Network pics thread

Kedare

n00b
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
14
Shutdown POE where not used
Disable modules where not used (Its "no power enable module X" I think)

Should be better after that :)

EDIT: Well this command is for IOS... For CatOS, i'm not sure you can, so just pull the card a little bit :)
 

haunter

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
1,883
That's the most strangest thing I've ever heard in my life...I do it all the time...Belden CDT 2 port jacks when you don't have a coupler, works wonders...or even a cross connect...

never heard that before

but we almost never use 1m fiber jumpers to go device to device, generally for SR/SX short hops its 2m min for light/loss reasons, so Im told
 

nry

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
409
Got a Dell 8024F and Dell 5524 pretty cheap for the home lab(I work from home....).

Dell 8024F is a little on the noisy side of things though! :eek:

IMG_6019.jpg
 

seankthx

n00b
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
13
My new sup card came in, now running IOS:

#sh mod
Mod Ports Card Type Model
--- ----- -------------------------------------- ------------------ -----------
1 2 Catalyst 6000 supervisor 2 (Active) WS-X6K-SUP2-2GE
3 16 SFM-capable 16 port 1000mb GBIC WS-X6516-GBIC
4 16 SFM-capable 16 port 1000mb GBIC WS-X6516-GBIC
10 48 48 port 10/100/1000mb EtherModule WS-X6148-GE-TX
11 48 48 port 10/100/1000mb EtherModule WS-X6148-GE-TX
12 48 48 port 10/100/1000mb EtherModule WS-X6148-GE-TX
13 48 48 port 10/100/1000mb EtherModule WS-X6148-GE-TX

Mod Sub-Module Model Hw Status
--- --------------------------- --------------- --------------- -
1 Policy Feature Card 2 WS-F6K-PFC2 3.4 Ok
1 Cat6k MSFC 2 daughterboard WS-F6K-MSFC2 2.6 Ok
10 Cisco Voice Daughter Card WS-F6K-VPWR-GE 1.0 Ok
11 Cisco Voice Daughter Card WS-F6K-VPWR-GE 1.0 Ok
12 Cisco Voice Daughter Card WS-F6K-VPWR-GE 1.0 Ok
13 Cisco Voice Daughter Card WS-F6K-VPWR-GE 1.0 Ok
 

sam-sgc

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
83
Got a Dell 8024F and Dell 5524 pretty cheap for the home lab(I work from home....).

Dell 8024F is a little on the noisy side of things though! :eek:

IMG_6019.jpg

Nice.. the 8024F is FAST :) we use it with the Intel X520.
 

jmroberts70

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
2,953
Finally replaced my Dell 2724 Gigabit switch with an HP 1810G-24 "fanless" Gigabit switch.
network33.jpg

--Why I waited this long I'll never know. It was well worth the money though!! I tried hacking my 2724 to get it quieter. I tried rubber pads and grommets to isolate the fan noise. I eventually replaced the fans with specialized units from Digikey but still managed to produce a noticeable noise in my office. I finally found an HP 2724 for around $150 shipped. Hell, I would have paid much more now that I have it running. It was the last item in my office to finally be silenced. I now have near complete silence and I couldn't be happier...
 

Jay_2

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
3,583
I recently got a 1810, I sold my 1800 rev B about 12 months ago and had to swap back to a Cisco 2940, after 12 months of 100Mbps backbone its nice to go back to gigabit!
 

haunter

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
1,883
that horrendous closet I posted earlier......its getting redone starting wednesday

I have 4 almost full HP 5412's staged for it at the moment


Ill try and grab a pic each morning after we complete work


sadly we were only able to get an approved downtime window of 5:30a-8a

We could go earlier, but the cabling guys are booked 100% and we cant ask them to come in earlier than 6 when they will be working till 4 or 5 every day



Finally replaced my Dell 2724 Gigabit switch with an HP 1810G-24 "fanless" Gigabit switch.
--Why I waited this long I'll never know. It was well worth the money though!! I tried hacking my 2724 to get it quieter. I tried rubber pads and grommets to isolate the fan noise. I eventually replaced the fans with specialized units from Digikey but still managed to produce a noticeable noise in my office. I finally found an HP 2724 for around $150 shipped. Hell, I would have paid much more now that I have it running. It was the last item in my office to finally be silenced. I now have near complete silence and I couldn't be happier...

they are a nice switch for the $$$

I put one of those in an EOC because all the wiring was put in a metal wall cabinet next to the main meeting space
 

sparky1_2007

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
3,070
these pictures are kinda old, but never posted them anywhere.

just a quick networking job/cabling job i did for my mom at her home office.

kinda proud of it, it's all nice and neat for the most part :)

after pulling all the cabling i needed:
2iveal0.jpg


cable management:
xawbgp.jpg


final product:
2rm8mys.jpg


i know its mounted high up on the wall, but my mom has shelving to the right of it now, so it works out perfect.
 

haunter

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
1,883
that horrendous closet I posted earlier......its getting redone starting wednesday

I have 4 almost full HP 5412's staged for it at the moment


Ill try and grab a pic each morning after we complete work


sadly we were only able to get an approved downtime window of 5:30a-8a

2.5 hours of work:




should finish it up tomorrow
 

sparky1_2007

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
3,070
...why are there 2 big WorkCenter MFPs sitting right next to eachother?

my mom prints alot of advertising stuff for her own business using it, think 11x17 posters, 4x5 post cards, etc etc,

once its printed on the big paper we cut it into its smaller form and mail it out.
 

crisu

n00b
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
16
The Palo Alto PA-200 as a replacement to aging Juniper SSG-5 (400+ days uptime w/o UPS). Providing NAT and IPv6 over IPsec to my home network.

himamuuri.jpg


PDU I picked up from eBay for CCIE lab.

pdu.jpg
 

xtropx

n00b
Joined
Oct 6, 2011
Messages
37
@crisu
What is the management like for the PA-200? Webgui I imagine? What is the difference in specs between the SSG and the PA-200 (primarily throughput)?
Also, nice PDU. IP I see. How much that set you back?
POST REST OF CCIE RACK! :D

@abdul201388

Loud? I see a 1700 there, you have CME no doubt. SIP provider at all?

