Need new media streamer for >$200

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs & Equipment' started by Edgar, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Since apple did not announce a new apple tv. I need to buy a replacement for my boxee box since the wifi on it died.

    I need something that has wifi since I have no way of hardwiring it. Needs to play my 1080p mkv's with DTS audio.

    Would LOVE it to have XBMC support. Also, if it could look somewhat "pretty" since it will be out in the open.

    Anything like that exist? Suggestions appreciated.
     
  2. faugusztin

    faugusztin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,653
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
  3. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    The Celeron based NUC is $100 less and will still play anything you throw at it without issue. Using one as a HTPC myself.
     
  4. MrCrispy

    MrCrispy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,944
    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Rasperry Pi is the cheapest solution. You can add a wifi usb dongle, power it with a standard micro-usb power supply like for any phone, add storage via sd card, and it will play 1080p mkv.

    Do you have a receiver which takes DTS? The Pi is not powerful enough to decode DTS in software.
     
  5. faugusztin

    faugusztin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,653
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Well that is the question, if it can handle 1080p with DTS HD, i remember from somwhere that that is exactly the only thing Celeron 847 couldn't handle, but maybe it is not true anymore.
     
  6. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    That unfortunately I cannot tell you. All the DTS-HD content I have has been converted to FLAC. No issues with 8 channel FLAC however.
     
  7. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Yes i have a receiver that does DTS. So it has to be 1080p and DTS capable.
     
  8. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Well, there's a difference between DTS and DTS-HD. Pretty much anything can do the former. If you lot can point me to some content with DTS-HD, I can go ahead and test it for you.
     
  9. faugusztin

    faugusztin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,653
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
  10. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Please test Blue Fox. If it decodes without stuttering. I'm all over it!
     
  11. faugusztin

    faugusztin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,653
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
  12. MrCrispy

    MrCrispy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,944
    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Does your receiver decode DTS-MA or TrueHD?
     
  13. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Yes it does. Just tested the "Paint Symphony" one and it had no issues. Core #1 hovered around 20% and #2 at 10%. Picture below as proof. Zero dropped frames and you can see my receiver showing "DTS-HD MA".

    http://209.144.20.13/misc/IMG_00000189.jpg
     
  14. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Looks like I have to buy RAM for this? How expensive is it? I need something to be below $200 after tax. Maybe I should put up a WTB thread? I don't mind if the unit is used.
     
  15. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    It just takes normal DDR3 SODIMMs. A 2gb stick should suffice and keep it under $200. The NUC + RAM + USB flash drive can easily be had for that amount.
     
  16. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    I actually have a soundbar that does DTS-ma and truehd. It's the Sony ct550w. Leaps and bounds better than my tv speakers. Does not distort either.

    @blue fox. Are you running on openelec?
     
  17. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Yes, I am. Probably not the most recent version though.
     
  18. Jagger100

    Jagger100 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,480
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
  19. Zardoz

    Zardoz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,251
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2013
  20. faugusztin

    faugusztin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,653
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    $152.99 - http://www.amazon.com/Intel-Next-Computing-Black-BOXDCCP847DYE/dp/B00B7I8HZ4/
    $19.99 - http://www.amazon.com/Mushkin-Enhanced-Essentials-Laptop-991643/dp/B003TSTDOE/

    $172.98 without SSD.

    Now it is your decision if what storage system you buy for OpenELEC - you can buy an USB drive, use an USB drive you already have or get something like this mSATA drive for $41.99 - http://www.amazon.com/Premier-SP310-mSATA-Solid-ASP310S3-32GM-C/dp/B00ELQZD10/ . Of course that mSATA drive is an overkill, OpenELEC would do fine with 4GB too, but no one makes such small mSATA drives :).

    And if you later decide that you want it to be completely passive, you can get a passive case :
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2...um_NUC_Case_-_VESA_Mountable_AK-ITX07-BK.html :D
     
  21. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Would something like this be better?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856164005

    The reason being it has wifi already. The intel nuc I would still need to buy a wifi dongle. I would love to snake some ethernet to my living room, but I can't pay someone to do it and I don't know how to do it. So wifi is a must.

    Also comes with power cord so you don't have to buy that either.
     
  22. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
  23. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    @blue fox how do you/or others handle things like netflix/hulu/amazon on the nuc. Or how do they handle it on openelec?
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2013
  24. Mystique

    Mystique Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    161
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Do you notice any performance decrease by not electing to go with 16 gb of ram, or the lower CPU's? Have you guys tried 3D playback?
     
  25. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Sorry, don't use any of that.
    I have 2gb of RAM in mine and I can't imagine why you'd need more for media playback. Could probably get by with 1gb even. Can't test 3D unfortunately as my projector doesn't support it.
     
  26. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    This is what I've parted out.

    Intel NUC:
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B7I8HZ4...TF8&colid=1YUSH944I0TC9&coliid=I1JMQ83H6BDD5Y $153

    RAM:
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0065SMVVW...UTF8&colid=1YUSH944I0TC9&coliid=IVO1T227Q8IF5 $20

    WiFi card + Bluetooth (so I have the option of adding bluetooth support. Wifi does 2.4 and 5 GHZ):
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007QXLIWI...TF8&colid=1YUSH944I0TC9&coliid=I1SMR3S82EIL3A $22

    Power cable since I need it:
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000234TYI...TF8&colid=1YUSH944I0TC9&coliid=I35ER0O4U22IO8 $4

    Comes out to $199. I have a cheapo 4GB flash drive to run openelec. Think that will be enough? Do I really need a msata drive? Or will openelec run in the memory just fine(why I opted for 4GB's instead of 2)

    Let me know what you guys think. Thanks again for the help.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013
  27. Mystique

    Mystique Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    161
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    What remote are you guys using for these nucs?
     
  28. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Totally forgot about this. How am I going to control this thing? XBMC remote on my iphone or ipad?
     
  29. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    2gb of RAM is plenty and it will run from a flash drive just fine. I use a regular WMC remote with USB receiver. They can be picked up rather cheap on eBay (or elsewhere).
     
  30. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,560
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    So would you rather get the kingston 2GB of ram instead of the less known SuperTalent 4GB of ram? Both $20.
     
  31. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,681
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    No, if they're the same price, I'd get 4gb.
     
  32. faugusztin

    faugusztin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,653
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Wireless keyboard & mouse / typical PC remote with USB receiver / XBMC remote on phone. If you are going to have bit more money later, then you could use HDMI-CEC via :
    http://www.pulse-eight.com/store/products/104-usb-hdmi-cec-adapter.aspx
     
  33. kn0s

    kn0s n00b

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Pulse eight cec adapter, not cheap but i like using my tv Remote.
     
  34. g1xx3r

    g1xx3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,496
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Matricon MX2 or Ouya.