Needed: a very simple email app

evilsofa

[H]F Junkie
Scenario: mother-in-law, computer phobic. Yahoo email is too complicated and the interface changes too often (yes, I know I'm doomed from the start). Even the slightest change in interface will throw her off completely, and part of the problem is that using a web browser is too complicated, so the wife has directed that I set her mother up with an email application that at least won't have a changing interface. The wife wanted me to set her mother up with Outlook (my response was "you think that is less complicated?"), but her mother doesn't have Microsoft Office, so hopefully I'll find a free email client that works for her.

My first attempt will probably be to simplify Mozilla Thunderbird as much as possible, though I have never used Thunderbird before. Any suggestions for other email apps or methods of simplifying Thunderbird would be appreciated!

Sounds like the beginning of a maintenance headache for you -- excessive phone calls, endlessly repeating the same details, having to write word-for-click instructions, etc.

Root cause is her paranoia/phobia. See if any libraries or educational institutions nearby have free or nominal-charge computer classes available. It'd give her a chance to open up and learn among like-minded peers.

I would say Windows Mail...although for some reason I see her unfortunately ending up with IncrediMail.

Sounds like the beginning of a maintenance headache for you -- excessive phone calls, endlessly repeating the same details, having to write word-for-click instructions, etc...

On a side note, how do you 'combat' this? I've been stuck in way too many situations being Level 1/2/3 tech support for all sorts of crazy computer problems. How do you get out of that tech support loop?

-Cool-