New ASUS X570 BIOS Update [02/05/2021] - Version 3405

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,819
I lost some performance with 3602. 3Dmark, cinebench15,23 all show a bit of a drop in multicore perf despite shoing a mhz increase in ryzen master. Also noticed my edc tops at 140a instead of 190a.
 

Makaveli@BETA

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
2,428
The Aida fix is working and I have slighly lower latency on this new bios.

Bios 3001

Latency on 5800X3.PNG


Bios 3602

Aida new bios.PNG


My EDC is still 190A I have PBO 2 set to use motherboard for limits.

ryzen master edc.PNG
 

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,819
I went back to 3405 and confirmed my EDC is at 190A there. 3602 improves single core performance in cpu-z from 662->667, but drops multi core performance in both 3dmark and cinebench 23. This is confusing as ryzen master shows me touching 4.5ghz multi core speeds in 3602, but barely touching 4.4 in 3405. SC speeds seem to touch 4.8-4.9 in both bios versions where 3602 touched 4.9 more often.

I scored 21750-21950 on avg with 3405 but on 3602, it does 21320 at best. Since my games tend to flow with the cinebench and 3dmark scores, I will stick with 3405 until a BIOS comes out with AGESA 1.2.0.2 with the official USB fix.

CPU power draw seems lower in 3602 as well, I barely break 160W, while I am touching 170W with 3405 at full load. The drop in power draw seems to correspond with the drop in performance, most likely the EDC capped at 145A is hurting that last bit of performance. I am running -30 on all my weak cores and -4 on the strong ones and a neg voltage offset on cpu 0.0525.
 

Makaveli@BETA

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
2,428
I went back to 3405 and confirmed my EDC is at 190A there. 3602 improves single core performance in cpu-z from 662->667, but drops multi core performance in both 3dmark and cinebench 23. This is confusing as ryzen master shows me touching 4.5ghz multi core speeds in 3602, but barely touching 4.4 in 3405. SC speeds seem to touch 4.8-4.9 in both bios versions where 3602 touched 4.9 more often.

When I was on Bios 3001 I had single core boost to 5050mhz then when I updated to 3405 that was 5025mhz and now on 3602 single boost are back up to 5050mhz.

For CPU z are you doing like 3 runs then taking the average I find with that benchmark the scores go up and down alot.
 

evhvis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2021
Messages
343
I went back to 3405 and confirmed my EDC is at 190A there. 3602 improves single core performance in cpu-z from 662->667, but drops multi core performance in both 3dmark and cinebench 23. This is confusing as ryzen master shows me touching 4.5ghz multi core speeds in 3602, but barely touching 4.4 in 3405. SC speeds seem to touch 4.8-4.9 in both bios versions where 3602 touched 4.9 more often.

I scored 21750-21950 on avg with 3405 but on 3602, it does 21320 at best. Since my games tend to flow with the cinebench and 3dmark scores, I will stick with 3405 until a BIOS comes out with AGESA 1.2.0.2 with the official USB fix.

CPU power draw seems lower in 3602 as well, I barely break 160W, while I am touching 170W with 3405 at full load. The drop in power draw seems to correspond with the drop in performance, most likely the EDC capped at 145A is hurting that last bit of performance. I am running -30 on all my weak cores and -4 on the strong ones and a neg voltage offset on cpu 0.0525.
Didn't see much of a performance difference between AGESA 1.1.0.0 patch C, 1.2.0.0 and 1.2.0.1. All are around 21500-21800 in cinebench R23 with D.O.C.P. + TRC memory profile and all other settings at stock (auto/default). Score mostly depends on ambient temp. CPU-Z is around 675-677 for all three bios versions.

AIDA64 for 3.2.0.1
1615832691764.png
 
Last edited:

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,819
My runs are average runs. I usually run it multiple times to see where it lands at. 3405 scores better in multi core and 3602 scores better in single thread.

I ran some vermintide 2 runs, not exactly the best indicator, but when averaged out, it shows the same conclusion; mc score is down a bit. I can break 200 fps consistently with 3405, but only see it touch 200 1 run out of 10 on 3602.
 

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,819
3603 beta is out. It has added the USB connectivity fix in the notes. I will still avoid this version until it is out of beta as I'm not trusting 360x performance for multi core.
 

Makaveli@BETA

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
2,428
3603 beta is out. It has added the USB connectivity fix in the notes. I will still avoid this version until it is out of beta as I'm not trusting 360x performance for multi core.

I never load beta's so I will wait for final build but thanks for the update.
 

sk3tch

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
1,976
Kind of related - so I hope this is an OK place to post it.

I was browsing the web and watching a YouTube video today when my monitors just went dark. PC was still "on" but definitely not responsive. Reset - nothing. Power off, power on - nothing. Checked the Q-code (ASUS Crosshair Hero VIII Wi-Fi) and it was "0d" - found this thread and this thread - removed mem, switched order around, nothing. Went to one stick - booted. Removed DOCP to get past BIOS - into Windows - all good. Powered off, reinstalled all 4 sticks of mem (3600 MHz G.Skill), and I've been running HCL Memtest and mining away with NiceHash QuickMiner all day simultaneously without an issue (still on 2133 MHz mem, DOCP off).

I'm running the 3302 BIOs (and have been since it released - without issue) - I read up on the AMD USB issue and this doesn't sound like my prob. Should I roll the new 3401 beta??

