New build, Ryzen 3600 getting 95.5c max temps

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
291
Not sure what is wrong but these temps seem extremely high.

Going to reseat the cooler but any other ideas? Using stock cooler and no OC. This was while playing Pub G.
20200202_224335.jpg
 

Tapper

n00b
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
21
Have you flashed the latest bios for your board? If that don't change anything. There is always the chance you have a broken censer.
 

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
291
Have you flashed the latest bios for your board? If that don't change anything. There is always the chance you have a broken censer.
Have not, TBH kind of scary and don't want to. But it says on my BIOS ver E7C02AMS.350 11/07/2019 and had the Ryzen 3000 sticker on the box.

What does AMD Ryzen Master say about the Temps?
Have not looked on there. New to Ryzen and will need to look into that.
 

Jamie Marsala

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
191
Too much paste will do that. What were you running that got you that temp? Prime95 will hit that temp on a stock cooler. But it should not ever come close to that in normal day to day. My 3900X does not even hit 95 anymore on Prime95, it did with the stock cooler and even high end Noctua Air Cooler. But I am pushing a second CCD so that will do that. Lol! Clean off the cooler and chip and put a thin layer of paste on the CPU for full cover and thin as possible. Make that cooler and heat plate one.
 

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
291
Too much paste will do that. What were you running that got you that temp? Prime95 will hit that temp on a stock cooler. But it should not ever come close to that in normal day to day. My 3900X does not even hit 95 anymore on Prime95, it did with the stock cooler and even high end Noctua Air Cooler. But I am pushing a second CCD so that will do that. Lol! Clean off the cooler and chip and put a thin layer of paste on the CPU for full cover and thin as possible. Make that cooler and heat plate one.
Pub G
 

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
291
There's no such thing when thermals are concerned, not to a point that would matter. The problem is elsewhere. Dual paste stacking could be an issue, but not the prime suspect.
I seated the cooler.....Then I took it off to flip it around so I put a dab more on there. I will clean it all and reseat, hoping that is the issue.
 

pendragon1

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
15,954
I seated the cooler.....Then I took it off to flip it around so I put a dab more on there. I will clean it all and reseat, hoping that is the issue.
probably a good chance it created big air pockets. cleaning, reapplying and re-seating should get it to normal.
 

Grimlaking

2[H]4U
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
3,130
I'd be curious to see your results. Under normal loading my 3900x hits 70ish maybe 72, and that's with a Wraith cooler.

Yes I plan to put an AIO in just have to get around to it.
 

newls1

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,228
all these replies saying to much paste is this dudes issue, is BULLSHIT. to much paste will not cause this and the "dab" he added isnt going to hurt a single thing. dude obviously has mounting issues, or voltage settings in bios are way out of wack. Please noobs, stop spreading false info to other noobs.
 

tangoseal

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,272
Thats not a voltage problem.

I have built literally hundreds upon hundreds of PCs.

You have a thermal cooling issue at play.


1. Remove all paste
2. clean all surfaces and top of chip using good old store bought 90% isopropryl rubbing alcohol
3. re-apply a thin coating of paste using your literal finger tip! yes use the tip of you finger and massage that paste on nice and thin and smooth and coverall the top of the chip (THIN man!)
4. reapply heat sink to cpu
5. PROPERLY, paying attention to the proper method per instructions, do not assume if you are relatively inexperienced.
6. tighten down the screws until they stop. If spring loaded springs should be fully compressed.
7. if using am4 clips, after clipping down, firmly jiggle the heatsink back and forth against the pressure of the clips to make sure a good solid and flat mating has occurred.


Enjoy your low temps!

But ensure that you are using the appropriate cooler. A cooler made for a dual core Athlon is not going to cool a 3600. Use the included cooler or upgrade for a small amount to a big tower stack cooler. Coolermaster makes some for like $30.00

Using my own methods described above my 24 core Threadripper is running at a very delicious 64C maximum load. Its 4x the number of cores you have and its running cooler than yours due to the method of application.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
21,763
the stock cooler is perfectly fine for the 3600.. more than likely there's an air pocket in the thermal paste if you used the stock paste then tried to apply more without cleaning everything.. also check which agesa version those bios use. if it's older then 1.0.0.3AB then update them. HWinfo's idle numbers are completely wack because it can't read AMD's sensor API data properly so just ignore the numbers you see at idle(or use ryzen master). but full load it should drop as low as 1.35-1.38v even at the max 4.2Ghz all core boost(if you can keep the cpu under 68C full load). also agree with one of the other comments, check your fan speeds could be that it's not ramping up properly, had that problem with my x370 taichi and the stock cooler on my 1600 where it refused to increase fan speed over 30% unless i put a manual fan curve in.
 

mnewxcv

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
6,615
do everything everyone else said. Reseat with fresh compound (a 1/4 inch diameter pea size is MORE than enough in the center of the cpu), and go in bios and set a custom fan curve to be at 100% fan speed at 80C.
 

