Network pics thread

nexusalt

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
83
So far I'm loving it. Couple things I'm trying to figure out though. I was under the impression when wifi devices connect the led turns from green to blue.

It should....mine does anyway. That's actually the most entertaining thing about it, lol.
 

guile

n00b
Joined
Jan 29, 2009
Messages
39
God I love this thread, please keep them coming guys, and I will be contributing my own soon also!

SONIC BOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!
 

lithium381

n00b
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
3
Our ISP is and has been Ventelo for the last couple of years, this time they delievered us 30Gbit/s internet over a OC768 link (hence the need for a CRS-1) We used a private ASN and borrowed IP-addresses from ripe (89.22.0.0/16)



Mostly for getting ASN statistics in our netflow data ;) Fun fact, writing a route-policy wrong and injecting the whole BGP table into EIGRP does not make the CRS-1 crash ;) Learning by doing.



Everything that happened on stage (talks, concerts etc) was multicasted for everyone to watch, we also had some tv-channels.


Actually we didnt run VSS due to the control-plane limitations. We have extensive use of ip helper-address (play LAN games between subnets hack). We tried this one year with VSS and spiked the CPU hard. However the VSS sups are sweet due to their built-in 10G ports.



Network wise the sponsors are our ISP (Ventelo) my employer (ATEA) and Cisco. I started planning the network about 3 months before the party. And we start building it 5 days before the participants arrive.

Small commercial Cisco made at TG10:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R6XCaHX410o

I was curious to know what games were played, and if you have specific data in regards to the bandwidth consumed by various multiplayer games played...
 

lithium381

n00b
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
3
rack1.gif

top to bottom
3620
3620
2610
2610
2611
2621
2621
2511
2950T
2950T
2950-24
2950G
2950G
3524XL
3640
3640
4006(Sup II, 4232-L3, 4148)
--------------------------------------------
1720
Teltone ILS1000
Teltone ILS2000
871W
1720
1721
1924
1924
2924XL
rack2.gif

rack4.gif

rack3.gif
 

agrikk

Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
933
Some pics from my office move thread:


04.JPG


Dell PoE unit
Dell PowerConnect 6248P switch
Dell PoE unit
Dell PowerConnect 6248P switch



05.JPG


Cisco 1941 Series Router
Sonicwall 4500
Dell PowerConnect 2716
Cisco 1941 Series Router
 

dan__wright

Weaksauce
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
91
not too much to see in these,

new core network rack im building up, cat6a to the other racks for uplinks. fibre will be in the bottom, kit for laser link (fso) will be in the middle.

4668307463_5cafc70f5f.jpg



and one of the messy racks that is being ripped out and replaced / tidied this weekend
4668289683_3f965e6b2d.jpg
 

MikeTrike

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
11,484
lol, just 100

Yeah I was gonna say, there's like a $3,000 price difference. You can pick up the 100Mbps x 48 for pennies on the dollar. You can sell body parts to get the 1000Mbps x 48 modules. :p

Depending on how a partners deal goes through tomorrow I might end up with Dual 6509's with the same specs, SUP2, 16 x GBIC, 48 x 100Mbps, 16 x GigE, Dual 1300W PS. I'm also going to be moving my gear around inside of Colo4 to a new cabinet this weekend... FUN I'll take pics of the new setup and post that up. Mostly server related gear being moved/added.
 
Last edited:

iGamer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
1,663
PFSense Box
2.53GHz Celeron D
1GB PC2700 DDR
2x Intel Pro/100 S Nics.

P0606100000.jpg


Asus WL-520Gu for Wireless running Tomato 1.27
Linksys Cable Modem... seems to be rock solid and has never overheated, despite putting it through its paces on a daily basis.
3com Baseline 2824 24 port Gigabit Switch.. $60 ebay :D

P0606100001.jpg
 

dan__wright

Weaksauce
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
91
so i re-did the rack on sunday

before:
and one of the messy racks that is being ripped out and replaced / tidied this weekend
4668289683_3f965e6b2d.jpg


and after:
4678522774_1754843dd0_b.jpg


its still not 100%, i needed some slightly longer cables than expected so had to go on the left until i can getthem in and re-patch them and i cant put the management in the very bottom until bt get my new circuit in as the old one is in the way.
 

