Network pics thread

deaddawg

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
111
Hey Deadddawg, Fancy sending me that UC500? Since your not using it :D

How do you find them anyway. Been looking into them for some small clients but cant seem to get anything beyond marketing.

Haha that would be nice, wouldn't it? ;-)

Just place an order with Cisco, that is what I did.
 

djBon2112

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 29, 2006
Messages
5,279
20652_1379314365191_1301855121_1080512_502261_n.jpg

I have no idea what that is, besides a 3com switch. Is it special? :p
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
it is L2, 3com 4226T, 24x 10/100 + 2x 10/100/1000
I got it for 20$

they were giving away a stack of those at work a while ago, i regret not taking a few, would have come in handy. still haven't got around to buying a cisco gigabit switch w/ poe :(
 

versello

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 19, 2003
Messages
2,061
Just upgraded my home network recently.

Out with the old...

21niavp.jpg


In with the new!

4taxkk.jpg


2hp66x3.jpg


I also have a couple 2600 and 3600s laying around, but not pictured.
 

SysOps

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
72
Just my home network
One of my voip phones. Converted to Sip running off trixbox / google voice DID DOD.. got to love free calls
100_5660.jpg


Patch Panel
100_5665.jpg

100_5734.jpg


Random front pic
100_5758.jpg


Pic during cable redo..
100_5735.jpg


and the side of my rack.. (i know the stickers make it look cheap.. but its my home network so.. )
100_5664.jpg
 
Last edited:

calvinj

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,738
I want to know how out with the 871 in with the srx is treating him.. And when can he ship me that 871.. I'll pay for the shipping ;)
 

B1zz

Gawd
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
932
I want to know how out with the 871 in with the srx is treating him.. And when can he ship me that 871.. I'll pay for the shipping ;)


QFT....

PIF 871.....i'm still rocking a linksys DDWRT flash....help a brother out! :p
 

SysOps

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
72
+2
On my DMZ, Modified Tomato firmware, overclocked , Copper heat sinks with diamond compound on mainchip and amp. Serial port, SD card ,Wifi Amp Voltage increase, Dual color Leds indicate Authorized access (green) / unauthorized access (red), Led indicate VPN access (no longer used) memory upgrade ( a pain to solder all those pins)and remote TAP interface (just in case)

100_5802.jpg
 

B1zz

Gawd
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
932
+2
On my DMZ, Modified Tomato firmware, overclocked , Copper heat sinks with diamond compound on mainchip and amp. Serial port, SD card ,Wifi Amp Voltage increase, Dual color Leds indicate Authorized access (green) / unauthorized access (red), Led indicate VPN access (no longer used) memory upgrade ( a pain to solder all those pins)and remote TAP interface (just in case)

100_5802.jpg

frankenrouter...:p

i knew alot of those mods were feasible, never actually seen/heard someone do them...my router is still stable as a rock...comcast sucks the big fat one, more often than not causing the reasons for reboots. longest i can remember going was something like ~250 days without reboot then the ups died while on vacation when the power went out..... /cry
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
I'm rockin' the cisco 871W, but I use a Cisco 1131 AP for my wireless, have wifi disabled on the router.
 

Darakian

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 12, 2004
Messages
4,698
+2
On my DMZ, Modified Tomato firmware, overclocked , Copper heat sinks with diamond compound on mainchip and amp. Serial port, SD card ,Wifi Amp Voltage increase, Dual color Leds indicate Authorized access (green) / unauthorized access (red), Led indicate VPN access (no longer used) memory upgrade ( a pain to solder all those pins)and remote TAP interface (just in case)
*Snip*
Can we get some pics of the inside? :D
 

SysOps

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
72
what are the switches for?