OliverQueen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
162
This has to be the tenth or so person I have seen this week across various sites having issues with their Ryzen 3xxx processors hitting 95C under load. Not all these people can be making mounting mistakes & the people have been using a variety of different coolers from the stock Wraith through to Noctua behemoths & AIO's.
 

sabrewolf732

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Messages
4,162
The wraith stealth would cause a shut down very quickly with no fan spin. He would not be playing pubg :dead:
Have you tried it? I feel like it would take a period of time and throttling before shutdown. I have no experience with the wraith stealth and can't even test it so meh (well I could, but I don't want to disassemble a hardline setup for this test)
 

DrDoU

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
2,503
Those temps can not be right along with the voltage. I have a 2600 @4.1ghz max voltage is 1.35 across all cores according to hwinfo.the cpu does not go above 65c with a cheap corsair h60 aio cooler. Look in the bios and see if there are any settings that keep the cpu from obtaining those numbers ie cnq edc manually set the temp threshold.
 

mnewxcv

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
6,615
Have you tried it? I feel like it would take a period of time and throttling before shutdown. I have no experience with the wraith stealth and can't even test it so meh (well I could, but I don't want to disassemble a hardline setup for this test)
I have used the stealth (in the past week) and it is a pretty basic cooler. It is designed for 65w CPUs only. Just based on my experience with the cooler, and my experience in the past thinking hey, I should make this *insert CPU, GPU, northbridge, etc* passive! and being shocked how hot they got almost instantly, I would wager the 3600, when trying to boost especially (with 1.45v) would be hitting 95c by the time you reach the windows desktop.
 

tangoseal

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,272
This has to be the tenth or so person I have seen this week across various sites having issues with their Ryzen 3xxx processors hitting 95C under load. Not all these people can be making mounting mistakes & the people have been using a variety of different coolers from the stock Wraith through to Noctua behemoths & AIO's.
Yeah actually they can. It just so happens that 10 people out of hundreds of thousands sold is the 10 people that cant mount.

If you cant mount a factory clip on cooler how much better are you going to be at taking backplates off and installing standoffs etc....moot observation man.
 

OliverQueen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
162
Yeah actually they can. It just so happens that 10 people out of hundreds of thousands sold is the 10 people that cant mount.

If you cant mount a factory clip on cooler how much better are you going to be at taking backplates off and installing standoffs etc....moot observation man.
No it isn't as most of the people that have had the issues are people that have been building systems for more years than most of the users on this forum have been alive! Even after reseating heatsinks & other coolers, the same temperature issues are present. Strange how ALL their other systems including those on the same platform just not with a Ryzen 3xxx CPU are all operating at proper temperatures. You may also find that there are more people out there with the same problem that don't run HWINFO or other information software and not realising that their CPU's are hitting these temperatures under load.

Maybe you should take your fanboy blinkers off for a second and think that there is the possibility that there are processors that are running hot for some reason or another regardless of how the heatsink is mounted.
 

tangoseal

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,272
No it isn't as most of the people that have had the issues are people that have been building systems for more years than most of the users on this forum have been alive! Even after reseating heatsinks & other coolers, the same temperature issues are present. Strange how ALL their other systems including those on the same platform just not with a Ryzen 3xxx CPU are all operating at proper temperatures. You may also find that there are more people out there with the same problem that don't run HWINFO or other information software and not realising that their CPU's are hitting these temperatures under load.

Maybe you should take your fanboy blinkers off for a second and think that there is the possibility that there are processors that are running hot for some reason or another regardless of how the heatsink is mounted.
Oh there you go with the attacks .. I never attacked you

Youre clearly one of those types that are full of tolerance yet have intolerance for those that disagree with you.

Go ahead and call me a fanboy.

Every last CPU that is manufactured is throughly tested by a full power on, stability, and thermal test at the factory.
 

Jamie Marsala

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
191
So did OP clean everything off and re-apply the paste and heatsink yet? I have been sitting hear running P95 on my 3900X for the last 15 minutes and the highest temp I got so far was 75C. I am running it since I just installed a new MB yesterday and figured I would check it out since I had to take the system apart and of course apply new paste. I will add though that with the stock cooler on my chip I would hit 95C when running P95 for the same amount of time.
 

thesmokingman

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,713
Maybe you should take your fanboy blinkers off for a second and think that there is the possibility that there are processors that are running hot for some reason or another regardless of how the heatsink is mounted.
Troll is obvious...
 

