Network design for home lab environment (DMZ, clients, etc)

idea

Gawd
Hey everyone,

I have a pretty vanilla set up here. I don't think it's anything unusual. I am looking for "best practices" when dealing with clients, servers, virtual guests, DMZ, etc. Does anyone has any examples (hopefully network diagrams) of how a home lab network should be set up? I am not that experienced with networking so please explain it like I am 5 years old. ;) Thanks!

I have available to me:
  • Cablemodem w/ single port
  • WRT54G Router w/ Tomato
  • Netgear 48-port Managed Switch
  • ESXi+Solaris All-in-One with 2 NICs, could add more if necessary
  • 20 virtual guests (5 of them provide services to internet)

I don't mind virtualizing some of my network services, but not all. At the very least I need a physically separate VPN server.

in my previous life my ESXi host with 2 NICS was configured as such.
inet--nic1(inet vswitch)--wan port on virtual m0n0wall router
wan--nic2-(wan vswitch)--lanport on virtual m0n0wall router--switch--lan--lan pc's n the like.
(dmz-vswitch with no physical nic)--dmz port on m0n0wall router--dmz resources

I would never implement the above in production, however it was secure by design without considerations for exploits.

And there is no telling you how to do this like a 5 year old, it is your best interest to learn how this all works on your own before jumping head first.

Last edited:
My setup is basic and may not be ideal or according to best practices but it I hope it helps.