Need some advice..Upgrade X2 4800 -- ???

Snappshoota

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
1,977
Well I just recently ordered all of my new build cept a new CPU. Figured I would run my old 4800 till next check and get a new CPU then.

New Build Consists of
ASRock 780GXE
4 GB G Skill Ram 800
Asus 4850 512mb
Antec Earthwatts 500w

Now I was kinda looking at either the X2 7750, or going the quad route, and getting a X4 9850.

Main reason I was looking at a quad was for the fact that I usually have multiple things running in background while using 3DS Max, and photoshop.

Right now I game at 1440x900, so Im kinda thinking that the x2 7750 would prolly be a better deal? But for games like GTA4 which I plan on playing heavily, would the quad be a better buy?

edit** I know that the new AM3's are right around the corner, but I refuse to drop that much money.. Reason I built an AMD system this time around was to save some moolah.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 

The Jinx

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
113
based upon your sig, i assume you got the x4 9850 and did the right thing. although the 7750 looks promising i think that the phenom will better suit you needs
 

W.O.T. Stang

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
363
based upon your sig, i assume you got the x4 9850 and did the right thing. although the 7750 looks promising i think that the phenom will better suit you needs

From what I understand, the new 7750 X2 is basically a "dual core phenom" with the upgraded hypertransport..etc. But it *seems* that unless your board is phenom compatible (4m bios..vendor support..BIOS upgrade etc). Then your stuck with a 6400+ X2.

Dont quote me on any of this, because im researching it now for my own system, but thats what i have seen so far. Seems sort of silly that you would go with a "dumbed down" Phenom when you need the board support/bios upgrade for a phenom anyway, and you could get a 3X or 4X regardless. :confused:
 

Snappshoota

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
1,977
based upon your sig, i assume you got the x4 9850 and did the right thing. although the 7750 looks promising i think that the phenom will better suit you needs

Thats what I was leaning towards so i put it in my sig.. then I remembered hearing about the 7750's and thats what brought this post up..

But I may just say the hell with it and go quad since sooner or later there will be games optimized for quad..
 

The Jinx

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
113
the way i see it is there is no point going backwards in technological advances. Quad cores are going to become the norm, if not already the norm. By getting a phenom now you will at least have a year before you feel the need to upgrade again
 

xenium

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
1,846
Go with the 7750 now and wait for the phenon II's. Then one the phenom II prices come down a bit buy one of those and sell the 7750. No reason to buy a phenom x4 right now when the phenon II's are just around the corner.
 

The Jinx

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
113
i beg to differ, i dont think it will be smart to go dual core and then upgrade to phenom II when they come out. If you can't wait for phenom II to come out you should get a regular phenom and just wait until the 2nd batch of Phenom IIs come out.
 

jcolby

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
187
If you are into the budget you are going to have to make a tough decision. The new IIs will be priced high for awhile, but you can get a 9600 for example for just over a hundred dollars. These are perfectly functional quad core procs at a good price.

If you are willing to spend on the II then just wait for a couple of weeks and go for it. If you can't afford that then just go for a low end Phenom I and wait for the inevitable price drop later.

This works even better if you happen to have another AMD system that you can "upgrade" with the Phenom I you are replacing with the Phenom II. That is what I am doing now. I have a couple of old X2 3800s in a few machines (my WHS machine and my HTPC server), but the motherboards will support the Phenom II. I already have two Phenom I CPUs in my servers, so as I replace those with Phenom II CPUs then I will upgrade my older x2 3800s with the Phenom I CPUs that I remove from my servers. Kinda like the kids wearing hand me downs.
 
Top