New 2080ti now with 16 Gbps memory

Nirad9er

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 18, 2004
Messages
2,561
Seems a little late to buy a 2080Ti considering the new 3xxx series is on the horizon and will likely have a card that equals or exceeds the 2080Ti at a much more reasonable price. Anyone that buys a 2080T right now, will instantly lose half the value of the card when the 3xxx series comes out since the 2080ti is so grossly overpriced.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,309
5% performance bump isn't going to allow you to play any games with the 2080ti any better. I feel good about my day 1 purchase, but a year and half after release buying one now? Seems silly.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
57,931
Agreed on all counts. It's a shame that AIB development of some of these cards takes so long. The really good stuff always comes around at the end of the product's life cycle. Unfortunately, cards like this will never be made in large quantities and almost no one would buy them for the reasons stated above.
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
30,752
The box art in the article still says 11 GB...lazy Photoshop artist?
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,309
The issue is that the 2080ti already has decent memory bandwidth due to the bus width, it's not really a deficiency of the card compared to the lower end models.
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,321
The issue is that the 2080ti already has decent memory bandwidth due to the bus width, it's not really a deficiency of the card compared to the lower end models.

My 2080 is sitting on +1000 on the memory, so... it's already 16gbps?! :p
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2018
Messages
637
This either optimizes usage of their component inventory, or they have info that leads them to believe they had time to do one last little update because the changeover to Ampere is pushed back a bit.
 

NKD

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
8,696
if anyone is buying 2080ti brand new right now this late in sales cycle. Its a tragedy in itself but I get it your money your buy doesn't matter how late it is lol.
 

CraptacularOne

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
176
Did doing so boost performance much at all?

I suppose these could run 17-18 gbps overclocked then if stock is 16 gbps.
A little bit, but not drastically so. I saw a much larger performance gain when overclocking the core unsurprisingly. With over 600gbps at stock speed, they aren't terribly bandwidth limited to begin with.
 

mrnuke

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
139
There aren't too many AAA games right now that take full advantage of all that VRAM, but I'm sure more are coming, especially once big Navi and Ampere roll around
 

Nightfire

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
3,123
There aren't too many AAA games right now that take full advantage of all that VRAM, but I'm sure more are coming, especially once big Navi and Ampere roll around

Ampere will not see such vram size changes other than the rumored 3080 going 320 bit or 10 GB. I expect that card to be faster than the 11 GB 2080ti, just as the 8 GB 2080/2070 Super are faster than the 11 GB 1080ti.

Bandwidth and frame buffer size has not really needed to increase in the last 5 years the same way as gpu power.
 

mrnuke

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
139
Ampere will not see such vram size changes other than the rumored 3080 going 320 bit or 10 GB. I expect that card to be faster than the 11 GB 2080ti, just as the 8 GB 2080/2070 Super are faster than the 11 GB 1080ti.

Bandwidth and frame buffer size has not really needed to increase in the last 5 years the same way as gpu power.
Agreed, we'll see the biggest boost in GPU power moving forward, but usually a reason why they don't put 16-32gb of vRam on the high end cards as it would 1) make them even more obscenely expensive and 2) Games are fine within the 8-12gb range, but inevitably it'll change down the road
 

Elios

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
7,250
Why? Memory amount hasn't been much of a limitation. I guess it might start climbing when the new consoles come out.
i do flight sims with lots of ortho i can fill 8GB of vram with out trying with just zoom level 16 ortho
and im in the Microsoft Flight Sim alpha and well lets just say more vram would nice to have
 
Last edited:
Top