Need Ram For a New Build - Out of the Loop

Z(+)DIAC

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 12, 2004
Messages
3,231
So I have to admit I'm don't conisder myself [H]ard anymore when it comes to building rigs. I've been out of the loop for a few years and somehow have managed to squeeze every cent out of my 939 rig. I've in the process of upgrading and need help with memory.

I'm looking to get 4gbs worth, preferably 2gb x 2 setup. Here are a few I've found that seem good. NOw I just need to know for my sake is best:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145184

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227267


Not sure if you need it, but more info on my rig:

ASUS M3A78 Pro AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

AMD Phenom 9950 Agena 2.6GHz CPU

Vid card: ? (Haven't decided yet)
 

Pogi22

n00b
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
51
I've used the Corsairs before and they worked well. The Reapers have a pretty crazy heatsink on top. I would make sure that wouldn't interfere with anything in your case.
 

delvryboy

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
2,486
Can't go wrong with the Corsair. I built 2 boxes with that kit and am currently running 2x in mine.
 

Z(+)DIAC

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 12, 2004
Messages
3,231
Thanks guys.

Yeah I was PC User looking at that set, but it's gone up $4 in the past two days...

Also what's the difference between DDR2-1066 and 800?
 

Varmint

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
1,573
Yeah I was PC User looking at that set, but it's gone up $4 in the past two days...

Also what's the difference between DDR2-1066 and 800?
I'm watching that one too - $44 is too close to G.Skill's $50 sets, which are cas4.

1066 is tested/guaranteed to run at 533 mHz, vs 800 which is 400 mHz. Some DDR800 may run at 533, but seems like many will not reach that high.

So if you are going to overclock a CPU with low multiplier, like x8, you'd probably want DDR 1066, cause 8 x 400 = 3.2GHz and 8 x 533 = 4.26GHz.

A CPU like e7400 (10.5 multiplier), doesn't need 1066 ram, cause it can do 4.25 GHz at stock DDR800 ram speed.
 

Z(+)DIAC

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 12, 2004
Messages
3,231
Anyone at all? I need to get some Ram tomorrow and want to know if the OCZ I posted is worth it?
 
Top