Network transfer speeds are terrible

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by cj3waker, May 5, 2014.

  1. cj3waker

    cj3waker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,492
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    I'm not sure what changed, but I am no longer able to stream of my home server

    windows home server 2011 with drive bender using the onboard sata 3gbps ports

    wireless N devices are all connected at 300mbps and transfer speeds are around 512kbps. I switched to an old wrt54g and the speeds went up just a hair to about 1mbps while showing a 54mbps connection

    copying an item from the drive bender pool on the home server to the boot drive averages around 150mbps, so it doesn't seem as though the drive pool is causing slow reads. I have tried using xbmc shares which are unplayable and navigating to the shared folders through the network and copying (which is how I based my drive speed)

    I am beginning to think I should just dump for freenas
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2014
  2. Mackintire

    Mackintire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,895
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    2 things.

    Use a wireless site survey tool and make sure you're not overlapping spectrum with a neighbor.

    Change the channel width setting on your 2.4Ghz wireless to 20Mhz. Your speed should be 144Mbps.

    Using WPA2 AES, 20Mhz channel width you should be able to stream files at 9-11MBps or 66-88Mbps.

    40Mhz channel width can be faster, but only with, an excellent signal, compatible client/server radios, no overlap in the wireless spectrum and no wireless noise present.

    Keep in mind that mbps and Mbps are two different things. As MBps and Mbps are also two different measurements.

    Mega verses milli

    Bytes verses bits
     
  3. cj3waker

    cj3waker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,492
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    I don't think the ssid overlap is the issue, There are only 2 networks present, 37132 (mine) and frugusomething
    [​IMG]

    my devices that connect at 300Mbitps are also doing so without any issue, but once again my transfer speed is around 512KByteps

    when switching to a wrt 54g to rule out my current router, speeds ran between 512KByteps and 1MByteps, while showing a 54mbitps connection.

    I am fairly certain it has something to do with the actual computers that are in use, but all my firewalls are opened up and I've done everything I can think of
     
  4. Cerulean

    Cerulean [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,236
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Find a doughnut-shaped magnet and coil your Ethernet cable through and around it a few times. After a while the electrons "burn in" the copper wiring and you need to use a magnetic to keep it amplified. The marketing of Ethernet cables are a scam when they say it is capable of 100/1000Mbit -- yes it's true but only until electrons have worn out the copper enough. This should improve your wireless signal strengths because not enough data can get through the copper wiring every second to sustain the speeds you desire.
     
  5. cj3waker

    cj3waker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,492
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    im wireless
     
  6. Cerulean

    Cerulean [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,236
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Your home server is networked wirelessly, no wire?
     
  7. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,168
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    You have a 2 bar connection. I'd start with upping your connection status. Make sure the antenna is connected to the WLAN card. There is no way with 2 bars you are connected at 300mbps.
     
  8. tacos4me

    tacos4me Gawd

    Messages:
    776
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    yep, terrible signal. rssi of -80dB is no good.
     
  9. cj3waker

    cj3waker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,492
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    I dropped to a 20mhz connection at 144mbps.

    changed to 4 bar signal, -70 db, and transfer speeds of ~1.5mbps

    tried a bunch of other tweaks, disabling auto tune, OCL etc. nothing mattered

    All I want to do is stream bd over my network

    ETA: and yes both this and my server are wireless

    ran an ethernet cable across the house just to test, still sitting a 1.5MBps real world transfer speed
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2014
  10. klank

    klank Killer of Killer NIC Threadz

    Messages:
    2,134
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Disable the Wifi adapter when you do that test.

    If you did then something is wrong with either your server or laptop.
     
  11. cj3waker

    cj3waker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,492
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    wifi was disabled, and Im pretty certain something is wrong with either of the devices. Im just trying to figure out what
     
  12. klank

    klank Killer of Killer NIC Threadz

    Messages:
    2,134
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Do you have something else to test with? Another laptop/desktop, etc.
     
  13. cj3waker

    cj3waker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,492
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    another wireless desktop running off the same server was getting 6-7MBps, still seems pretty slow, but a lot better than what I have.

    I think tomorrow I may just end up running ethernet through the attic. I'm pretty over this
     
  14. Innocence

    Innocence 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,604
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Between 2 wireless N clients, 6-7MB/s SMB2 goodput is pretty much maxed out. http://bradreese.com/aruba-test.pdf

    Rule of thumb with Wireless is start from 60% overhead as a perfect scenario. Theoretical maximum for TCP over 300mbps Wireless N is around 130mpbs or 16MB/s
     
  15. Mackintire

    Mackintire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,895
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    I have no clue how I constantly beat the avg.

    144Mbps wireless N connection and I see 10-11MBps on unidirectional TCP type transfers. Between a wireless device and my server.

    Granted my signal strength shows around 55dbm while performing transfers.
     
  16. tacos4me

    tacos4me Gawd

    Messages:
    776
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    did you possibly introduce a new wireless device around the time this started happening? recall i had a strange issue kinda similar to this awhile back. network worked fine (20/40mhz) but as soon as i'd hop on to the wifi with my macbook pro, terrible performance.. even wired clients, same as you, and i have a pfsense box. fixed it by locking in 20mhz, 54mbit.

    strange shit. i dunno man, wifi is not my forte (it sucks). i know you said you tried a wrt54g, but try putting your new AP at those settings. kill the radio entirely, try running wired again and see what you get. wireless is pretty stupid, i'd just wire it anyway to be honest.
     
  17. Mackintire

    Mackintire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,895
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Two wireless clients on the same radio....yes. Each client transmits, the radio receives and then retransmits the signal.

    Throughput is cut in half since wireless is a half-duplex medium. 6-7Mbps is a good measurement when the AP is acting as a repeater.

    In my case there's no repeating since the data is being received by the AP and sent over the physical wire to the server.
     
  18. cj3waker

    cj3waker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,492
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    ran some ethernet.

    Intel GBE NIC to Into GBE NIC, mapped network drive transfer are running around 120mbps.

    wifi sucks
     
  19. Mackintire

    Mackintire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,895
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    I hope that was a typo.... 120mbps = 15MBps is pretty terrible for gigabit ethernet.


    Gigabit is 1000Mbps.

    800Mbps = 100MBps
     
  20. cj3waker

    cj3waker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,492
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010