Network pics thread

Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
38
nah, its got 2 32mm holes through it, still plenty of room for some more, in the new location the cables come straight through the wall and down 50x50 mk trunking to the new rack.
 

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
Hole at the end of a joist is better than middle, but yeah that is bigger than I'd want to do. I have a rule of thumb: Data below joists, electrical within. Though in my server room I also have a 2x6 runner board so I can mount electrical below joists. Only got two lines but more will be added as it will feed the basement too when I do electrical. Obviously, no drywall ceiling, maybe drop ceiling. Bare for now.
 

B1zz

Gawd
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
932
Switches and patch panels up top
Servers in the middle
And battery backup units down low

You don't want your racks to be top heavy.

you don't want your computer/network racks to be top heavy.

fixed that for you. ;)
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
47
My Home Network. Also I've got a 4GB fibre channel switch (silkworm 200E which is no in the picture) Also came with a couple of Fibre cables.

What's in the Picture:

Dell PowerEdge R200: Dual Core Xeon, 4GB Ram, 250 boot drive and a 500GB Storage Drive (Running the Domain)
Dell poweEdge 2950 III: 2x Quad Core Xeons, 32GB ram and 5x 150GB sas Drives. (EXSI 5.5)
Cisco 2950 switch and 3524XL, 2651xm and a 1760.

1489072_10152240834391804_1072186990_n.jpg
 

NixZiZ

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
159
These are some pics of my lab, and one of the guts of a server I pulled open. HP DL160 G6.

DHNu8Hsl.jpg

DBZvkbWl.jpg

svPx8Cll.jpg
 

NixZiZ

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
159
What are the specs for the Proliant server?

Dual xeon l5520, 16 GiB ECC RAM, Dual networking, ilo installed, 160 GB HDD, although the one I took pictures of has an additional 2 TB HDD to be used as a database server. Perfect for virtualization. I got them for $500 a pop, refurb. Great servers.
 

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
Cleaned up my server rack, this is all spare cables and stuff that came out:



Yeah, there's at least like 3-4 power bars in there. There was even a UPS (still in the rack) with nothing plugged into it. Stuff got moved around over time to the big UPS and it just kinda stayed there, unused.











(older pic, showing the feeder outlets)

The before:










The best part of all this is no more extension cords going from the rack. The feeders are inside and all power is contained within. I ensured to add room to add more feeders in the future too.
 
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
47
Dual xeon l5520, 16 GiB ECC RAM, Dual networking, ilo installed, 160 GB HDD, although the one I took pictures of has an additional 2 TB HDD to be used as a database server. Perfect for virtualization. I got them for $500 a pop, refurb. Great servers.

That's a nice system you got there. I got a Dell PowerEdge 2950 III. It has 2x quad core Xeons, 32GB of gram, 5x 150GB SAS drives 15k rpm. Its running esxi 5.5 :)
 

NixZiZ

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
159
That's a nice system you got there. I got a Dell PowerEdge 2950 III. It has 2x quad core Xeons, 32GB of gram, 5x 150GB SAS drives 15k rpm. Its running esxi 5.5 :)

That's a nice server also!

I am looking at purchasing more storage arrays... I am rapidly filling up my NAS. not much longer until it's completely filled!
 

moose517

Gawd
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
640
mmmm 10gb, i really want to get a pair of 10gb nic's for my ESXi and storage box, i don't think my network is the bottleneck between them yet but when i get around to upgrading my storage box i have a feeling it will be.
 

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
what's wrong with Windows?

It's not Linux? :D :p


Moved all the drives from my main server to the new file server. Setup all the NFS shares etc. I have mostly everything working via NFS now. While it was not 100% smooth sailing it went rather well. Dealing with Linux permissions, especially over NFS, is a real pain. One thing Windows does better is permissions and NTFS.



I purposely left bays 4 and 5 empty. That is expansion for the raid 10 array that is there. All the other drive after that first section on the left is the old array from the other server. Popped the drives in, documented each one so I know by each bay has what serial number drive, brought the array online, and started to share out the NFS shares.

The bulk of the work took maybe an hour or so. I was kinda nervous doing such a big move with all of my data but I'd say it went very smooth.

Now that everything moved I need to completely revamp my backups. I want them to run off the file server so it wont be as painful dealing with the permissions. Root will have full access locally to all files.

I might even wipe my existing backups (or store them away temporarily) and completely redesign my approach. Might even look at rdiff backup instead of rsync. Need to read up further on it.
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
started cleaning up my garage a bit, bought a new house and moving an a couple months. This is some of my excess gear:

u6cK8Mw.jpg


IacV6Yx.jpg


ZWmSxzM.jpg


sorry for image quality, taken with my iPotatoe
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
used to run a small on-prem datacenter, moved into a larger colo, all new gear, so the old stuff went into storage, I've been too busy to put it onto ebay.
 

bds1904

Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
1,007
used to run a small on-prem datacenter, moved into a larger colo, all new gear, so the old stuff went into storage, I've been too busy to put it onto ebay.

well let me know when you put those netapp shelves and dell servers up for sale, we might be able to make a deal.
 

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
Woah I'm jelly, I wish my garage was half that size! That's a lot of equipment too.

I wish I could get an internet connection that allowed to run servers, I'd probably run all my stuff from home too. Much cheaper than lease/colo.
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
bds1904: I pm'd you with some info
Red: That's not my garage, just my companies warehouse space, my personal garage is actually larger than that, haha.
 

RichX

n00b
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
25
Just another remote site I have been working on, it's pretty much finished now.

IMG_20140123_082523.jpg


Rack has the following:

Bunch of HP Servers (ESX), and a few HP P4500 iSCSI SANs.
Cisco 3750X Stack as the Core Switch for the site
HP somethings as the iSCSI SAN Switches
Cisco Voice Gateway
Cisco Router (WAN)
Another Cisco Router (877), for Public WIFI Internet - To avoid using the commercial/business WAN
Some carrier equipment, which terminates 4x SHDSL into the Cisco Router for the WAN Service.
Motorola WLAN Controller (Legacy WLAN)
Cisco WLAN Controller (Migrating to)
10kVA UPS
IP KVM

Does the job.

Below: Some old servers/hardware being retired. Replaced with new HP Gen 8's and HP 3PAR.

IMG_20131219_095137.jpg

IMG_20131219_091356.jpg


Our new core infrastructure (servers)
2x ESX Hosts
1x Backup Server with 30Tb Disk Tray
1x Autoloader
HP 3PAR 7200

IMG_20131113_115352.jpg
 
Last edited:

saedrin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
2,134
Wow that looks very similar to a build I just did at a client. Went with Nimble storage though.
 

calvinj

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,738
Sorry for such a dumbass question, but whats so special about 3PAR. I keep seeing them more and more, tried to look at them but still can't figure out what their claim to fame is
 

QHalo

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
3,432
How much do they charge per disk to fill out those shelves? If it's anything like NetApp, bring your own lube.
 

Jay_2

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
3,583
We use NetApp and they are silly money for the drives, thats why you replace the shelves once they are out of support, its cheaper.
 

RiDDLeRThC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
3,962
3PAR, NetApp, EMC.

They all have one thing in common, all charge an arm and a leg for drives. I think most the time it comes down to relationship anymore with the vendor and not so much cost/features. At least when you get into the mid-large enterprise storage space.
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
A few more pics:

a small install i did a while back
7ExzVPKl.jpg


rolled out some juniper gear, replaces a whole bunch of sonicwall stuff.
o0r2w1Wl.jpg

0fmItIIl.jpg
 
Top