Need help pinning cause of "internal parity error"

Colonel Sanders

Supreme [H]ardness
Alright, so here's the background. I have been running the CPU/mobo in my sig since 2012. When I first built this rig I had it overclocked to 4.8ghz but I eventually ran into some stability issues after a few weeks, so I turned it down to 4.6ghz and never had a problem since. This system has been rock solid stable - IntelBurnTest, Prime, gaming, whatever, I've never once had a stability issue.

Fast forward to the past couple weeks. Suddenly I'm getting hard freezes with looping sound when gaming (Mad Max, MGS5, etc.) I might be able to game for 2 hours or 10 minutes before it happens, but it usually does happen.

The only evidence/error message I can find is a WHEA-Logger error in event viewer that says:

A corrected hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Corrected Machine Check
Error Type: Internal parity error
Processor ID: 6

Some google-fu found a few threads on other forums about the exact same processor (3570k) when overclocked and some people mentioned upping voltage. Tried that, no difference (at least to the level I tried.) I didn't want to up it much more than initial testing because why would I all of a sudden need a huge boost in voltage when nothing else in my system changed? I also tried setting Load Line Calibration in my Sabertooth Z77 to Extreme (was on Very High) with no difference.

The hard locks seem limited to gaming, but I did test with IBT on Extreme. After 10 minutes or so I did pick up another "corrected parity error" in event viewer (this was before I messed with voltage or LLC) and after tweaking voltage/LLC, I was able to run 100 passes of IBT on Extreme with zero issues or events.

Temps are just fine, absolute single core maximum was 87c after 30 minutes of IBT. Otherwise during gaming it's in the lower 70s or even 60s. GPU temps are about 80c for the most taxing game. So yeah, temps are more than good.