Need to clean install, but OS installed to SSD & programs to HDD

NathanP2007

[H]ard|Gawd
So i have always had everything installed on one HDD with my previous PC's. So when i needed to clean install everything got wiped and so it was pretty straight forward when it came to re-installing stuff.

However, right now i have my OS installed to my SSD, and most of my programs and steam and games and files (etc) installed on a HDD. Will i be screwed and have tons of complications if i just clean install the SSD?

(The reason i set it up that way was so i wasnt filling the 120Gb SSD full of stuff like the games and music files and programs, but considering i have no experience with this, im not sure what to expect if i clean install Win 7 on the SSD and how to deal with all the stuff i have on the HDD.)

To clarify: I have had this PC up and running for about a year. It has just now in the past few days had this corruption of Windows Update. So the PC has all the stuff you would expect: Programs, Music, Pictures, Video, Games, Save files, etc. However all i installed on the SSD (OS Boot drive) is the OS and drivers and a few programs. Whenever prompted i always chose to install programs on the HDD, and music for iTunes is on the HDD, and games are installed on the HDD, and Steam is on the HDD, etc. So how does it work, when i want to clean install the OS on the SSD, considering i have all that on the HDD?

New Question in most recent reply

Last edited:
How your OS is installed is the same way I have windows installed on all my systems. I like to keep the OS SSD nice and clean. I normally only put drivers and windows nessities on it. Everything else is either on another SSD or normal HDD. Are you worried about your games and apps being slow to load? If not I see no problem on leaving it the way you have it.