dan__wright

Weaksauce
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
91
yep, 2650pwr (voip poe) at the top, the rest are 2810-48g, big one sneaking in to the pic on the right is 8212 but its not gone into service yet
 
Last edited:

agrikk

Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
933
Just posted some more pics in my office move work log thread, but here's some highlights:


two domain controllers and KVM
IMG_2001.JPG



Cabling routers, public switch and firewall
IMG_2005.JPG



server cables going in
IMG_2008.JPG
 
Last edited:

agrikk

Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
933
Hah. Like I could quit mid-project.

Though the thought is tempting sometimes... :D
 

agrikk

Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
933
What's the specs of them?


Single quad-core Xeon X3430 @ 2.4GHz
4GB RAM
2x 160GB SATA drives in RAID-1
iLO100 remote management


I really like these machines. They're snappy, the SmartStart software is a cinch to use and hassle-free.

My only gripe is that they don't come with cable management arms. Sliding them out of the rack for any kind of maintenance means either you've left three feet of slack hanging down the back of your cabinet (which will probably unplug as you slide it out anyways), or you unplug it to pull it out.
 

looki92

n00b
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
9
Single quad-core Xeon X3430 @ 2.4GHz
4GB RAM
2x 160GB SATA drives in RAID-1
iLO100 remote management


I really like these machines. They're snappy, the SmartStart software is a cinch to use and hassle-free.

My only gripe is that they don't come with cable management arms. Sliding them out of the rack for any kind of maintenance means either you've left three feet of slack hanging down the back of your cabinet (which will probably unplug as you slide it out anyways), or you unplug it to pull it out.
okei.

@school we have DL320, and we have the same problem.
 

calvinj

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,738
My only gripe is that they don't come with cable management arms. Sliding them out of the rack for any kind of maintenance means either you've left three feet of slack hanging down the back of your cabinet (which will probably unplug as you slide it out anyways), or you unplug it to pull it out.

Guess I'll start looking at these servers instead.. :D I hate cable management arms. With a passion. I guess I'm use to if I have to work on a server it's getting shutdown anyways to be pulled back to a tech bench.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
643
Guess I'll start looking at these servers instead.. :D I hate cable management arms. With a passion. I guess I'm use to if I have to work on a server it's getting shutdown anyways to be pulled back to a tech bench.

I have to disagree, I love the cable management arms on our HP DL385 G5s, they are a dream to be able to pull a server out from the middle of a stack and not have to worry about unplugging something else by mistake. I have done a lot of maintenance / upgrades all still in the rack.
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
The only cable management arms I can stand are the sun micro systems sunfire ones, they're fantastic. no sagging like the dell ones, rock solid.
 

RiDDLeRThC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
3,962
I have to disagree, I love the cable management arms on our HP DL385 G5s, they are a dream to be able to pull a server out from the middle of a stack and not have to worry about unplugging something else by mistake. I have done a lot of maintenance / upgrades all still in the rack.

Same here, I love being able to pull out our servers and do ram upgrades, addon cards, cpu swaps. pretty much anything can be done except maybe a motherboard.
 

calvinj

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,738
I have to disagree, I love the cable management arms on our HP DL385 G5s, they are a dream to be able to pull a server out from the middle of a stack and not have to worry about unplugging something else by mistake. I have done a lot of maintenance / upgrades all still in the rack.

Well you can drive 45 some minutes over to my place and deal with all of my cable management arm stuff. I've just never had good luck with them. Oh well. I'll have to learn soon enough
 

k1pp3r

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
8,314
Well you can drive 45 some minutes over to my place and deal with all of my cable management arm stuff. I've just never had good luck with them. Oh well. I'll have to learn soon enough

Some are good, some are total crap.

I have one for a HP server that is flimbsy and doesn't stay on, i have others that are top notch
 

MikeTrike

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
11,484
Finally got some new shots, after the move to our new cab. Our previous colo provider managed to sell out, making life a little more fun. :(

 

MikeTrike

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
11,484
Are those Load Balancers? At any rate, they look cool. :p That's worth $75 right there!
 
Top