100_5803.jpg

I will post pics of the inside during my next PMI (maintenance) although its kinda packed/rats nest
The silver switch on top turns on and off the fan (noisy when it was in my dorm room)
The other switch on top turn off the LEDs that show the authorized/unauth access, .. It is wired into three dual color LEDS. One on top and 2 in the legs. The 2 other red LEDs on top only come on during Unauthentic access.. (AND THEY BLINK. WOOT). The auth table is only a basic IP list.. so nothing special.. (wish i could load snort.. )
On the front, the right most switch boost the power going to the wifi amp.(has not fried the amp yet..) . the LED under it shows status,
The other switch on front is supposed to turn off the VPN function.. but i never got it working right.. the other LED is also tied into the VPN.. also not working 100%.. (got a new shiny to play with)
The leds are controlled by the serial port (that's why i don't have a DB9 on the outside)
 

xphil3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,212
Once you go JUNOS, IOS becomes a distant memory. :p
I agree. I am looking forward to the MX80 myself. :)
You guys are all straight crazy! Just curious on why you guys think that junos CLI is better than IOS? Functionality wise I think that IOS is more intuitive. Yes, fanboy here but thats besides the point. I dont really care much for junos cli, its okay.... but it would be a whole lot better.

Calvin, for shame... biting the hand that feeds you... I vagually remember you contacting a cisco engineer to help you with your juniper issues... can you say filter based forwarding :cool:

pic contribution:
Picture002-1.jpg

holy phones batman! crappy iphone pic.. sorry
 
Last edited:

B1zz

Gawd
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
932
thread contribution...just some old 2950's from an office that got closed down. new corp has standardized on Gb to the desktop so these would just collect dust. hopefully they'll come home and join another 2950 and a 2900xl :D

that'd pretty much take care of switching needs for a bit....anyone care to PIF me a 18xx series? hell i could make do with a 8x1 series too :p
IMG00010-20100223-1208.jpg
 

SysOps

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
72
Well IOS has come a long way.. Anyone remember catOS? and IOS-XR is just hard core.
JUNOS is ideal for secure networks, and has very little bugs (compared to Cisco, but there are some)
There are good things in IOS and good things in JUNOS, neither is perfect.

And just to throw another log on the fire.. Anyone use vyatta?? Its Nice...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The pics below are old (about 3 years) but just wanted to show the wiring and the cores.

Love HSRP. yes the cables in this picture look like crap, but this was during the build.
100_5907.jpg


A pic of some of the wiring..(looking better, but still crap)
100_5887.jpg



Adonis DNS are the BEST in my book.
100_5873.jpg
 

xphil3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,212
meh, nothing special with IOS-XR... its all IOS with added features. I disagree with your statement about bugs though.. juniper just doesn't do full disclosure like Cisco does:D. When you start really using juniper you'll start to see bugs hit you faster than REAL bugs going 100mph on the highway. That was retarded, but you get the hint :p:p

yeah, vyatta = junos without the hardware behind it. They take advantage of extremely similar technologies and their CLI is damn near identical. Either way, I was bangin around our juni core today... think I definitely found another bug with 6pe....
 

SysOps

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
72
Vyatta and nice don't go together in the same sentence . . . I honestly think 3Com's CLI is more intuitive, which is complete trash, too. :rolleyes:

Like i said, another log on the fire. :D
Soon we will have router OS wars!! And yes Vyatta is a real POS sometimes, but a free POS.
In the coming war, my votes on IOS thought...
 

xphil3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,212
In the coming war, my votes on IOS thought...
hahah, good man. Join the darkside luke.

<rant>
honestly, I work with both sides of the battle. I can say there is MUCH more animosity towards Cisco than Juniper in general. I guess its true what they say, its lonely when you're on top :p

with that said, I think juniper has a great product(junos that is). I think they're release structure is fantastic and am super stoked that IOS will be forging its way towards that. I love trace, I love active port monitor, I love passive configuration!

With that said, ive seen Juniper falter in ACTUAL comparison tests(feature and throughput) against Cisco almost 100% of the time. Seriously, how can you claim to be the first to 100GbE when the first time you went to deploy it in a prod environment it tested JUST over 75Gbps :rolleyes:
</rant>
BTW, made this a few days ago... shared it with some friends so figured idd post it here
weremagicians.jpg

aint it the truth ;)
 
Top