself and experiment a little.
After doing all the shit my wife wanted me to do today I went ahead and set all the fans to 100% and set the memory/IF to 3600/1800 and the timings to 16, 16, 16, 36. and performance was vastly improved. The cpu still gets hot as hell. It hit 81C and all cores got stuck at 3.9ghz, and thats just after ~10 minutes gaming. Stock cooler is just as crappy as an Intel cooler.
Arma 3 KOTH also has like 60% higher minimum fps and that is actually quite a big deal to me, as we're talking from ~30 fps to ~50, so I guess I wont be selling this off again.
Nothing left to to but wait for that cooler bracket to arrive..



Yeah thats an agressive vcore. Mine's never passed 1.369V. It's a known thing that motherboards for ryzen vary wildly in what voltage they will apply.
Interesting. Seems like a whole other thread is needed for my voltage issues.
 

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
291
Yeah I hijacked yours :p
Yeah, I assumed you would think that is what I meant after I pressed enter lol......I meant the voltage issue not you haha. The more info the better for everyone. A lot of this stuff is beyond my knowledge but now I am thinking my RAM sucks and I need a new cooler.
 

Rvenger

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
1,963
Offset Vcore -0.10v then vcore will be around 1.36v and should be performing and boosting the same without all that extra heat. Just adjust the Vcore. Nothing else. Your temps should be in the 70s at load instead.
 

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
291
Offset Vcore -0.10v then vcore will be around 1.36v and should be performing and boosting the same without all that extra heat. Just adjust the Vcore. Nothing else. Your temps should be in the 70s at load instead.
Worked as stated. After getting my cooler on the right way I think my max was 87c one time. Only got a couple quick games in but after offsetting - .1v the max was 71c.
 

JohnRico

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
379
I just built a new ryzen 3600 system.

In a fractal meshify c. 2 front intake 140mm noctua fans. 1 top mounted noctua 120mm fan intake. 1 noctua 120mm exhaust, and a u14s heatsink. I don't see anything north of 65c during gaming. (I used noctua's nt-h2 paste in an x pattern.) I have noticed it flucuates A LOT in temps compared to my fx 8320 OC. Like anywhere between 35c and 55c depending in random loads - then the fans ramp up and it drops. Not really an issue - I think tjunction max is like, what? 90c or something? I know these new 7nm ryzen chips can run a little hot. I haven't stressed it yet - just some 4hr gaming sessions.
 

cyberguyz

Gawd
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
715
Had a similar issue with my 3970X. Even though having a loop with known good Bykski waterblock (used with my previous 1950X setup), 3x120mm rad DDS pump, I was shocked to be hitting 95c way too easy. The TRX40 Aorus Master motherboard comes stock with PBO enabled. It seems PBO on these chips will let the CPU run as fast as the cooling system allows. Turned off PBO and I barely hit 80c. I will be popping on a raystorm sTR3 waterblock on as soon as it gets to me from Australia.
 

tangoseal

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,272
Had a similar issue with my 3970X. Even though having a loop with known good Bykski waterblock (used with my previous 1950X setup), 3x120mm rad DDS pump, I was shocked to be hitting 95c way too easy. The TRX40 Aorus Master motherboard comes stock with PBO enabled. It seems PBO on these chips will let the CPU run as fast as the cooling system allows. Turned off PBO and I barely hit 80c. I will be popping on a raystorm sTR3 waterblock on as soon as it gets to me from Australia.
Is your gpu on that loop? Also a 3x120mm is too small for a over 300 watt CPU especially oc'd if you have a gpu in loop.

I have 7x120mm in my case and my gpu full load 2080ti is about 45c. My cpu full load never surpasses 65c - 3960x.
 

cyberguyz

Gawd
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
715
Is your gpu on that loop? Also a 3x120mm is too small for a over 300 watt CPU especially oc'd if you have a gpu in loop.

I have 7x120mm in my case and my gpu full load 2080ti is about 45c. My cpu full load never surpasses 65c - 3960x.
Just the CPU on the loop. Mid tower case so no room for 7x120mm. Rad fans are push only. I do have 2x 200mm fans - one in front the other on the door.
 

amittalkin

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
259
Had a similar issue with my 3970X. Even though having a loop with known good Bykski waterblock (used with my previous 1950X setup), 3x120mm rad DDS pump, I was shocked to be hitting 95c way too easy. The TRX40 Aorus Master motherboard comes stock with PBO enabled. It seems PBO on these chips will let the CPU run as fast as the cooling system allows. Turned off PBO and I barely hit 80c. I will be popping on a raystorm sTR3 waterblock on as soon as it gets to me from Australia.
Yea, I hhave bykski big block on my 3600 and I also hit around 82c while gaming. I have 360mm + 120mm rad with corsaird HD120 fans on it. Also my GPU is in loop. in short, these chips run very hot, no matter how good your cooling setup is. I have given up tweaking this chip already. Running it in stock as it is.
 
Top