On topic:
Office setup. Office is a MESS right now. 4U whitebox with ESXi running just about everything I can come up with. 1841 and 877w with DMVPN to home.
7uYCA2G.jpg
 

crisu

n00b
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
16
@crisu
What is the management like for the PA-200? Webgui I imagine? What is the difference in specs between the SSG and the PA-200 (primarily throughput)?
Also, nice PDU. IP I see. How much that set you back?
POST REST OF CCIE RACK! :D

It's mainly web-gui but one could use the CLI for simpler stuff than adding rules. SSG-5 is limited to 90 Mbps (IMIX) on plain traffic and 40 Mbps for encrypted. PA-200 has 100 Mbps on plain and 50 Mbps on VPN. Not much of a raise but management and number of total sessions is much better!

The PDU cost me around 196 euros shipping included (20 €). :)

consolerouter.jpg


Some "light" reading, some borrowed from work.
books.jpg


switches.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
47
I'm running CUCM 8.6 on a Dell PowerEdge R200. The 1760 router is being used a DHCP server for a test lab, I've also got a Cisco 2561xm running DHCP for the whole house. ( 2651xm is the INTERNET router)

I'm also getting a Cisco PIX 515e as a firewall. the PowerVault MD3000i is being used for VMware (Datastore) and for the websites.
 

haunter

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
1,883
are my photobucket links boned?

before:


here is the progress after outage #1: (2.5 hrs)



and after the second outage window of 2.5 hours


had about 10 jacks that ended up being on the wrong network or left unpatched out of about 797 that ended up connected

not a bad margin of error

2 were the trust and untrust side of a department firewall that they had sezo documentation for, nor did they mention was there at all, in about 6 hours of meetings involving the upgrade. That caused about 2 hours of downtime limited to some secure service they run for their college



before I get the comments about the 'mess' at the bottom where they patch into the switch gear........

thats 'on purpose'

we leave enough slack to ensure we can swap modules without unpatching a single cable. since the cabling is left to the end users once we leave, almost nothing is ever labeled and it could take hours to properly repatch a module if we had to unplug cables to remove a bad one

all in all not bad overall experience
 
Last edited:

Shadowspawn

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2002
Messages
1,870
It isn't very clear in the picture. We have a series of "closets" in a five story building that were placed in a central utility shaft that runs from the top floor to the bottom. The racks are sitting on a mesh floor that bounces as you walk on it. Essentially, I stand over more than five stories of open air whenever I work on those racks. Hate it, hate it, hate it.

3yb7.jpg
 

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
It isn't very clear in the picture. We have a series of "closets" in a five story building that were placed in a central utility shaft that runs from the top floor to the bottom. The racks are sitting on a mesh floor that bounces as you walk on it. Essentially, I stand over more than five stories of open air whenever I work on those racks. Hate it, hate it, hate it.

3yb7.jpg

That's awesome! Must suck if you drop a screw or something though. :D
 

Adam

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
1,592
Yeah I wouldn't want to do that... i scared the crap out of myself working in NYC once. I was in a building near the apple store, about 50 stories up I think... anyway in the delivery elevator area is a "garbage shaft" that is essentialy a STRAIGHT DROP from the top of the building to the bottom. where you drop the garbage bags... o m g was that scary. I was even looking over a safety wall but mannnnnnnnn the wind coming up it was just scary as anything
 

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
Yeah I wouldn't want to do that... i scared the crap out of myself working in NYC once. I was in a building near the apple store, about 50 stories up I think... anyway in the delivery elevator area is a "garbage shaft" that is essentialy a STRAIGHT DROP from the top of the building to the bottom. where you drop the garbage bags... o m g was that scary. I was even looking over a safety wall but mannnnnnnnn the wind coming up it was just scary as anything

lol also sounds like a stupid idea, imagine a leaky gross garbage bag falling 50 stories LOL. That has to make a seriously nasty mess when it hits the bottom if there are not enough other bags to cushion it.

The janitor there must swear a lot. And it can probably be heard throughout this whole shaft. :D

Would be kinda neat to look down there though. I always been fascinated with heights, I totally want to try that thing where you can hang off the outside of the CN tower.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
878
A project I started Thursday in our primary IDF closet:

What it looked like Wednesday
IDF1-2-M.jpg


Side View:
IDF1-4-M.jpg


New Rack in Place:
IDF1-3-M.jpg


Almost done first stage:
image_2-M.jpg
 

MurphysLaww

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
182
The racks Groweth...

Now with 100% more Carrier Ethernet and some old Juniper. Kind of useless right now, but won't be shortly. I'll be working on my MEF-CECP after finishing up the CCNP R&S.

20130826_201028.jpg


20130826_201008.jpg
 
Top