Any thoughts or is this just kind of part of the "foibles" of running on a new, cutting edge platform like Zen 3? (AMD Noob - Intel previously for 20+ years). Thanks.

EDIT: after a few hours of running solid it crashed with "90" in the Q-code LED. A reset got me back and I had to go to the BIOS to get it to boot (interestingly, only the HDMI connection to my 3080 worked - the DP connection was not displaying, until I made it past the BIOS reset). I then YOLO'd and put on the beta 3401. Probably the opposite of what to do at this point...but I don't understand what's up.

I'm now thinking it is maybe a video issue? The 90 code has people trying their cards with HDMI instead of DP or vice versa. Very, very strange.

EDIT: so far, so good after the 3401 BIOS. Going to let it run overnight. This image is the best "welcome to AMD" thing ever - running a 3/19 beta on 3/22. LOL. Granted - it's beta...but I love it.
welcome_to_amd.PNG
 
Last edited:

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,819
3801 is out for the Strix x570 now. It has the most recent AGESA 1.2.0.2 in it.
 

Makaveli@BETA

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
2,428
3801 is out for the Strix x570 now. It has the most recent AGESA 1.2.0.2 in it.

Important to note that is beta.

I'm going to stay on 3603 for now until that is out of beta then I will check it out. Everything has been good so far on this current bios.
 

sk3tch

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
1,976
Important to note that is beta.

I'm going to stay on 3603 for now until that is out of beta then I will check it out. Everything has been good so far on this current bios.
For the Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi) they called it beta then removed the beta text after about a week - same version. lol
 

Makaveli@BETA

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
2,428
For the Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi) they called it beta then removed the beta text after about a week - same version. lol

That is what you see posted on the site but how do you know what is done internally before that is posted :)

I'm usually not in a rush so I prefer to wait since I work from home on this machine.
 

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,819
I was on 3603 and tried 3801. Both work fine on my setup and I am running 3866/1933.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,899
I'll have to look for the TUF X570 version. They still have the 3801 on its support page.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,899
I can't even bring up the global site for the TUF 570 Plus right now, so I'll just wait it out for a few days until they post it.
 

RareAir23

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
307
New ROG Crosshair VIII Hero BIOS went live a couple of days back. Details below:

Version 3601
Date 6/16/21
1. Update AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch A
2. Improve system stability

There you have it. Out!
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
So after further testing the 4001 bios really screwed my pbo up it was only holding 3900-4200mhz switched back to 3801 and gots back to 4500+ in cb20.
 
Last edited:

Terje_P

n00b
Joined
Jul 18, 2020
Messages
29
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/BIOS/ROG-STRIX-X570-F-GAMING-ASUS-4002.ZIP This now leads to a download, Asus will probably update their website soon.

The update should be here whenever it comes out officially.
https://rog.asus.com/motherboards/rog-strix/rog-strix-x570-f-gaming-model/helpdesk_bios

Out on their Chinese site.
https://rog.asus.com/tw/motherboards/rog-strix/rog-strix-x570-f-gaming-model/helpdesk_bios

ROG STRIX X570-F GAMING BIOS 4002
"1. Update AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch A
2. Improve system stability

Out on US site now.
https://rog.asus.com/us/motherboards/rog-strix/rog-strix-x570-f-gaming-model/helpdesk_bios
 
Last edited:

Makaveli@BETA

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
2,428
So after further testing the 4001 bios really screwed my pbo up it was only holding 3900-4200mhz switched back to 3801 and gots back to 4500+ in cb20.

I haven't noticed this on my rig but there are differences in PBO in Zen 2 vs Zen 3
 

Shadowarez

Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2019
Messages
876
i have noticed with my current rig coming from 3302 to 3603 my temps jumped up but so has my boost i was hittin 4679 regularly hitting about 60c max now im hittin 4987-5000 idle temps seem to be 50c load temps are about a same 60c-65c. i changed my cooler to a arctic 280 aio ill be changing to a 420 once it arrives. old cooler was a deepcool assassin 3.
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
new bios out for the x570 boards, i loaded it last night and today i started messing with my overclock and was able to go from 4800/4600 1.37 under load to 4775/4700 at 1.28 under load so seems new bios is working better for me i lost 25mhz on ccd1 but gained 100mhz on ccd2 and was able to shave quite a bit off.
Version 4010 Beta Version

2021/07/22 20.42 MBytes

ROG STRIX X570-E GAMING BIOS 4010
"update AMD AM4 AGESA to Combo V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch B
Improve system stability.
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
was gonna try it but none of the x570 strix boards have the update for some reason every other asus x570 has it.
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
yea i just installed the new 4021 and my oc is very unstable now and temps are higher for some reason i been rocking these same settings for 2 months problem free.
 

undertaker2k8

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
1,816
No changes on mine thus far, the 48 GB RAM had boot problems at 3600 earlier, this did not solve those. Dialed down to 3200 CL16 as I noted on the other thread.
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
No changes on mine thus far, the 48 GB RAM had boot problems at 3600 earlier, this did not solve those. Dialed down to 3200 CL16 as I noted on the other thread.
tons of issues for me pbo wont work it wouldn't even post kept getting random cpu overheat warnings when it waset even hitting 90c im back on 4010 to see if the issues goes away.
 
Top