Rvenger

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
1,963
First of all - Stock cooler... wraith stealth without copper slug requires to be ran at max fan speed for best results. Its a cost cutting version for the 3600. 2nd of all - VOLTAGE IS TOO HIGH. Undervolt by 0.10v. Some stock BIOS set the voltage too high especially for the stock cooler, it cannot handle the heat dissipation. 3rd of all, set to Balanced power plan and make sure cool and quiet is enabled in the BIOS. Set a much more aggressive fan curve once the core exceeds 70c.

4th of all - replace the stock cooler when given a chance. Hyper 212 black edition will work wonders with your temps and not break the bank.


Here is the new stock cooler for the 3600. It is simply not adequate.

IMG_20200206_141202473.jpg
 
Last edited:

Verado

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
251
I went out today and bought a 3600 and a b450 board. Smacked it into a fractal design r6 case with a msi rtx 2070 gaming z.. Fired it up all stock, including the anemic cpu hestsink with its stock paste.
Tried apex legends. Shit went to 87 degrees during the first game. 12.58 minutes. 11 kills and second place though.
Ordered an am4 mounting kit for an old hyper 212 i have, but will be a couple of weeks..
Anyways. I feel the performance was identical to my highly clocked 3770K.
Will likely get gains from activating xmp, better cooling, fiddling with fan profiles and some tuning.
 
Last edited:

Rvenger

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
1,963
I went out and bought a 3600 and a b450 board. Smacked it into a fractal design r6 case with a msi rtx 2070 gaming z.. Fired it up all stock, including the anemic cpu hestsink with its stock paste.
Tried apex legends. Shit went to 87 degrees during the first game. 12.58 minutes. 11 kills and second place though.
Ordered an am4 mounting kit for an old hyper 212 i have, but will be a couple of weeks..
Anyways. I feel the performance was identical to my highly clocked 3770K.
Will likely get gains from activating xmp, better cooling, fiddling with fan profiles and some tuning.
Likely because its probably hovering around base clock more often when its heating up. The stock coolers only guarantee base clock, and boost is only for when the chip is able to exceed TDP by the heatsink being able to properly saturate and remove the heat.
 

tangoseal

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,272
I went out today and bought a 3600 and a b450 board. Smacked it into a fractal design r6 case with a msi rtx 2070 gaming z.. Fired it up all stock, including the anemic cpu hestsink with its stock paste.
Tried apex legends. Shit went to 87 degrees during the first game. 12.58 minutes. 11 kills and second place though.
Ordered an am4 mounting kit for an old hyper 212 i have, but will be a couple of weeks..
Anyways. I feel the performance was identical to my highly clocked 3770K.
Will likely get gains from activating xmp, better cooling, fiddling with fan profiles and some tuning.
You are not allowing the chip to breathe with the stock cooler. It can't even come close to its performance potential. the 3600 is absolutely far far more powerful than the old Intel you referenced. The 3600 has 32MB of l3 Cache and nothing in Intel's desktop lineup even comes within a mile of that.

The 3600 should easily pound your old Intel into dust. either its your cancerous cooling solution (hah I know, not yours, its AMD pathetic stock cooler) or your GPU is just outdated and is the bottleneck.

Also your ram, which I have no idea what you're running, is a MAJOR factor in Zen2 performance. You get the absolute top tier performance with Zen2, all of the chips, even Threadripper 3000 series all the same, when your ram is @ 3600 MT/s and your infinity fabric is set to 1800mhz. It turns out at that point the only thing that can improve performance past that point is running more aggressive timings to lower natural latency. We have threads floating around all over the forums about this. Also I just posted this thread which might help you achieve even faster performance once your cooling is figured out.

Link: Ryzen DRAM Calculator 1.7.0

Let the forum know if you need help using that app or understanding how to apply the settings. Again, I have no idea of your level of expertiese Verado, so forgive me if I seem to be holding your hand - not my intention. I also post responses to people in such a way that is informative for anyone to use as a point of reference. Not all but sometimes I try too.
 
Last edited:

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
291
Update: Lots of replies to keep up with but there was a basic issue and still possibly more.

Bottom line I am an idiot and the bracket fell off the back of mobo during install and I didnt realize. This cooler was not mounted at all.

Easy fix but a pain, I reseated but even then 1 of the 4 screws didnt catch until the first 3 were 100% tight which is probably another issue. I am not super experienced but this setup has been a big hassle. I plan to get another cooler as I am still getting 80 degrees in Pub G. Much better than 95 but still a bit warm to me.

My BIOS says E7C02AMS.350 11/07/2019
VCore 1.462V
DDR Voltage 1.380V

My friend also said the voltage is too high. I have never underclocked and do not particularly like playing around in there but if this is definitely wrong and needs to be fixed i will do it. I just don't understand why it happens. Why not just do it right the first time? lol. Never had this issues with my very old cpu.
 
Top