Need to connect new office building to existing building 1/4 mile away, need help

t0mmyr

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
1,878
So the president of our company just bought some new offices next to some other properties we own, we're going to be installing about 16 surveillance cameras that will require around 30mb/sec + network access so we can provide internet to the new building, heres a map from google earth



another


and the original



you will see that we own all the land in the green, and that is where we need to connect to, we also own the small property in yellow and there is a tiny little bridge which is owned by the city that goes over a drainage ditch between the yellow property and the one in blue which we need to connect to our network.....

does anyone know any companies that could do this sort of work for us? i would love to run dedicated fiber without paying time warner another service fee per month, oddly enough we have time warner in the green but just across the street in the blue is AT&T territory so thats a big hassle there, wifi might be an option if it can be dependable and fast, there are a few large oak trees in the way though :(, we cant just run wire across the city land either and im not even sure where to begin to get estimates and need some tips who to speak with, fyi this is in simi valley, california
 

k1pp3r

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
8,064
Best route is to have someone lay a conduit between the two buildings, however depending on lenght and bends, that can be a royal pain to pull wire through.

You can get large wireless cannons which may get you the throughput you need, but then you have to deal with the wireless setup/
 

Nacho

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
474
A point to point wireless setup will be the easier, and more cost effective route.

How much more vertical do you need to go to clear the trees? This can be done mounting the antenna on masts. Make sure you properly ground everything if you go anything wireless and sticking it on the roof.
 

valve1138

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
10,775
Call some local utility construction companies, they can help you.

Definitely go with fiber between buildings. It costs more upfront, but it's worth it.
 

Karandras69

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 16, 2001
Messages
1,860
What kind of speeds are you looking for? GigE? You can do a PTP radio link, the company I work for sets up long shots all the time to oil field sites. The longest shot we did was 120km and that was a 60Mb circuit.

I'm not the wireless guy or I would try to sell you something. I've seen the wireless guys use Horizon Compact radios
http://www.dragonwaveinc.com/products-horizon.asp

Also a really common one are the Motorola PTP radios, we use them all the time, I've not seen these in place for anything over 100Mb though. Looking at your requirements this might work well for you. You can do licensed or unlicensed wireless (cost is the only problem there), the licensed will guarantee you will not have anyone using the same band as you in the area.

There has to be a wireless company in your area that can quote you for the work, wireless radio links are very solid these days. The only time I've seen them go down is extreme heavy rain or really really thick snow.

Hope this helps a bit.
 

hawk82

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,471
If there is any chance of getting above the tree line or some type of direct shot where trees and buildings aren't in the way, then wireless is an option. You absolutely need clear line of sight.

http://www.trangosys.com/products/p...s-backhaul/license-exempt/trangolink-45.shtml
45Mbit full duplex, not much more bandwidth to spare if you require 30Mbit.

http://www.dragonwaveinc.com/products-horizon.asp
800Mbit full duplex, pricey but very nice stuff.

http://www.ubnt.com/airmax
Less expensive equipment, but good stuff from what I have read on WISP forums.

Edit: Beaten to the wireless punch :|
Another option however:
http://www2.proxim.com/ptpwireless-backhaul/tsunamitm-qb-series/tsunami-qb-8150-50mbps.htm
http://www2.proxim.com/ptpwireless-backhaul/tsunamirgx-series.html
http://www2.proxim.com/ptpwireless-backhaul/quickbridge-60250.html - might be over the range limit on this product, not sure.
http://www2.proxim.com/ptpwireless-backhaul/tsunamir-quickbridge.html

If you don't have line of sight, is there any chance on getting a couple of small radio towers, or guyed masts put on or next to both buildings to get you height?

My next suggestion would be aerial fiber. I say aerial due to the drainage ditch. That makes it more difficult to lay underground conduit if you can't dig a trench from building to building. I would guess that the aerial fiber buildout would be very expensive, given costs for your own utility poles, labor, necessary permits, etc.
 
Last edited:

ghost6303

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 24, 2004
Messages
2,291
first call your telephone/cable company (whoever owns the utility poles in your area) and ask them:

1- if its possible to pay them to run a cable on their poles between the two buildings, if they say yes, ask for a price quote. some companies offer this type of service for businesses. not all do though. probably would be expensive.

2- also check if they have any 'dark fiber' available for purchase or lease. they often install more fibers then they currently need for future proof and just leave them unpowered (dark) until needed. this would be many times easier then trying to dig ditches or setup big antenna towers, and cheaper then building your own infrastructure.
 

t0mmyr

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
1,878
thanks guys, im gonna call the phone/telco companies and see what they say, then ill call some contruction companies, i dont want to deal with line of site issues in the future
 
Top